KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Knight Transportation

Engaged Employer

Knight Transportation

Add a Review

Knight Transportation Employee Reviews about "drivers"

Updated Apr 16, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 of over 530 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Knight Transportation Chief Executive Officer and President David A. Jackson
David A. Jackson
192 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
  • "only con i see in working with knight is the long hours but it is worth it in the end.(in 34 reviews)
  • "Low pay expected to work 12 hours or more off a salary that’s fixed.(in 30 reviews)
  • "poor management and office staff(in 13 reviews)
  • "little training(in 11 reviews)
  • "Long hours hunched over behind a desk with abysmal vacation (5 days of vacation after 1 year anniversary.(in 9 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Knight Transportation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "drivers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Otr

    Sep 12, 2018 - OTR Trucker in Lakeland, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Knights awesome for newbies! Got 1 yr under my belt! I can honesty say its beena pleasure cruise! However, im out 5weeks & go home for 5 days. Management good, solid good. Safety get on you if you dont follow company rules, remember they got a job to do too! Lots of miles, but i drive nights & at one point i was i drove the N.E. i had the very best dm. MATT from lakeland fl. I switched to team driving, on a Publix dedicated now. Ez work, just no sleep, teams you know. Pros lots of miles, standard pay, automatic or manuals, your choice. Volvos, Internationals, & i have seen a few kens! They are very good with their drivers, very respectful & polite. Make you feel at home. Relatively new equipment, terminals everywhere. I never stop at terms tho, i like rest stops, faster when your on the go. The benefits are there after 90days. If your a productive driver you'll be very happy at knight. For newbies, their is no better way to start a trucking career then starting out with knight.

    Cons

    Slow trucks, got me in a 62mph, im going nuts half the time, got prime & prius passing me. Got an inverter after 3 months pfft Slow trucks!

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Favortism

    Apr 16, 2021 - Driver Manager in Jackson, MS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Relaxed dress code, free sodas/chips for drivers, own board to command.

    Cons

    Favoritism, constant comparison against other DM's, and management sleeping with coworkers.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company, Lots of hours though

    Mar 11, 2021 - Driver Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management is great at offering support and training. Most of the drivers are chill. Relaxed on the vacation days as long as your are performing.

    Cons

    Benefits are super over priced for the amount of benefit received. Talk about super high deductibles, WOW! Some account managers need to take a chill pill and remember customer service extends to employees as well.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Long work hours

    Feb 10, 2021 - Driver Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Benefits, good drivers, decent pay, standing desks

    Cons

    Bad management, long hours, works weekends, works holidays, team bonuses

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Over the road

    Aug 30, 2020 - Delivery Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Daily pay,none force dispatch,they go all out the way on drivers appreciation week.

    Cons

    Communication with drivers nothing eles

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee

    High demands

    Oct 20, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great drivers to work with

    Cons

    High demands, high turnover, salary working 60 hours a week typically, upper management are not the greatest at leadership

    2 people found this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Delivery Driver

    Jun 12, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good management team that helps drivers out.

    Cons

    Long hours and broke down trucks.

    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Former Driver

    Dec 14, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Always home on time, great pay, drivers managers are easy to work with.

    Cons

    Long hold times when you call in

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Knight Transportation driver

    Oct 23, 2017 - Trucker in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They wont fire you for taking extended leave. They never cared when I would clean out the truck and take a few weeks off. Other drivers tend to be friendly and helpfull so dont be afried to ask questions. Never had trouble getting a fuel card open so I could fuel anywhere. Tend to get 2500 miles a week, and they have a robust network of customers.

    Cons

    I suspect they could pay considerably more given the size of the company. They only pay you when you ask, always have to call and ask to be paid your stop pay ect... Trucks are 95% of the time disgustingly dirty when you get them. I had one that smelt like pee. The dirvers showers are mostly always dirty, they hire super cheap janitors and the lounges have bad furniture. I guess be thankfull for what you got, but sometimes I feel like a second class citizen. They changed the vacation policy after they haired me.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Driver

    Mar 24, 2017 - Anonymous Employee in Oneonta, NY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved the freedom of the open road, and the other drivers

    Cons

    After working 5 or 6 weeks had to fight for 5 or 6 days off

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 23 Reviews

Popular Careers with Knight Transportation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Knight Transportation? Share Your Experiences

or

Knight Transportation Photos

+ Add Photo
Knight Transportation photo of: I needed to be near home so they put me in a day cab so i could run local
Knight Transportation photo of: truck
Knight Transportation photo of: Brokerage Floor

Have you worked here?

See All Photos