Kmart "no raises" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kmart Employee Reviews about "no raises"

Updated Oct 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Kmart CEO Edward S. Lampert (no image)
Edward S. Lampert
1,504 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The pay was just above minimum wage(in 342 reviews)

  • "No raises for the past several years(in 293 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "no raises"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good 5 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pharmacy Technician in Caledonia, WI
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kmart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice atmosphere and good co-workers, flexibility, good communications between departments

    Cons

    Only part-time position, little benefits, lack of training, no raises

    Advice to Management

    Update the pharmacy POS system.

    Kmart2018-04-04
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Terrible Pay! Horribly low hours!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Mayaguez, PR
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    When you are done with your shift.

    Cons

    Never having enough money, Rude customers, associates slacking off all the time, management slacking off all the time, no breaks, no raises, unpaid lunch break, consistently low hours like 8 - 9 hours a week. This job is only okay for teenagers looking to save up enough money to buy video games and cheap snacks.

    Advice to Management

    Give your workers 40 hour work weeks so that they have money to pay at least some of their bills. Distribute the work load evenly so that the hard workers dont have to pick up everyone else's slack.

    Kmart2019-10-17
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Keep looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - "supervisor" in Lake Havasu City, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's at least a minimum wage paycheck

    Cons

    Zero Managerial support, Hostile work environment, No raises EVER. Not worth it!

    Advice to Management

    Value the hard working employee and ditch the dead weight, not the other way around!

    Kmart2019-08-07
  4. "Okay first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Elmhurst, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They were flexible with my school schedule

    Cons

    No raises and no holidays off

    Kmart2019-04-16
  5. "Former Kmart Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Kmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, flexible with schedule

    Cons

    Horrible place, no raises, no discount, rude supervisors who do not care, etc.

    Kmart2018-08-15
  6. "Cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kmart part-time

    Pros

    -friendly co-workers -at points, fast-paces -flexible work hours -15% discounts in points

    Cons

    -No raises -no promotions offered -they require you to sell at LEAST 10 credit cards a day, which is complete impossible. No one wants to get a credit card from a dying company -management does not manage well.

    Advice to Management

    Learn how to manage?

    Kmart2018-05-30
  7. "Reset Lead/Key Carrier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kmart for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Pretty much nothing, the company does not care about their employees whatsoever. The biggest pro was the store closing.

    Cons

    No raises. Stuck up managers. Favorites were played. Managers didn't know anything, and left critical problems for entry level associates.

    Advice to Management

    Never get into management again, you are not good at it. I would suggest finding jobs that are not relating to helping customers and problem solving.

    Kmart2018-05-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "not even worth the time to fill out an application"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Adset in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kmart part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If there was any they would go here.

    Cons

    When they hired me in 2010 they no longer offered raises at the 90 day mark. I only got one raise there regardless of my performance and that was because federal minimum wage went up. I started out with 20+ hours a week by the time they let me go (the store closed) I was down to 12. I did not get any vacation because I didn't work enough hours. Jeez I wonder why? They purposefully underemployed the part time... employees so that only management got vacations. They promoted only butt kissers and ended up firing them for theft of merchandise. It is a terrible company to work for. Don't even bother to work there. No raises. no vacations and no respect. 5 years and nothing. They didn't even tell me that the store was closing. I found out from another employee.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stay tied to a sinking ship you rats. If you do treat your employees better than I was then good on you. If not screw you. I am glad to be gone from there.

    Kmart2018-04-15
  9. Helpful (1)

    "My Revie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kmart part-time

    Pros

    The work was very easy

    Cons

    Minimum wage with no raises

    Kmart2018-03-13
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Department Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kmart full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Nice co-workers. Somewhat flexible schedule.

    Cons

    No hours for part-time workers, which means you are doing several different jobs. No raises, haven't had a raise in 10 years.

    Advice to Management

    Help out in the store. When you only have a hand full of workers, and just as much management working, you end up with managent doing nothing but telling the hand full of workers what to do. Over half the workers scheduled are management, who spend their time in "meetings". The store can't be stocked and ran buy only a few hands on workers.

    Kmart2018-03-19
Found 293 reviews