Kirkland & Ellis "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kirkland & Ellis Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 22, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
80%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Kirkland & Ellis Chairman Jon Ballis
Jon Ballis
2 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not K&E specific, just the long hours of the legal industry(in 42 reviews)

  • "You are expected to work several hours of OT everyday without a work/life balance(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (7)

    "Working at Kirkland"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Assistant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The staff is unbelievably hard working here, I can speak especially to Business Development. There's a team mindset, and everyone is always willing to step up and help out each other, no matter how busy they are. The benefits are amazing - as a Non-Exempt employee you get paid for overtime, and that's on top of the 15 vacation days and 10 personal days AND holidays PTO you get every year. The pay is great too, and every year I have received a pay raise and bonus. I've been here three years and my salary has increase $10,000. There are always efforts for further development that both the HR department and business development department offer. Trainings, ability to take courses online, book club, IT technology trainings, weekly courses to further understand programs like Excel and Adobe Acrobat. I've also been able to attend conferences and talks outside of Kirkland which have been immensely helpful in my professional growth. They really want you to succeed here, and provide you with the support to do so.

    Cons

    The career growth feels a bit stunted. I've been at an assistant level for three years, despite my role changing and growing, and my responsibilities increasing. The promotions are competitive, and only given to a select few. It seems a bit political who does/doesn't get promoted. You are expected to put in overtime hours, whether that's checking your phone outside work or staying late to finish big projects. But I think that's to be expected at any hardworking firm. I've never had an issue with work life balance but it's easy to get caught up in putting in a lot of hours because the firm is so performance focused. (Which isn't necessarily a bad thing.)

    Continue reading
    Kirkland & Ellis2018-07-27
  2. "Ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Tons of resources, good pay and bonus, nice offices

    Cons

    Just like any other big law firm, work life balance is a problem

    Kirkland & Ellis2020-02-23
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Toxic Environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Coordinator in New York, NY
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and decent pay

    Cons

    Expect to work in an understaffed department. Work will be piled on your desk and management will add more to your workload as if you’re not already swamped. You are expected to work several hours of OT everyday without a work/life balance. Working through lunch is the norm. This is a thankless job! Management also gossips and tells your personal business to other staff members. I guess they don’t realize some of the staff is close and will warn each other that the personal information isn’t confidential.

    Continue reading
    Kirkland & Ellis2020-02-05
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Its good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will have friends-family for life! Free breakfast

    Cons

    Lack of diversity in departments which includes HR which is a turnoff. No work life balance. Some departments are cliquish and you can tell because of lack of friendliness.

    Kirkland & Ellis2019-05-01
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work but stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kirkland & Ellis for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. A lot of opportunity for overtime.

    Cons

    Poor work life balance. Atmosphere is not kind to staff.

    Kirkland & Ellis2018-09-01
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Associate Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Director in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, and opportunities to grow with the Firm. Work life balance is in line in with similar size Firms.

    Cons

    As the company is going through a rapid growth phase for the last few years, running into some issues with manual processes. That also means Great opportunity to automate

    Continue reading
    Kirkland & Ellis2018-05-03
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Kirkland & Ellis work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time

    Pros

    Salary for positons are excellent.

    Cons

    Directors and managers makes the jobs more stressfull than needed. No work life balance.

    Continue reading
    Kirkland & Ellis2017-10-12
  8. "Senior Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time

    Pros

    Excellent pay while working on top-level transactions

    Cons

    "Work-life balance" is not a phrase known to many attorneys at KE

    Kirkland & Ellis2017-09-22
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Terrible Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kirkland & Ellis full-time

    Pros

    Free breakfast. Nice people. Reasonably interesting work.

    Cons

    Terrible management style. No work/life balance.

    Kirkland & Ellis2017-09-12
  10. "Payroll coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kirkland & Ellis full-time

    Pros

    35 hour work week which give you good work/life balance

    Cons

    There are no cons here

    Kirkland & Ellis2017-04-20
Found 40 reviews