Kiva "microfinance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kiva Employee Reviews about "microfinance"

Updated Mar 15, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
79%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Kiva Chief Executive Officer Neville Crawley
Neville Crawley
24 Ratings
Pros
  • "Friendly, transparant and flat work environment with a professional atmosphere(in 13 reviews)

  • "Great opportunity to really make an impact while learning about the microfinance industry(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "microfinance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Portfolio Operations Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kiva for more than a year

    Pros

    - Incredible company culture and amazing/mission-driven/smart people to work with - Portfolio Operations team in particular has a great director and associates that help interns develop and grow their professional skills immensely - For an intern role, you get a lot of high responsibilities and duties - If you are proactive, you can quickly get working on cool ad-hoc cross-functional projects other than BAU stuff - Having intern classes of about 40-50 interns provides you with a community of peers that over the course of six months become very close friends - Interns are provided with resources (workshops, mock-interviews, microfinance curriculum) to improve their professional skills

    Cons

    The fact that it's unpaid is the only con

    Kiva2018-03-15

    Kiva Response

    September 24, 2018CFO & Global Head of Operations

    Thanks for your review.

    Continue reading
  2. "Kiva Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kiva

    Pros

    Great opportunity to really make an impact while learning about the microfinance industry.

    Cons

    Low stipend, however it is sufficient enough to make ends meet in host country.

    Kiva2018-02-24

    Kiva Response

    September 20, 2018CFO & Global Head of Operations

    Thanks so much for your review. I appreciate your thoughts on the stipend.

    Continue reading
  3. "Amazing place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Kiva

    Pros

    - Meet the most diverse and amazing group of individuals under one roof - Make an impact in more than 80 countries around the world - Support local entrepreneurs from Oakland to New York - Great learning opportunity as it involves not just microfinance but also very tech-focused products

    Cons

    - Not many job openings - Not much structured promotions or career growth

    Continue reading
    Kiva2017-08-29
  4. "Kiva Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends

    I worked at Kiva

    Pros

    Fellowship is a great opportunity to work in microfinance/social impact for a short amount of time in a new geography. Each fellowship is different, so if you find a partner or location that suits you, it can be an incredible experience.

    Cons

    Because the fellowship was only 4 months, it was difficult to actually implement a project and see it from start to finish. I also knew this going in but at the time I was a fellow, the programme was completely unpaid - which can be demotivating, and difficult to come to terms with when you are working as hard as employees.

    Continue reading
    Kiva2017-01-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best Internship Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at Kiva for less than a year

    Pros

    The Kiva internship opportunity is the definition of unique, non-traditional and rewarding. Your work and performance will be highly praised throughout your 5 month period. In my experience, I found there was no hierarchy of positions within my department, but rather a sense of equality, cooperation and engagement. As an intern, I had the space to pitch my own ideas and share my opinion in certain areas. Kiva gives interns the opportunity to spend the day in other departments to get a sense of how the organization is run and organized. The internship also gives individuals an inside perspective into the microfinance world and how social impact is leveraged on a local and global scale. Might I also mention that Kiva is a work hard, play hard organization dedicated to their mission to alleviate poverty and push the boundaries of the social impact sphere. The individuals you find at this organization are passionate, driven, talented, and fun loving. You immediately build relationships here because everyone is deeply involved and interested in fostering an innovative and fun culture!

    Cons

    -The internships are unpaid -Most internships don't turn into a full time position unless you're there at the right time and a position opens up in your department

    Kiva2015-02-03
  6. "Part of a bi-yearly 20 person strong intern class at Kiva HQ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Marketing Intern in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kiva for less than a year

    Pros

    This is not a traditional internship! As a nonprofit Kiva relies heavily on its volunteer staff, thus interns are treated like full-time employees. This means you have the autonomy to pitch ideas, oversee projects, and share your vision with the Kiva board of directors! The internship provides an amazing opportunity to lean the ins and outs of microfinance, social entrepreneurship, and the nonprofit sphere. The employees are awesome, the office is fun, and there are always one or two dogs hanging around.

    Cons

    It is highly unlikely that this internship will turn into a full-time position. That being said, Kivans do want to see you score the job of your dreams and go out of their way to faciltiate professional connections.

    Kiva2015-01-07
  7. "It's been a pleasure being an intern at Kiva."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Kiva Zip in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kiva for less than a year

    Pros

    The office environment is very friendly yet productive. Everyone really cares about microfinance and does their best to contribute to this mission. There is also a great emphasis on making connections between borrowers and lenders.

    Cons

    If you're the type of person who needs a lot of guidance throughout your internship, then this might not be the place for you. You'll be trained adequately of course, but it's up to you to figure out how you want to do things from there. This is a great chance for you to challenege yourself and work independently.

    Kiva2014-10-23
  8. "Summer Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiva for less than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful and innovative work, allows you to get a better understanding of the microfinance world

    Cons

    Lack of funding - only office is in San Francisco so it was hard to get structure and connects in New York established

    Continue reading
    Kiva2014-06-23
  9. "Kiva Fellow"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kiva

    Pros

    Very smart passionate people and as part of the fellows program you get the best exposure to global microfinance instituitions

    Cons

    small stipend, depending on the partner you work with you might not have a great experience

    Kiva2013-03-14
  10. "Challenging, interesting at a progressive socent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Kiva Fellow 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kiva for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of autonomy given to fellows regarding how to execute the workplan and making suggestions Big fan of the strategic, data-driven approach they take towards the organisation and its products - in short, a non-profit operating in some ways like a for-profit company Working with many people who are passionate about international development and microfinance Very flat organisational structure and senior management are highly accessible

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con per se, but the level of enthusiasm espoused by some of the employees may make it a bit blind to the organisation's own weaknesses.

    Kiva2014-06-03

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 11 reviews
</>Embed