Kleinfelder Reviews | Glassdoor

Kleinfelder Reviews

Updated January 15, 2018
181 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Kleinfelder President and CEO George J. Pierson
George J. Pierson
32 Ratings

181 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • A wonderful work/life balance with the flexibility needed for a young father to parent and work in harmony (in 9 reviews)

  • Kleinfelder has great people which make it a great place to work (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • Upper management does not look out for the people that do the work and make them look good (in 14 reviews)

  • This also can be a challenge for work-life balance (in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Tech"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work great

    Cons

    Money,paid up front for school

    Kleinfelder Response

    Jan 15, 2018 – Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. Your feedback is appreciated.


  2. "Schedule:("

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder full-time

    Pros

    Nice fellow employees who are helpful

    Cons

    Schedule unpredictable, every day every week. Impossible to have plans

    Advice to Management

    Employees need more positive reinforcement

    Kleinfelder Response

    Jan 16, 2018 – Senior Recruiter

    We appreciate your feedback and the time you spent offering this review. We value receiving information about the pros and the cons to working for Kleinfelder. Based off your feedback, we would... More

  3. "Senior Principal Professional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Varied and interesting project opportunities. Great working environment with flexible hours and great benefits. Young professionals will find ample opportunities to gain immediate experience working on exciting projects.

    Cons

    Work location is not great but is shortly to improve.

    Kleinfelder Response

    Dec 21, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    Thank you! We appreciate the time you spent providing this feedback. Hearing from our current employees helps us to continue improving.


  4. "Many Changes for the Better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder full-time

    Pros

    Friendly office of young professionals, flexible work schedules, upper management that is supportive and encouraging. Good teamwork mentality, folks don't hesitate to pitch in when you ask for help.

    Cons

    Some of the reviews dating back to 2012 reflect a very different time and way of thinking. Unfortunately, we are still trying to rectify some of the management decisions made historically that did not serve us or our clients well.

    Advice to Management

    Continue the positive momentum, we are moving in the right direction.

    Kleinfelder Response

    Dec 19, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    We appreciate the time you spent providing us with your feedback. We value receiving comments about the pros and the cons of working for Kleinfelder and how we can continue improving.


  5. "Opportunities for growth... Employee owned and collaborative culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Cambridge, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    I've been here over 15 years - from before acquisition by Kleinfelder. I've stayed for the talented and supportive colleagues, the long term client partnerships and opportunity for advancement. I like how the company is big enough to compete with the big firms but small enough to care about employees and clients

    Cons

    We are running somewhat lean with big opportunities hitting and need to hire more people faster.

    Kleinfelder Response

    Dec 19, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    Congrats on such a great tenure with the firm! We appreciate your feedback greatly. Your concerns about hiring will be shared with the appropriate team. Thank you!


  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder full-time

    Pros

    Kleinfelder is changing. With new leadership, a new organizational structure and defined responsibilities, there are great opportunities for all. The outlook is bright for those who embrace these changes. It's an exciting time and there is more to come.

    Cons

    Change takes time and isn't easy for everyone.

    Kleinfelder Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    Thank you for sharing your views on the new leadership and organizational structure, this type of information is very valuable to our team.


  7. "Blessed to work here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Administrator in San Diego, CA
    Current Employee - Executive Administrator in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Today is my 28th anniversary working for Kleinfelder. I work with a great people, enjoy coming work and am thankful for the opportunities I have had to grow both personally and professionally.

    Cons

    I have no downsides to share.

    Kleinfelder Response

    Dec 7, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    Congrats!!! 28 years is an accomplishment! We appreciate your review and value the years of service you have given to Kleinfelder!

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Controls Specialist
    Current Employee - Project Controls Specialist
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Kleinfelder has great people which make it a great place to work. I am celebrating my 15 year anniversary this month and I look forward to many more.

    Cons

    I cannot think of any worth mentioning.

    Kleinfelder Response

    Nov 27, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    Congrats on your anniversary! We appreciate the time you took to provide a review for Kleinfelder. It is very helpful for us to hear feedback from staff. Thanks!


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Special Inspector"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Special Inspector in Salt Lake City, UT
    Current Employee - Special Inspector in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Keep in us busy when work is slow we get sent out if town.

    The schedule is flexible when work is slow.

    Direct supervisors/managers are some of the best I've had. Understanding but bold when necessary.

    Cons

    Retirement plan is the worst joke in the office. It is notoriously poor profit sharing and 401k plan. If I had any large family I would not be able to afford the health care. I get the minimum and use my wife's insurance.
      There is an attempt to disguise the poor benefits with annual bowling trips etc.

    Tuition reimbursement is advertised only prior to hiring but do not expect it not even ICC classes are paid for.

    Pay is 1 to 2 dollars below the local standard.

    Work gets slow in the off season. Though we go out of town we also finish weeks with less than 20 hours in between.

    Advice to Management

    Get decent industry standard benefits....

    Kleinfelder Response

    Dec 11, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    We value your feedback and comments. We strive to provide comprehensive and competitive benefits to our employees. Thank you for allowing us to understand where you feel we need improvement.


  10. "Kleinfelder"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Irvine, CA
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kleinfelder full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Kleinfelder is a progressive company always looking for ways to support employee growth and career opportunities. work-life balance is always a focus with management.

    Cons

    The workload can be cyclical, and at times is such that staff may need to turn down an opportunity to work on a project they would otherwise like to get involved with. This also can be a challenge for work-life balance.

    Kleinfelder Response

    Nov 20, 2017 – Senior Recruiter

    We appreciate the time you spent providing your feedback! Information like this is very valuable to us. Thank you!


Showing 181 of 186 reviews
Reset Filters