Kitchen Collection Reviews | Glassdoor

Kitchen Collection Reviews

Updated Sep 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 86 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
22%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Kitchen Collection CEO Gregory H. Trepp (no image)
Gregory H. Trepp
29 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Low pay compared to work asked of(in 7 reviews)

  • "Work short for barely over minimum wage then expected to do others jobs without supervisors willing to help(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Loved the job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Primm, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kitchen Collection part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers were amazing, Job was overall great.

    Cons

    Based on the location of the store I worked at the pay was too low. If you have to have an hour commute to and from work, you should be paid accordingly.

    Kitchen Collection2017-08-19
  2. "Fired"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Key Holder in North Myrtle Beach, Horry, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kitchen Collection part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loved my manager and assistant manager

    Cons

    When You See Something, Say Something So, I was fired today. It was from a low paying job that I was already leaving anyway, but this is a first for my fifty-eight years. Why was I fired, you ask? I was fired for questioning a customer’s wardrobe choice, namely an offensive t-shirt. Working retail has exposed me to a multitude of disturbing situations. I’ve dealt with rudeness, racism, ignorance, laziness... and out and out thievery, but what I saw demanded my attention. A customer came into the store where I previously worked, sporting a t-shirt that had the image of an AK-47 rifle and the saying “The Quickest Way to a Man’s Heart is 256 Rounds a Minute”. I was appalled by the arrogance of this person, but purposely avoided contact until he approached my counter. It was then that I felt compelled to ask, “Sir, given what’s been happening in this country, do you feel that shirt is appropriate?” Yeah, I was fired for that. I worked there for 2 1/2 years, starting as a part time sales associate. During my time there, I often took on full time responsibilities in addition to my teaching job. I covered for those who had family emergencies, were unable to make their shift or were otherwise incapacitated. When Hurricane Florence hit our area, my manager and I were the only ones available to keep the store open. I NEVER failed to cover my shift and often covered for others, including the two days prior to my firing. Customers often praised my product knowledge and positive demeanor. Despite this, it was the complaint of a single customer that led to my firing . Until then, I had zero discipline issues, nor written warnings. I was due one week of paid vacation. I got a day’s pay. I’ve always believed when you see something, say something. The shirt presented what I saw as a credible threat of violence. Dry your eyes. I will be back to teaching in a couple of weeks, so I will use the time to prepare for my upcoming classes. Until then, I will continue to speak out on the issues I support.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Change your policies regarding customer complaints to take in the employee’s overall history.

    Kitchen Collection2019-09-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Store managers don't get benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Keyholder in Lime, OR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kitchen Collection part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My store was friendly and a great place to work. My district manager was reasonable as well usually.

    Cons

    NO benefits, write ups if over hours, very little forgiveness with current computer system resulting in unnecessary hardships.

    Kitchen Collection2019-06-12
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Easy work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kitchen Collection full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility will work around another job

    Cons

    Pay is low. No benefits

    Kitchen Collection2019-04-30
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Niagara Falls, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kitchen Collection part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Product and the meeting of new people/customers

    Cons

    Insubordination no store manager support

    Advice to Management

    Hold people accountable support your assistant management team and better pay for people with experience.

    Kitchen Collection2019-05-09
  6. "Sales Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Pooler, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kitchen Collection part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet lots of people, 20% discount

    Cons

    I was working there when there was a shortage of workers, so me not having much free time was my only con.....that's and standing all day became a pain

    Kitchen Collection2018-10-19
  7. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kitchen Collection full-time

    Pros

    Fun product for all ages for cooking.

    Cons

    Low wages for part timers

    Kitchen Collection2018-08-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "DON'T WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 4th Key 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kitchen Collection part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Interesting items in store and the 20% discount is nice to have.

    Cons

    -You work alone most of the time with no overlap in coverage. This also means days that are 6+ hours where you are unable to take breaks. -Pay is too low for the work done. About a dollar over minimum wage where I was at for keyholder. -Store, district and regional managers don't care about concerns or ideas from anyone below store manager position. -Our district manager, along with the others from what I hear,... have to be in charge of 2 districts now causing us to be unable to contact them. -They spent money on upgrading the register systems and they are the most unintuitive things I have ever seen. - No matter how well you do your job or how to the letter you follow instructions nothing ever seems right. -Benefits are almost nonexistent. Vacation and holiday pay are based on what your average hours were for the year. Vacation is also only given if you work 1000+ hours in a year. If you quit or get fired before then and you took vacation, they calculate how many hours you work and make you pay back a percentage. For instance if you qualify for 40 hours of vacation and you quit after only working 500 hours that year they will make you pay back 20 hours of vacation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Spend less money on new signage every month or a new register system and fairly compensate your employees for the work they do.

    Kitchen Collection2018-05-15
  9. "Love/Hate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kitchen Collection part-time

    Pros

    Enjoy products they sell and discount

    Cons

    DISORGANIZED where it is not fair to employees or customers

    Advice to Management

    When you say "Bend the rules" it is still breaking the law.

    Kitchen Collection2017-11-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Started out Okay, Devolved Into Nightmares."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 4th Key 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kitchen Collection part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Job is simple enough. If you're lucky, coworkers are good people.

    Cons

    . Low pay compared to work asked of. . Management can, will, and has reduced employee morale to nothing through persistent badgering and unobtainable goals. Nothing you do seems good enough. . Work alone majority of the time. Overlap with coworkers about thirty minutes to an hour maximum. .Policy dictates that key holders are to get one full weekend off a month. Be prepared to fight for this every single... time or request off in advance by a month. . Breaks are non-existent unless required by law, even then management will schedule you with sales associates so you may not leave to buy lunch/smoke/etc. . Constant threats and put-downs from management, bullying. . Constant hour cutting and schedule changes with no notification from management, even during holiday season. . Manager is MIA when on the clock. Disappears for ages at a time with no warning. . Assist. Regional/Regional/HR can and will ignore your concerns even if they are completely valid- accuse you of lying. .Company is disorganized and wasteful with no quality control. No communication through company or through store level, at all. Multitudes of emails with instructions to change prices on things that repeatedly (for over a year) come in with the stickers wrong. Or moldy product, rusty product, broken product in shoddy packaging. Just to name a few. I could go on, but you get the idea.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Management has made it clear that any advice given is unwelcome, I'll pass.

    Kitchen Collection2017-11-15
Found 86 reviews