Kirkland & Ellis "good benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kirkland & Ellis Employee Reviews about "good benefits"

Updated Feb 29, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Kirkland & Ellis Chairman Jon Ballis
Jon Ballis
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not K&E specific, just the long hours of the legal industry(in 42 reviews)

  • "You are expected to work several hours of OT everyday without a work/life balance(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "good benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (8)

    "Impressed New Employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a recent hire at Kirkland & Ellis and I am impressed with everything and everyone I have encountered. The orientation process was thorough and extremely helpful. They have good benefits. Everyone I has been willing and able to assist me. Two things stand out to me: (1) the high level of service that the Firm expects all employees to deliver and all employees strive to do so and (2) the Firm supports employees so they can succeed.

    Cons

    I do not have any feedback.

    Continue reading
    Kirkland & Ellis2019-05-23
  2. "Excellent Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Proofreader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People are friendly, NY Office was just renovated, the Firm goes out of its way to take care of its employees, many perks, good benefits, excellent management

    Cons

    Right now, I'm not seeing any.

    Kirkland & Ellis2019-09-01
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Coordinator in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and decent pay

    Cons

    Expect to work in an understaffed department. Work will be piled on your desk and management will add more to your workload as if you’re not already swamped. You are expected to work several hours of OT everyday without a work/life balance. Working through lunch is the norm. This is a thankless job! Management also gossips and tells your personal business to other staff members. I guess they don’t realize some of the staff is close and will warn each other that the personal information isn’t confidential.

    Continue reading
    Kirkland & Ellis2020-02-05
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kirkland & Ellis full-time

    Pros

    Free food, good benefits, big money

    Cons

    They keep departments and groups understaffed to create an atmosphere of permanent crisis. There is always too much work and late nights are the norm. Company culture is work should be your whole life, people brag about never seeing friends and family, neglecting pets and having no life. The expectation is that Kirkland, being the best, only hires the best, and if you’re not willing to work for 12 hours a day you’re clearly not the best.

    Kirkland & Ellis2020-03-01
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Dead end billing department with burnt out workers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Assistant Billing Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kirkland & Ellis full-time

    Pros

    Decent salary, paid overtime, good benefits package. Good experience working at a world class law firm in close proximity to powerful attorneys. Free breakfast.

    Cons

    There is no career path here. You will be trained for your direct job and nothing more. Personal and professional growth is not encouraged. Managers are unprofessional. When you ask for help with a work problem managers will blame you instead of helping you. Don’t tell them personal or medical information about yourself unless you want everyone to know about it. Workloads are unreasonable and can’t be completed during normal work hours. Expect to work excessive overtime all year round- not just during busy season. Overtime is paid but you have to work overtime to get the work done because the department is understaffed. The office has recently grown a lot, but support departments have not grown. You are expected to pick up the extra work indefinitely.

    Continue reading
    Kirkland & Ellis2019-12-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Litigation Junior Paralegal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Kirkland & Ellis full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits as well as good insight into Big Law work culture.

    Cons

    Some of the supervising paralegals are difficult to work with, which heavily influences your experience at the firm.

    Kirkland & Ellis2017-12-12
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Legal Word Processor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits, free "breakfast" and coffee (Starbuck's machines)

    Cons

    Support groups not taken seriously

    Continue reading
    Kirkland & Ellis2017-11-14
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Legal Secretary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Legal Secretary in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Ample opportunity for training; good benefits; generous vacation and personal time; lots of resources so it's easy to get answers to random questions from attorneys.

    Cons

    The Firm can move you to a different desk or move your attorneys, and can you lose assignments you may have had for a long time. It's difficult to transition/explain their work to another secretary. We work in teams, and mine have always been great, but I know some secretaries have had real issues with their team, I think it's a luck of the draw sort of deal.

    Kirkland & Ellis2017-03-07
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Firm is great, some specific departments not so much"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good pay, good benefits, professional environment.

    Cons

    Lack of professional development, some management is very old school.

    Kirkland & Ellis2016-09-27
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Project Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kirkland & Ellis for more than a year

    Pros

    Generally good benefits; Not a bad place to feel out whether law school is for you (if you plan on working in a large firm); bonding with your peers under adversity.

    Cons

    Absolutely no work-life balance. It's an international top tier firm, so they have and endless supply of people who'd be more than happy to take your place and, as such, they have no interest in making sure you don't burn out--turnover is incredible; Workplace politics reaches even the most low-level employees; definitely focused on quantity of hours over quality of work.

    Continue reading
    Kirkland & Ellis2016-07-13
Found 18 reviews