KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Knight Transportation

Is this your company?

Knight Transportation

Add a Review

Knight Transportation Employee Reviews about "terminals"

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 496 reviews

3.5
69%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Knight Transportation Chief Executive Officer and President David A. Jackson
David A. Jackson
182 Ratings
Pros
  • "The home time is definitely top notch you can still make money while being home everyday, every other day or every 2 weeks(in 24 reviews)

  • "Daily pay,none force dispatch,they go all out the way on drivers appreciation week(in 23 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long Hours, Busy during holiday seasons(in 41 reviews)

  • "I've been with knight for eight years and have no cons(in 32 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Knight Transportation and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "terminals"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Otr

      Sep 12, 2018 - OTR Trucker in Lakeland, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Knights awesome for newbies! Got 1 yr under my belt! I can honesty say its beena pleasure cruise! However, im out 5weeks & go home for 5 days. Management good, solid good. Safety get on you if you dont follow company rules, remember they got a job to do too! Lots of miles, but i drive nights & at one point i was i drove the N.E. i had the very best dm. MATT from lakeland fl. I switched to team driving, on a Publix dedicated now. Ez work, just no sleep, teams you know. Pros lots of miles, standard pay, automatic or manuals, your choice. Volvos, Internationals, & i have seen a few kens! They are very good with their drivers, very respectful & polite. Make you feel at home. Relatively new equipment, terminals everywhere. I never stop at terms tho, i like rest stops, faster when your on the go. The benefits are there after 90days. If your a productive driver you'll be very happy at knight. For newbies, their is no better way to start a trucking career then starting out with knight.

      Cons

      Slow trucks, got me in a 62mph, im going nuts half the time, got prime & prius passing me. Got an inverter after 3 months pfft Slow trucks!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good starter company

      May 8, 2021 - Class A Truck Driver in North Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No forced dispatch and many Terminals

      Cons

      Company driver pay scale sucks

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      This company is dysfunctional

      Jan 6, 2021 - OTR/Regional Driver in Lakeland, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are terminals most of the time along the route

      Cons

      Finding myself once again sitting on a load as a result of inadequate communication between office management and the driver (myself), can’t count that high in regards to how frequently this has happened since I started here 4 months ago. Hopefully you love you having your time wasted and losing money due to poor communication and terrible planning. Compensation here sucks as it is at 43cpm, add in the amount of time you lose working here and do the math. When I was going through the hiring process for this company, they told me they had brand new equipment, trucks and trailers both, and that their equipment was more than adequately maintained - false - enjoy sitting in a dirty, used truck with an interior left filthy by the fat sea cow that sat in it prior, no they don’t clean it out for you, and the truck has 300,000+ miles on it when you get into it, most of the bunkheaters don’t work and your batteries are constantly dying, the trailers are all rusted, and you can never find an empty because they let their customers fill empty trailers with pallets. Home time is said to be 1 day off for every week out, but they could’ve shoved it from day one for me, I go home whenever I want for as long as I want, I don’t get paid enough for the bs in this company to care. Thought I would have a lot of positive things to say about working here, but its all flowers for the first month (if that) before you see how dysfunctional this company is. They’re just another mega-carrier, don’t expect anything more or less than reality. I’ve about had enough, seeking my way out already

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Dec 8, 2020 - Truck Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice trucks good terminals not bad pay

      Cons

      Reefer down time long load and unload t8mes

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Typical starter company

      Jan 7, 2021 - Class A Truck Driver in South Bend, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Newer equipment and cars at terminals

      Cons

      poor management and office staff

      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Dispatch and empties leave much to be desired.

      Nov 10, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New equipment and clean terminals.

      Cons

      Freight and lack of empty trailers. Low pay and dispatch.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Liars & Cheats

      Nov 17, 2019 - Truck Driver in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have new trucks and clean terminals.

      Cons

      Paychecks were always short. Too much downtime that I never got paid for. Too much time spent searching for empty trailers. I didn't get paid for a lot of the miles I spent going to and from repair shops or the wasted time searching for empty trailers. I never got home when they said they would get me home.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Large Company with Large Problems

      Aug 15, 2018 - OTR Truck Driver in Lakeland, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good miles. With the right DM, you *will* run miles. I don’t think I ever averaged below 2500 miles in a week. - Diverse freight. Lots of freight going many *many* different places. - Thermoking Reefer units. They’re quiet and won’t bother you like a Carrier unit will - Open fuel card. You *can* fuel anywhere that accepts EFS. Although you may or may not get a talking to if you ignore fuel routing. - Lots of terminals. - Plenty of trailers. - Dedicated driver retention personnel. Paul in Indianapolis has a position devoted to sorting out driver issues and maintaining retention. - Free rand McNally GPS embedded into ELD - Smart Drive cameras. They will save your butt if something happens outside of your control.

      Cons

      - Poor fleet management. You can’t just get out of any truck and into another. They’re all assigned to these many different terminals and are almost completely restricted to drivers of the trucks home terminal. This can make locating an open truck a big problem for newcomers. - Poor maintenance. Knight trucks are poorly serviced and sometimes not serviced at all. - Stingy tire care. Bad tire? They don’t want to replace it unless it’s already almost gone or can get you to a terminal that may be hundreds of miles away. - Damaged trailers/trucks. A good half of Knights fleet has some sort of damage. By damage I mean large dents, openings, or hanging pieces. - Poor driver recruiting. Most of Knights drivers come in with 0 experience. They typically destroy equipment within just a few months of employment. You’ll be dealing with that constantly. - VERY poor facilities. Filthy showers. Broken laundry machines. Broken fuel pumps. Broken gates. Etc. - Poor truck security. A Volvo key can get you into every single international or Volvo in Knights fleet. Yes, the Volvo key even works on the internationals. Just wiggle it a little. - lack of trainers. While this is an industry wide problem, Knight makes no effort in recruiting experienced and credible drivers to supply training. - Sketchy practices. Forged registrations, lying to drivers about late deliveries, lying about pay, lying about future prospects. All rampant in Knight companies. - HORRIBLY dangerous Atlanta yard. It is located *literally* next door to a drug hub. You are advised to not leave the yard on foot or you may be killed. A driver had been shot there years ago. Gates are often left open. Gun shots are often heard on a nightly basis. - Filthy trucks and trailers. Knight does not have their equipment properly washed. While some terminals do have a truck wash, it will only spray hot water on the truck. - Trucks are not cleaned between drivers. So if the previous driver was a pig, you’re gonna be the one dealing with it. - Stingy on mattresses replacement. You will often have to argue to get a new mattress for your truck you just had to clean up. They often won’t even have any in stock, resulting in days of lay over. - Poor driver vetting for new trucks. Brand new trucks are often handed to teams. These teams are typically coming straight out of orientation and last less than 6 months. Brand new trucks will be almost completely destroyed (inside and out) by that time, making it nearly impossible to find a truck that’s in good shape. - Poor website. The website is often slow and non-functional. This can make it impossible to achieve your safety bonus (online course requirements) - slow and inconsistent fleet speeds. Some trucks can’t drive over 63. Some 68. It’s a gamble on what you will get. - Idle shutdown. Anything that isn’t a Volvo will shut off over 72 degrees. This can cause sleeping to be an issue in places with high humidity or in the desert when mornings heat up rapidly. - Late loads. Many of Knight Reefer loads are late right off the bat. - Understaffed night dispatch. 2 people work all of Night dispatch for reefer. Hold times extend as long as 2 hours. - Lack of driver “life essentials”. Most trucks lack an inverter, no trucks have an APU, and any truck with a refrigerator has probably been ruined or it’s broken.

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Improve the planning to get drivers home more often

      Apr 2, 2018 - Truck Driver in Richland, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      In the refrigerated division most of my runs seem to be right about 800 miles. I'm getting good miles. The equipment is nice. I was given an inverter because I have sleep apnea and I needed something to plug my machine in with. I like there's so many terminals. I also like there's a pretty policy.

      Cons

      My main down side is the planning. I wish the planners would make it so thatyou could be home for resets. In the refrigerated division I'm constantly turning the wheels and I run out of my 70 quickly. My problem is if I'm not getting paid I want to be home with my family. So I don't see why knight cannot plan trips in a loop or something so that you run out of hours close to home

      Continue reading
      7 people found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good Company overall.

      Mar 9, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Hometime. Never had a problem getting home when I needed to be there or needed a rest due to running long and hard. - Miles. Even before the Swift Merger I was getting plenty of miles once I switched to refrigerated. So if you want miles this is a place where you can get them. - Communication. Dispatchers available when needed. I never had an issue with my DM and only contacted him when absolutely had to if there was an issue that I couldn't handle. This went for weekend dispatch as well. - Facilities. Many terminals that are somewhere close to your location most likely. Some are better than others but if you're in near place like Atlanta its where you want to be, terminals like Fontana, are just as filled as some truck stops with 2 showers though.

      Cons

      My only con would have been trucks have no APUs. Knight knows that this is a concern if you will for drivers. They did add inverters. There were many drivers like myself who stayed out for long periods and could have benefited having that simple comfort.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Knight Transportation Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Knight Transportation? Share Your Experiences

    or