Cover image for Kirkus Media
Logo

Kirkus Media

Is this your company?

Kirkus Media

Add a Review

Kirkus Media Reviews

Updated Nov 3, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 10 of over 10 reviews
3.1
59% Recommend to a Friend

Found 10 of over 10 reviews

3.1
59%
Recommend to a Friend

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

  1. 5.0
    Current Contractor, more than 1 year

    freelance copywriter work at Kirkus

    Jul 25, 2017 - Freelance Copywriter in Iowa City, IA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    pays promptly. effective feedback. easy to work for.

    Cons

    infrequent projects but I suppose that could change.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Contractor, less than 1 year

    Highly Unprofessional

    Nov 3, 2022 - Book Reviewer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy assignments o keep track of

    Cons

    I had been told that Kirkus didn't prioritize the integrity of its reviews (I mean, it's a pay to play system after all), but they also don't respect their reviewers at all. After doing three reviews per month for them for eight months, they suddenly stopped assigning me anything and ghosted me. If you want to be dishonest about the quality of books and only leave positive reviews, then that's fine--but be upfront with reviewers about it and TELL THEM when you no longer require their services. TLDR: If you are considering freelancing for Kirkus, stay away. They will ask you to lie about your opinions and toss you to the wayside when they're through with you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. Join the Kirkus Media team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 4.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 3 years

    Flexible but low paying

    Apr 11, 2022 - Reviewer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ability to review as many (or as few) books as you'd like. Exposure to forthcoming titles. Very independent work (no micromanaging from editors). Remote work.

    Cons

    Low pay per review, especially for titles with complex content.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Freelancer, more than 1 year

    Nice people, terrible pay

    May 3, 2022 - Freelance Writer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Friendly, responsive staff and dependable, if low, pay. You never have to chase down a payment.

    Cons

    Terrible pay that's been the way for years and seems unlikely to go up.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Contractor, more than 8 years

    Low pay but better than others

    Nov 21, 2021 - Freelance Book Reviewer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can get paid to use your English degree, read a lot of books, and help influence buying decisions; some books are really terrific; pays more than other outlets

    Cons

    The pay is very low and it's a real grind to make any money.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Depends on who you get

    May 14, 2021 - Freelance Reviewer in New York, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    50$ per 350 word review Direct deposit payments

    Cons

    Paid only once per month This might depend greatly on your editor, but my editor did not offer any career development/mentorship/positive feedback and only ever emailed me when I had to revise a review. No perks like some other companies offer No extra payment for reviewing longer books No opportunity for a review/general feedback to get an increase in your rate Very nit picky on style guide No chance to deny reading a book; stuck with what you get

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Contractor

    Great source of freelance work!

    Jul 9, 2021 - Freelance Editor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Plenty of work available, friendly staff, development opportunities

    Cons

    Pay is low by industry standards.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Contractor, more than 3 years

    Great place for freelance book reviewers to gain writing experience;

    May 7, 2014 - Anonymous Contractor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are plenty of writing opportunities--I was able to review books from a variety of genres, and rarely had any downtime. Kirkus pays freelancers more than most review publications.

    Cons

    As with most book review publications, there is little room to advance and the pay--while better than most other review publications--is low considering the time investment required to read and write about each book. As a freelancer, you also have little contact with editors unless they have questions or concerns about your review--I realize editors are busy, but a little direct feedback would be nice every now and then.

    11 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee

    Unqualified editors

    Jul 7, 2013 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    See below for review of Kirkus.

    Cons

    I reviewed several dozen books for Kirkus. The editors are very unfamiliar with basic style guides. Correct syntax and punctuation was often changed to incorrect syntax and punctuation. It was not an issue until they started asking me to make these types of changes. I attribute some of this to just being unqualified. One editor simply lists his credentials as "blogger." I was sometimes asked to change contents of a review. I pointed out where the change would not be accurate, but was told to proceed anyway. The editors would not even crack the book, let alone skim the contents. Their familiarity with a book was simply looking at the cover and maybe the dust jacket.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Contractor, more than 1 year

    unprofessional actions

    Apr 13, 2014 - Book Reviewer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Receiving books for free to read and review.

    Cons

    I reviewed at least one book per month for over a year. When I stared reviewing, I received instruction to be honest and review as though we were speaking to a friend. When I wrote a positive review of a very good book, I would receive another to review very quickly. However, if my reviews were ever more negative than positive, I was asked to change them. After trying to adjust a negative review to be more positive but still be honest, I stopped receiving assignments altogether. I was never told why. My emails went unanswered (both direction questions and general touch-base emails).

    Continue reading
    12 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews
</>Embed

Work at Kirkus Media? Share Your Experiences

Kirkus Media logo
or

Reviews by Job Title

  • Book Reviewer(2)

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

See All Guides

Glassdoor has 10 Kirkus Media reviews submitted anonymously by Kirkus Media employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Kirkus Media is right for you.