KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Knight Transportation

Is this your company?

Knight Transportation

Add a Review

Knight Transportation Employee Reviews about "home time"

Updated Jan 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 of over 495 reviews

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Knight Transportation Chief Executive Officer and President David A. Jackson
David A. Jackson
182 Ratings
Pros
  • "Home time are always as promised(in 20 reviews)

  • "Nice trucks good terminals not bad pay(in 17 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long Hours, Busy during holiday seasons(in 38 reviews)

  • "Dispatch needs to remember that we're not mind readers out here on the road-communication is key(in 24 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Knight Transportation and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "home time"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great Company

      Dec 28, 2020 - Class A Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great communication Great dispatch Honest about scheduling Nice home time

      Cons

      Recruiters don’t really know the ins and outs of the job - was given wrong information about my route and the orientation

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      This company is dysfunctional

      Jan 6, 2021 - OTR/Regional Driver in Lakeland, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are terminals most of the time along the route

      Cons

      Finding myself once again sitting on a load as a result of inadequate communication between office management and the driver (myself), can’t count that high in regards to how frequently this has happened since I started here 4 months ago. Hopefully you love you having your time wasted and losing money due to poor communication and terrible planning. Compensation here sucks as it is at 43cpm, add in the amount of time you lose working here and do the math. When I was going through the hiring process for this company, they told me they had brand new equipment, trucks and trailers both, and that their equipment was more than adequately maintained - false - enjoy sitting in a dirty, used truck with an interior left filthy by the fat sea cow that sat in it prior, no they don’t clean it out for you, and the truck has 300,000+ miles on it when you get into it, most of the bunkheaters don’t work and your batteries are constantly dying, the trailers are all rusted, and you can never find an empty because they let their customers fill empty trailers with pallets. Home time is said to be 1 day off for every week out, but they could’ve shoved it from day one for me, I go home whenever I want for as long as I want, I don’t get paid enough for the bs in this company to care. Thought I would have a lot of positive things to say about working here, but its all flowers for the first month (if that) before you see how dysfunctional this company is. They’re just another mega-carrier, don’t expect anything more or less than reality. I’ve about had enough, seeking my way out already

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great for company driver

      Sep 17, 2020 - Class A Truck Driver in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Home time are always as promised.

      Cons

      Those OTR mentors are terrible.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good to work for

      Jan 27, 2020 - Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      friendly caring newer equipment not forced dispatch good home time

      Cons

      idle shutdown berween 30 and 70 degrees no apu expensive benefits

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      I work for the Memphis Terminal as a Refrigerated driver.

      Nov 7, 2014 - Truck Driver in Memphis, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great miles, good dispatchers (I do have issues with some of them but they will all help me out if I need them to do something), reasonable home time, and there equipment for the drivers that have been there isn't too bad at all. If you have any time with them you will more than likely get a very clean truck still a company truck but not bad.

      Cons

      No APU's on the trucks, trucks are governed at 62, with a max of 65 with fuel economy they pay dispatched miles for the shortest rout yet plan your rout on the fastest rout and get there info from Google Maps so your payed miles is around 90% of actual miles. Sliding pay scale Benefits are not affordable.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Company

      Jan 14, 2016 - Over the Road Driver in Lebanon, TN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great home time, home every 7-10 days, great mileage if the Driver Manager knows they can rely on you to be on time. mostly drop and hook in dry division. I have not experienced a lot of down time. 10 down and I'm rolling again. Most of the time my Driver Manager has my next load set up before I complete my current load. Same day pay works out great. Bonus program is easy to accomplish.

      Cons

      speed set at 63 mph. trucks. I prefer 70 -75 mph trucks since most of the states we travel that is the speed limit. not to mention you only have 11 hours driving time. so the 7 to 12 mph difference adds up at the end of the day.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good company to drive for

      Apr 27, 2016 - OTR Truck Driver in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well maintained equipment vary flexible home time dispatch works with u vary open door policy can talk to everyone in the office including the founders run any ware u want

      Cons

      Concerning alway changing personal adding new stuff weather it beiffits. The drivers or not need to hire moor season dispatch on weekends

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good Place to work.

      Apr 14, 2017 - Former Driver in Carlisle, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They try to keep you moving. The company is trying to make the terminals better with upgrading their facilities. Decent equipment.

      Cons

      Dispatch needs to remember that we're not mind readers out here on the road-communication is key. The constant need to remind dispatch about home time is almost maddening.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      One of the best companies for non experienced

      Jan 20, 2019 - Truck Driver in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No forced dispatch Great miles Great home time Pet policy Rider program Smoking trucks New equipment good dispatchers Great benefits

      Cons

      Be ready to drive.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Driver

      Apr 16, 2018 - Truck Driver in Phoenix, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good home time good miles great dispatcher

      Cons

      Reaching dispatch not we nigh dispatchers usually 30 to 45 min on hold so you figure out how to solve your own problems which is a pro in this industrie industrie lol

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 28 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Knight Transportation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Knight Transportation? Share Your Experiences

    or