Klohn Crippen Berger "old boys club" Reviews | Glassdoor

Klohn Crippen Berger Employee Reviews about "old boys club"

Updated Oct 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Klohn Crippen Berger President and CEO Len Murray
Len Murray
36 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "old boys club"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Structural Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Klohn Crippen Berger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Interesting projects, friendly co-workers, growth if you are a go-getter

    Cons

    Quiet in the office, still a bit of a old-boys club. Average salary compared to the work you are doing

    Continue reading
    Klohn Crippen Berger2019-10-25
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Old Boys Club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Civil Engineer in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Klohn Crippen Berger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    • Benefits are above average. • Flexible hours (depending on which group you work for). • Paid overtime with the ability to bank time. • Friendly work environment. • Some talented senior engineers.

    Cons

    • “Old Boys Club” mentality, very hard to advance if you are female and have a family. • Inter-departmental politics. • Some hiring and firing practices are unethical. • No advancement from within. • Some senior staff are glorified project managers who have little technical knowledge.

    Continue reading
    Klohn Crippen Berger2016-09-12

    Klohn Crippen Berger Response

    September 14, 2016Director, Human Resources

    Since the beginning of 2015 the Alberta economic situation has affected a lot of engineering firms (including KCB) resulting in an unusual number of layoffs. I'd like to go on record and say that our hiring and termination practices are managed carefully and professionally. Without knowing the details its tough to know what your reference to unethical practices is related to. Any specific concerns about our practices should be directed to our ethics officer. It's been a tough time for our Alberta group but we are now seeing lots of positive changes within the organization and higher levels of engagement from our staff at all levels.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (6)

    "Talks the Talk, Lacks the Walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Calgary, AB
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Klohn Crippen Berger

    Pros

    - Many people who create a great environment to be in - Some opportunities to learn new skills

    Cons

    - Lack of career opportunities/growth and challenges. i.e. Full capabilities only used 30% of time. - Company values initiative and "do more" mentality yet there is little pay off - Segregation between managers and employees. "Old boys club" mentality. - Employee engagement is deemed as important, data collected; no changes. - Employee development is deemed as important, plans made; little change and growth. - Not a long term work environment. Learn what you can and move on.

    Continue reading
    Klohn Crippen Berger2016-03-22

    Klohn Crippen Berger Response

    March 24, 2016Director, Human Resources

    The growth in our Alberta offices over the past decade was amazing and during that time we worked really hard to create a positive environment and growth opportunities for our staff. Unfortunately, in the past year the changing business circumstances in Alberta have made it difficult to follow through on some of those great initiatives. Thanks for providing us with your feedback. As you indicated you are a former employee we wish you well and hope that you have been able to find a new opportunity that better suits your expectations.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great people, interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Klohn Crippen Berger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people make it all worthwhile. The company supports employee involvement in sporting activities and charity drives. We are treated to staff BBQs and donut days. A good atmosphere in the office. We work on interesting projects all over the globe. As with many companies there's a lack of middle-management so there's opportunities for junior level staff who are go-getters to advance more quickly than in some other firms.

    Cons

    Senior staff are knowledgeable and it's an honour to work with them. They do, however, lack time to mentor staff. Still a bit of an old-boys club, but some changes are being made which show progress.

    Klohn Crippen Berger2014-09-12

    Klohn Crippen Berger Response

    December 4, 2014Human Resources

    Thank you for your comments. We’re glad you participate in and enjoy the many social and sporting events we have. We think they’re great opportunities for people to get to know one another in the office. Our mentoring program is fairly new and continuing to grow. We are starting to create more career development opportunities and an environment where knowledge is shared at all levels. Thanks again!

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 4 reviews