Cover image for Kirkland & Ellis
Logo
See All Photos

Kirkland & Ellis

Engaged Employer

Kirkland & Ellis

Add a Review

Kirkland & Ellis Reviews

Updated Nov 30, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 628 of over 667 reviews
4.2
81% Recommend to a Friend
Kirkland & Ellis Chairman Jon Ballis
89% Approve of CEO

Found 627 of over 667 reviews

4.2
81%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Kirkland & Ellis Chairman Jon Ballis
Jon Ballis
139 Ratings

What people are saying about Kirkland & Ellis

Join the conversation on

Law

17d

an 

Attorney Advisor

11 year experience in law (torts, personal injury law, healthcare, start up, government, arbitration and litigation). I’m in the tri state market looking for a transactional or corporate entry level position in a mid size firm. Anyone have a referral link to Invenergy LLC Kirkland & Ellis White & Case PwC Bain & Company Google GE Amazon Pra group

15

12 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Amazing intelligent people and great to work with(in 65 reviews)
  • "Kirkland offers great benefits... maybe even the best in the city.(in 59 reviews)
  • "Pay is great(in 44 reviews)
  • "good salary and it is interest to work in the big law firm.(in 35 reviews)
  • "Great training with many helpful resources(in 20 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Kirkland & Ellis and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Apply Now

    Nov 23, 2022 - Legal Practice Assistance in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great six-week training program to help ease you into your new position. - Wonderful teammates that will assist in answer any questions you need. - A caring and enthusiastic work environment. -Opportunities for growth

    Cons

    I have no cons to provide.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Former Employee

    I wish I never left

    Nov 19, 2022 - Senior Paralegal in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, Perks, Salary, Training, Resources

    Cons

    All work all the time

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Kirkland & Ellis team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Always busy

    Nov 30, 2022 - Information Technology 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Never a dull moment of items to work on

    Cons

    Too many high priorities and demands

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Outstanding training and experience

    Nov 11, 2022 - Associate 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    K&E is the best of the best.

    Cons

    Workload can be extreme at times.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Great Firm

    Nov 10, 2022 - Junior Paralegal in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Smart people, complex projects, great opportunity for professional growth

    Cons

    Work life balance, size of firm can pose problems at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Top Notch Firm

    Oct 21, 2022 - Legal Practice Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is my ten year work anniversary here at Kirkland (Chicago) and I've said from Day 1, I will retire here. Top notch attorneys, top notch legal staff and support. The firm has so many resources available to make me do my job more efficiently. I have a heavy assignment and I work hard but it is so rewarding. Pay scale is generous. Bonuses are generous. I've been around the block a few times and Kirkland simply blows every other firm out of the water.

    Cons

    The only con I can think of is that the Chicago office is moving to a new location in 2024. It will make my commute a little more unbearable. LaSalle Street (our current location) is a central location, easy to get to. It will be an adjustment for sure.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Good shop

    Oct 13, 2022 - Associate in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of work but great perks and pay

    Cons

    Lots of work, always on call

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great experience

    Oct 13, 2022 - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working at Kirkland has been such a blessing in my life to say the least. The interview process was a lengthy one, but well worth it. Once I was hired, training began immediately. Although there was a lot to learn, the training staff will take their time with you to make sure you fully understand the material. What I am trying to say is that, Kirkland will give you many resources to be successful in your career, and if you are the type of person to use those resources to the best of your ability, you will excel quickly! I'm still learning every day, and I absolutely love it. Did I mention there is a coffee bar, a cafeteria, and a gorgeous view of the city?

    Cons

    Not a con, just a comment. I would love to see the Pro Bono department grow!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Kicked to the curb after 20+ years

    Nov 18, 2022 - Senior Paralegal in Chicago, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good, interesting work - learned a lot there. Met many nice people over the years.

    Cons

    Bad management. Nobody cares how long you have been there, in fact they are now forcing older people out. Younger people siphon away clients you have worked with for years due to their "free enterprise" system. Old boy network for sure. I consulted a lawyer who said "don't even try for age discrimination, they have all of the angles covered." It was a long road for me but I am happliy employed with a great firm. My advice is work there for a while, get it on your resume, and then move on to bigger things.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Good company

    Oct 20, 2022 - Associate Attorney in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great benefits. They’ll make everything easy for you as long as you bill.

    Cons

    Long hours and sometimes management is not helpful.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 627 Reviews
</>Embed

Kirkland & Ellis Reviews FAQs

Kirkland & Ellis has an overall rating of 4.2 out of 5, based on over 667 reviews left anonymously by employees. 81% of employees would recommend working at Kirkland & Ellis to a friend and 87% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 6% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Kirkland & Ellis employees rate their compensation and benefits as 4.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Kirkland & Ellis. This rating has improved by 2% over the last 12 months.

81% of Kirkland & Ellis employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Kirkland & Ellis 3.4 out of 5 for work life balance, 4.0 for culture and values and 4.1 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Kirkland & Ellis to be career development, coworkers, benefits and the cons to be culture, management, work life balance.

Popular Careers with Kirkland & Ellis Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Kirkland & Ellis? Share Your Experiences

or

Kirkland & Ellis Careers

Cover image for Kirkland & Ellis

We handle the most complex and sophisticated legal matters because we don’t just meet industry standards, we create them. We bring...More

  • Meet Our People
  • Pro Bono
  • Professional Staff
  • Benefits
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Kirkland & Ellis

296 days ago

Diversity and Inclusion
Kirkland & Ellis received a 100 percent score on the 2022 Corporate Equality Index (CEI), a national benchmarking survey and report on corporate policies and practices related to LGBTQ workplace equality, administered by the Human Rights Campaign Foundation. This is the 15th year in a row that the Firm received a perfect 100 percent score on the CEI. The 2022 CEI rated 1,271 businesses in the report, which evaluates LGBTQ-related policies and practices including non-discrimination workplace protections, domestic partner benefits, transgender-inclusive health care benefits, competency programs and public engagement with the LGBTQ community. Kirkland’s efforts in satisfying all of the CEI’s criteria results in a 100 percent ranking and the designation as a Best Place to Work for LGBTQ Equality. 842 major U.S. businesses earned a 100 percent rating this year.
Corporate Equality Index 2022 | News | Kirkland & Ellis LLP
www.kirkland.com
Logo

Kirkland & Ellis

296 days ago

Company News
When it comes to pro bono efforts, it’s hard to top the decade-plus of work Kirkland & Ellis put into representing a coalition of students, alumni, and faculty at Maryland’s four historically Black colleges and universities: Morgan State University, Bowie State University and Coppin State University in Baltimore, and the University of Maryland, Eastern Shore. After logging more than 38,000 hours on the case since 2009, the firm and co-counsel at Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law reached a $577 million settlement with the state earlier this year that will fund new, unique programs at the schools. In November 2021, Kirkland announced the firm is donating the $12.5 million in statutory legal fees it was awarded as part of the settlement to seven HBCUs and civil rights organizations. Among the recipients are the Dillard University Center for Racial Justice in New Orleans, the Robert M. Bell Center for Civil Rights in Education, and Kirkland’s co-counsel in the case at the Lawyers’ Committee.
Kirkland Donates $12.5M in Legal Fees from Maryland HBCU Case to Schools and Civil Rights Orgs | News | Kirkland & Ellis LLP
www.kirkland.com
See all

Kirkland & Ellis Photos

+ Add Photo
Kirkland & Ellis photo of: Conference Room
Kirkland & Ellis photo of: DC Office
Kirkland & Ellis photo of: View from Office
Kirkland & Ellis photo of: Conference floor at K&amp;E
Kirkland & Ellis photo of: Downtown View
Kirkland & Ellis photo of: Downtown Los Angeles
Kirkland & Ellis photo of: The Gherkin
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Kirkland & Ellis Job Seekers Also Viewed

Winston & Strawn Logo
Winston & Strawn

3.8

258 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 667 Kirkland & Ellis reviews submitted anonymously by Kirkland & Ellis employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Kirkland & Ellis is right for you.