KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Knight Transportation

Engaged Employer

Knight Transportation

Add a Review

Knight Transportation Employee Reviews about "knight"

Updated Apr 14, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 531 reviews

3.3
57%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Knight Transportation Chief Executive Officer and President David A. Jackson
David A. Jackson
192 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Knight Transportation and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "knight"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Awesome company for great start.

    Dec 3, 2020 - Supply Chain in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing benefits and excellent staff.

    Cons

    I've been with knight for eight years and have no cons.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Current Contractor, more than 10 years

    Avoid unless just want to be treated as another monkey holding a wheel

    Apr 14, 2021 - Truck Driver 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None knight hase become another big corporation

    Cons

    Working there as a driver use to be great Kevin Knight took a active roll in how his drivers were treated now its a different entity they don't care about the drivers no matter how long you've worked there they have sever self imposed restriction on drivers and treat o/o the same regardless of contract as headline states just another monkey holding a wheele to them now

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Knight First

    Mar 2, 2021 - Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Highly focused on communication, Open to new suggestions

    Cons

    Micromanaging, demanding hours, Knight is first and foremost

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Stay AWAY!

    Sep 7, 2020 - Truck Driver in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I started with Knight in June 2020 and I have no positive experience to share.

    Cons

    The recruiter waited until the last minute to setup a room for the CDL school. I was issued a truck that had bald spots on the tire and was requested to drive it in that condition to California. The air leveling value was also MISSING! The interior of the truck was dirty and had not been cleaned. I had found myself on several occasions given the wrong load information and after spending five hours at a shipper to leave EMPTY I was paid $12.00 by Knight. I was left for two days with no communication as to when I would be dispatched out of California and I’ve asked to return to Las Vegas only to be given a load to Tucson. Knight kept the CDL school opened even after an instructor tested positive for COVID and Knight did not offer to have the students tested.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Be Cautious - In Office - Very Stressful

    Aug 24, 2020 - Management- Glad to BE Gone in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some great people work there. Some management are good people

    Cons

    No chance for movement, being of Mormon faith gets you farther It's a Boys Club in most departments. It's a "who you know" company that allows movement and paid increases. Hostel work environment. Knight's motto is, "If your not willing to work 24/7 your not Knight materital" Under staffed on purpose and underpaid for the hours worked. Little to no paid raises, even if you live up to their motto. Known to blackball and lie about former employees. To much Monday morning quarterbacking

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay

    May 1, 2020 - Driver Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent PTO, benefits, and okay hours.

    Cons

    Knight is an okay company to start out with. It is not that I didn't like it, it is just that I ultimately got screwed over by meeting my weekly quota mile wise. All the bad drivers got put on my board, so I ended up looking bad. The atmosphere at times got tense, and you could tell favoritism was played.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Former Employee

    The Manteno, Illinois team was the very best I have ever worked with in 20 years!

    Oct 8, 2019 - Safety Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great team support with lots of opportunities!

    Cons

    I have nothing negative to say about Swift Knight TRansportation!

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Large Company with Large Problems

    Aug 15, 2018 - OTR Truck Driver in Lakeland, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good miles. With the right DM, you *will* run miles. I don’t think I ever averaged below 2500 miles in a week. - Diverse freight. Lots of freight going many *many* different places. - Thermoking Reefer units. They’re quiet and won’t bother you like a Carrier unit will - Open fuel card. You *can* fuel anywhere that accepts EFS. Although you may or may not get a talking to if you ignore fuel routing. - Lots of terminals. - Plenty of trailers. - Dedicated driver retention personnel. Paul in Indianapolis has a position devoted to sorting out driver issues and maintaining retention. - Free rand McNally GPS embedded into ELD - Smart Drive cameras. They will save your butt if something happens outside of your control.

    Cons

    - Poor fleet management. You can’t just get out of any truck and into another. They’re all assigned to these many different terminals and are almost completely restricted to drivers of the trucks home terminal. This can make locating an open truck a big problem for newcomers. - Poor maintenance. Knight trucks are poorly serviced and sometimes not serviced at all. - Stingy tire care. Bad tire? They don’t want to replace it unless it’s already almost gone or can get you to a terminal that may be hundreds of miles away. - Damaged trailers/trucks. A good half of Knights fleet has some sort of damage. By damage I mean large dents, openings, or hanging pieces. - Poor driver recruiting. Most of Knights drivers come in with 0 experience. They typically destroy equipment within just a few months of employment. You’ll be dealing with that constantly. - VERY poor facilities. Filthy showers. Broken laundry machines. Broken fuel pumps. Broken gates. Etc. - Poor truck security. A Volvo key can get you into every single international or Volvo in Knights fleet. Yes, the Volvo key even works on the internationals. Just wiggle it a little. - lack of trainers. While this is an industry wide problem, Knight makes no effort in recruiting experienced and credible drivers to supply training. - Sketchy practices. Forged registrations, lying to drivers about late deliveries, lying about pay, lying about future prospects. All rampant in Knight companies. - HORRIBLY dangerous Atlanta yard. It is located *literally* next door to a drug hub. You are advised to not leave the yard on foot or you may be killed. A driver had been shot there years ago. Gates are often left open. Gun shots are often heard on a nightly basis. - Filthy trucks and trailers. Knight does not have their equipment properly washed. While some terminals do have a truck wash, it will only spray hot water on the truck. - Trucks are not cleaned between drivers. So if the previous driver was a pig, you’re gonna be the one dealing with it. - Stingy on mattresses replacement. You will often have to argue to get a new mattress for your truck you just had to clean up. They often won’t even have any in stock, resulting in days of lay over. - Poor driver vetting for new trucks. Brand new trucks are often handed to teams. These teams are typically coming straight out of orientation and last less than 6 months. Brand new trucks will be almost completely destroyed (inside and out) by that time, making it nearly impossible to find a truck that’s in good shape. - Poor website. The website is often slow and non-functional. This can make it impossible to achieve your safety bonus (online course requirements) - slow and inconsistent fleet speeds. Some trucks can’t drive over 63. Some 68. It’s a gamble on what you will get. - Idle shutdown. Anything that isn’t a Volvo will shut off over 72 degrees. This can cause sleeping to be an issue in places with high humidity or in the desert when mornings heat up rapidly. - Late loads. Many of Knight Reefer loads are late right off the bat. - Understaffed night dispatch. 2 people work all of Night dispatch for reefer. Hold times extend as long as 2 hours. - Lack of driver “life essentials”. Most trucks lack an inverter, no trucks have an APU, and any truck with a refrigerator has probably been ruined or it’s broken.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Improve the planning to get drivers home more often

    Apr 2, 2018 - Truck Driver in Richland, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    In the refrigerated division most of my runs seem to be right about 800 miles. I'm getting good miles. The equipment is nice. I was given an inverter because I have sleep apnea and I needed something to plug my machine in with. I like there's so many terminals. I also like there's a pretty policy.

    Cons

    My main down side is the planning. I wish the planners would make it so thatyou could be home for resets. In the refrigerated division I'm constantly turning the wheels and I run out of my 70 quickly. My problem is if I'm not getting paid I want to be home with my family. So I don't see why knight cannot plan trips in a loop or something so that you run out of hours close to home

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee

    Good Company overall.

    Mar 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Hometime. Never had a problem getting home when I needed to be there or needed a rest due to running long and hard. - Miles. Even before the Swift Merger I was getting plenty of miles once I switched to refrigerated. So if you want miles this is a place where you can get them. - Communication. Dispatchers available when needed. I never had an issue with my DM and only contacted him when absolutely had to if there was an issue that I couldn't handle. This went for weekend dispatch as well. - Facilities. Many terminals that are somewhere close to your location most likely. Some are better than others but if you're in near place like Atlanta its where you want to be, terminals like Fontana, are just as filled as some truck stops with 2 showers though.

    Cons

    My only con would have been trucks have no APUs. Knight knows that this is a concern if you will for drivers. They did add inverters. There were many drivers like myself who stayed out for long periods and could have benefited having that simple comfort.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

Popular Careers with Knight Transportation Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Knight Transportation? Share Your Experiences

or

Knight Transportation Photos

+ Add Photo
Knight Transportation photo of: I needed to be near home so they put me in a day cab so i could run local
Knight Transportation photo of: truck
Knight Transportation photo of: Brokerage Floor

Have you worked here?

See All Photos