Find jobs for Operations Manager

KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Knight Transportation

Is this your company?

Knight Transportation

Add a Review

Knight Transportation Operations Manager Reviews

Updated Oct 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 of over 498 reviews

3.0
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Knight Transportation Chief Executive Officer and President David A. Jackson
David A. Jackson
5 Ratings

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Knight Transportation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great place to work

    Jul 26, 2016 - Transportation/Operations Logistics Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great family atmosphere, team camaraderie makes it enjoyable to come to work every day, company vision from upper management supports continued growth for years to come. Proud to call Knight Transportation home.

    Cons

    Dynamic of asset/non-asset presents challenging situations but overall a great experience.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Got alot of different experiences

    Oct 7, 2021 - Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexibility, opportunities to learn about different departments

    Cons

    People don't work together as a team and some have to carry more weight than others in the same position

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Possibilities Are Endless!!

    Jun 6, 2016 - Operations Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There are more promotional opportunities here than anywhere I've worked. They will even let you explore different departments in the company, if you think you'd be happier. The culture is very laid back, but everyone is hungry for success. It makes for strong comradery! Management is extremely understanding of home life obstacles, as long as you put in your best effort. It really feels like a family!

    Cons

    Trucking is a 24/7 industry!

    3 people found this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Senior Operations Manager

    Dec 14, 2015 - Senior Operations Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for, Good benefits, Family oriented, Open doorh policy, excellent team atmosphere, opportunity for rapid advancement. Would still be there if they weren't making cuts.

    Cons

    Very fast paced and stressful, long hours 60-70 per week at busy times, short handed at times, too much moving around in between jobs and could be a bit more organized.

    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Operations Manager

    Jun 20, 2016 - Operations Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people to work with in the office and in the field. Everyone in the Dallas office is amazing to work with.

    Cons

    A lot of overview from upper management that snakes it hard to do the job that we were hired for.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Operations manager

    Jul 8, 2017 - Operations Manager in Plainfield, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good to their employees , top management knows how to make money

    Cons

    Has to work Saturday and Sunday on a 3-4 week rotation

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Former Employee

    okay

    May 5, 2010 - Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    young people to work with, relaxed environment, being challenged to work in a high paced transportation company that excels in the market, good chance for advancement

    Cons

    long hours and little flexibility with working weekends, performance pay is very low and bonus is not given when promised

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Think Carefully About This Industry

    Feb 17, 2011 - Operations Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people I worked with in middle management were cool. Respect for the truck driver...I was not always the most friendly dispatcher in the world nor did I always say the nicest things, but now that I reflect upon this period in my life I understand the hardships drivers go through and just how important their role in our society is...although I will never return to this industry, forever endeared to my heart are those drivers I worked with and an experience I will never forget.

    Cons

    The pay sucked, the stress level was high, the rewards were minimal, opportunity for real professional advancement was terrible, there was a lot of hypocrisy, and there was a culture of incompetence. For college graduates considering a career in trucking logistics be very careful, unless your degree limits you to this field I would recommend looking at an entirely different industry. What you will find is that you will be expected to work every 3rd weekend (both Saturday and Sunday) as well as most holidays. You will also find yourself working an average of 11 hours per day 5 days a week and the pay just is not worth it. This industry also does not translate well into other industries if you decide to try your hand at something else, so for most that start in this industry most will also finish in it. This is why I say to be very careful about choosing this industry and if you're already in it, get out while you're still young. Trust me. And to all the drivers, yes you're getting screwed. There is always pressure not to pay you your layover, extra drop pays, driver loads/unloads, etc unless you complain. In fact we were told explicitly to do just that, so you got to speak up!

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 8 of 8 English Reviews

Popular Careers with Knight Transportation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Knight Transportation? Share Your Experiences

or