Kirkland & Ellis Reviews

Updated May 2, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Kirkland & Ellis Chairman Jon Ballis
Jon Ballis
41 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits; great co-workers; team atmosphere(in 25 reviews)

  • "supportive, fair, good benefits, smart, challenging(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "the cons were that there were long hours(in 50 reviews)

  • "Difficult work life balance and time management(in 36 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      Great place to work!

      Jul 24, 2020 - Administrative Assistant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Although Kirkland is a very large firm, they care about each of their employees. I have worked at small and large firms over the years and by far Kirkland has been my best experience. There are employees that have worked at the firm for decades and I find that to be a positive sign that it's a great place to work. Additional training is always offered to improve your skills. The HR department is very supportive if an issue arises and will do their best to try and find a solution. During the COVID-19 situation, Kirkland has gone above and beyond to ensure the safety of the staff and attorneys. Salaries and bonuses are generous. If you perform your job well, you will be rewarded.

      Cons

      My only "con" which really isn't one, it's more of a regret. I wish I had started working at Kirkland earlier in my career.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Mighty

      May 2, 2021 - Associate in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great experience great team members

      Cons

      Tough work environment, competitive and star culture

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Wonderful place to work

      Apr 30, 2021 - Senior Product Manager in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people, the work, the experience, the energy , the advancement

      Cons

      Not really a con but they expect a lot from you but the rewards make it worth it!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Place to Work

      Apr 28, 2021 - Legal Assistant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management listens to feedback and implements adjustments. You can make the position what you want it to be. Friendly people to work with.

      Cons

      It can seem as the hard workers carry load for the people who just want to collect a paycheck.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work!

      Apr 29, 2021 - Practice Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Respectful environment, competitive salaries, opportunities to grow

      Cons

      No cons. This is by far the best company I've ever worked for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Solid place to work

      Apr 30, 2021 - Administrative in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company to work for.

      Cons

      Can be a hard place to work at times.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      One year anniversary

      Apr 1, 2021 - Project Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      This is an incredible firm with amazing and brilliant people are all levels. The environment is one of collaboration, support, and collegial engagement with team members. Above all, there is encouragement to grow and develop ones skills and knowledge to build career paths.

      Cons

      Like any big firm the demands of work and balance of personal life is the biggest challenge. However, with good communication and team engagement this is manageable.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Amazing company to work for!

      Apr 27, 2021 - Technology Support Analyst 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay, professional, diverse, management, growing!

      Cons

      Work/life balance could be a little better, but pays off long term!

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Review

      Apr 13, 2021 - Associate in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay and good bonus.

      Cons

      Health insurance is average, no 401k match

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      "Exceptional" does not even do this place justice

      Nov 18, 2020 - Practice Assistant in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Over the course of my career, I have found a lot of truth in the adage "if something appears too good to be true, it probably is,” but nothing could be further from the truth as it pertains to Kirkland & Ellis. It is impossible to adequately describe all the "pros" of working here because while some may be easy to describe (amazing people, competitive benefits & pay, awesome location, beautiful offices, etc.), the most important attribute, culture, is indescribable. The employees at every level with whom I have interacted with during my first year at K&E are the most genuine, nice, dedicated, and helpful people that I could have ever hoped to work with. Is Kirkland perfect? Of course not, no place is. But, it’s pretty darn close.

      Cons

      Although I do not have a personal example to speak of, career experience tells me that incorporating new ideas or implementing change at Kirkland is no easy task. Potential reasons could include the size of the organization, geographical locations, firm politics, and even the firm's historical success (aka "if it ain't broke don't fix it"). Again, I have no first-hand knowledge here, I am just making an observation and this is as close to a "con" as I can get.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 433 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Kirkland & Ellis Job Seekers

    Partner
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Sr. Information Governance Specialist
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Kirkland & Ellis? Share Your Experiences

    Kirkland & Ellis logo
    or