Klingspor Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
46%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Klingspor President Christoph Klingspor (no image)
Christoph Klingspor
55 Ratings
Pros
  • "Klingspor has a very good sampling program to help you sell the products(in 6 reviews)

  • "Commissions are not capped, so I have increased my overall compensation every year(in 5 reviews)

Cons
  • "Micro Management to the hilt - GPS tracking on your car so they know where you are every minute of the day(in 5 reviews)

  • "Upper management cares about one thing and that isn't the employee(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "I loved working for Klingspor! Brad and Stan guided me to become a successful sales rep and this was my first sales job."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Vancouver, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Klingspor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Base pay plus commissions, Company car, excellent communication between sales reps and management, great benefits and was treated with understanding and respect from the company. It was hard to leave this job, it’s one of the best jobs I’ve had and I was treated with absolute respect. Being my first sales job, Brad had a lot of patience with me and was always available to help me succeed and deliver the tools for my success. I highly recommend a career with Klingspor. If it wasn’t for my music career, I would still be with Klingspor.

    Cons

    Rescheduling appointments and sometimes having to do work at home to catch up, but this comes with the territory.

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2019-03-29
  2. "Regional manager"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Klingspor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good people at corporate. I love what I did just wrong company.

    Cons

    Not enough money for the amount of work or time of travel . NO advancement opportunities. NO pay reviews. Deadend job. Will not listen to employees in the field.

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2020-04-26
  3. "If you like chasing around the city do it"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Factory Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Klingspor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Base pay Insurance Company car Gas card

    Cons

    Poor, disconnected management Metrics driven Spying on employees Company phone is horrible Company tablet is horrible Company web site is insane Company car is stupidly uncomfortable Company allows $10 per MONTH for car washes Company really wants order takers not sales people Large companies sales are not allowed and you get in trouble if you approach one. Area managers are afraid of real sales people and will arbitrarily tank your 90 day evaluation. Product not available for major customers when needed. Backorders with zero customer communication. Direct ship orders never sent to major customers. Sales tools are 15 years out of date, and show it.

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2020-04-16
  4. "Do not work for Klingspor"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office in Hickory, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Klingspor part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nice people who like to deal with the management who micromanage them. No new innovation, the products developed 30 years ago is the backbone of their sales.

    Cons

    They are considered an essential business, they have not trained us to protect against Covid. We are afraid we will get sick and get our families sick. They don’t pay us extra to work in this risky situation. They have been slightly effected due to the economic situation, so they make the office take 20% less, if you look like your don’t busy they fire you. For those that work at home office are being monitored and are questioned if they log less than 8 hours.. It is a creepy environment, no positive feedback, no professional development of ant kind. You are better off working at Walmart.

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2020-04-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "For the most part an ok company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Klingspor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Middle management is great and benefits are too.

    Cons

    Upper Management has no clue how the outside world really is

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2019-09-08
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Overworked Underpaid"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Klingspor full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company car that you have pay taken out of your check for even if you don't use it.

    Cons

    To be sucessful with this company you have to put in over 50 hours a week. 40 in the field and at least 10 plus for paperwork on weekends and after business hours. Some products are good others just average. If you want to compete to get the sale your going to make 2-3% commission. Terrible pay for the industry to meet the high sales growth goals and strict company policys. Micromanagement is an understatement. This is a job you take only if you use it to get sales experience or your on your last leg and unemployment has run out.

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2019-02-23
  7. Helpful (10)

    "DO NOT BUY OR WORK FOR THIS COMPANY!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Klingspor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are all lying to you!

    Cons

    Say they manufacture everything. THEY DO NOT! Horrible management. Disgusting company!!!!

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2018-10-18
  8. Helpful (5)

    "CSR"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Klingspor full-time

    Pros

    You get a car but you they watch everything you do. Its the weekend and your off work but they still track you.

    Cons

    Terrible training and the regional managers are only worried about making money for themselves. Any new accounts you land only help out the company because once you realize the job is terrible they keep that business.

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2018-09-15

    Klingspor Response

    September 19, 2018Admin

    Thank you for your review of KLINGSPOR. We appreciate you taking the time to submit your comments/concerns, and strive to grow as a company based on your feedback. First, we are happy to hear you listed the company car as a "pro"; However, I would like to let it be known that we do not and will never "track" the company car on weekends or during times outside working hours. Yes, in a rare instance, where maybe the car is stolen, we'll have to access strictly confidential, need-to-know GPS data for law enforcement purposes... but that is the ONLY exception; I'd argue almost all companies with an automobile fleet use GPS to protect these highly valuable assets, and we are going by industry standards to make sure our employees & assets are safe. We have no interest in "tracking" employees -- to prove my point, that would require resources beyond our ability anyways -- We're a company focused on growth and sales -- not focused on where our employees are in their free time -- we encourage a strong work/personal life balance. I'm sorry to hear about your review of our training program, but would be open to learning on actionable feedback to improve. Our regional manager role is designed to encourage a positive work environment and we, of course, do not hope they are "only worried about making money for themselves" -- if you have any specific feedback or can explain how you came to this conclusion, we'd be more than happy to look into this. I'm truly sorry to hear of your review. Additionally, please know that KLINGSPOR does not post "fake reviews" or force our employees (in any manner) to post anything on Glassdoor or any other job/company review platform. Please contact our Executive Support team by emailing executivesupport@klingspor.com or by going to klingsporexecutivesupport.com to receive assistance regarding your complaint/review or help us with actionable feedback. Thank you again for your time and review.

  9. "Training for Success depends on Mgr"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Outside Sales Representative in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Klingspor full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Quality Product with Great Technical Support

    Cons

    No middle-management No communication-connections

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2018-09-06

    Klingspor Response

    September 19, 2018Admin

    Thank you for your review and feedback!

  10. Helpful (9)

    "Unfortunately, it's NOT about the customer...."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Klingspor full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good opportunity - only by necessity, to learn about abrasives. After that it's a few months and you're moving on if you are perceptive and want a career with a company that is interested in their customer's success and employees well being. The company focuses on policing the sales force (what time you see your first customer, what time you get home, how long your car idles and so on - even if you are the company's' SALES PERSON OF THE YEAR 2 years in a row) via an AVL tracking device on the "company car". There is a mindset that once a business purchases their products, they'll continue to do so regardless of in-person follow-up and CS. They don't seem to see a connection between representatives and a continuing and increased revenue stream - UNLESS business falls away. Then the representatives are responsible. Their modus operandi is sales professionals will work long days to see prospects and customers in person, handle "busy" work like quotes, necessary email communications, etc. in the evening or on weekends - all for a comp plan that is not close to worth it. Hence, massive turn over (twelve reps for one of my customers in 15 years at the same location). Some good products in some applications, very easy to see and identify in the yellow boxes.

    Cons

    It appeals to upper management to employ people that will stay on board AND can be controlled and manipulated with fear, conversation that is one sided in it's focus and is condescending in it's presentation. They are not open-minded to anything unless the ideas are presented in a way that is aligned with the old-world, outdated, self-righteous thinking of the very few. Hence CS suffers severely as does growth and value to the marketplace. The majority of focus needs to be shifted from the sales force behavior to getting current with what is available to their customers - updating technology for ordering by the employees and the customers - the list of needs that is unheeded because of extraordinarily poor focus and lack of complete trust in opening the upper management to levels beyond just "a couple Yes/Policemen" to enforce the owners old school bidding could create new growth areas yet to be experienced here... I don't see it ever happening.

    Continue reading
    Klingspor2018-09-21
Found 80 reviews