Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory Reviews | Glassdoor

Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 71 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
Morgan Smith
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "They have a 9/80 work schedule, which allows you to work an extra hour Monday - Thursday, but then get every other Friday off(in 22 reviews)

  • "Excellent understanding of work/life balance(in 14 reviews)

Cons
  • "No access to internet, cell phones not allowed in workplace, projects move very slow(in 11 reviews)

  • "I expected better from a facility supporting the military(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Niskayuna, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Challenging engineering work provides a sense of self satisfaction. To mitigate increased stress healthy lifestyle choices added in benefiting overall physical and mental health.

    Cons

    With great engineering great stress is present at times.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2018-12-18
  2. "Imporatant Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time

      Pros

      Important work for the nation

      Cons

      Can be intense and demanding

      Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2019-04-25
    • "Great work life balance, poor raises"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I have been working at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time

      Pros

      Work life balance/flexible schedule, decent benefits

      Cons

      Poor raises, no bonus, low pay

      Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2018-11-20
    • "Great place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time

        Pros

        Great culture, interesting, fun reliable

        Cons

        Lots of security, 1000s of employees

        Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2018-10-21
      • "Internship Review"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time

        Pros

        Great, lots of smart people. Meaningful work for the country. Great mentor and nice manager

        Cons

        Had the classic "intern task". Ideally would have been doing something more productive.

        Advice to Management

        Lacking Programming personell in management positions. Management did their best to understand but it's hard when management's background is in other areas..

        Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2018-10-25
      • "Fire Protection Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Milton, NY
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time for more than 8 years

        Pros

        They have a 9/80 work schedule, which allows you to work an extra hour Monday - Thursday, but then get every other Friday off. Good job security, too.

        Cons

        Corrupt culture results in many wrong decisions being made (both in terms of efficiency and ethics). It can be very difficult to get raises or promotions.

        Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2018-08-16
      • Helpful (2)

        "Downhill Slide"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Good job security and hours

        Cons

        Getting a good manager is a gamble here. I had one fantastic manager, and one awful manager. The bad manager had no idea how to deal with PTSD (the answer is definitely NOT to force employees into situations they told you trigger it to help them 'get over it'). I expected better from a facility supporting the military. This manager seems to fixate on one employee at a time to drive out. This behavior is so apparent, I...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Read The Myth of the Bell Curve. Average benefits only retain average employees.

        Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2018-04-11
      • Helpful (2)

        "Its a job...."

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Nuclear Engineer 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        Vacation time starts off at 3 weeks. It was also a nerds dream job.

        Cons

        Zero recognition in pay and former experience means nothing to them. I was 31 when I quit and never got a raise despite being told I was doing great and contributed a lot. Meanwhile anyone fresh out of college with a Master's degree would almost be guaranteed to get a better paycheck than me. Management is also run by people that clearly should not be managers. Whole lab is either throw-away college grads or old people...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        quit and hire someone else.

        Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2018-01-19
      • Helpful (1)

        "Toxic Environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I have been working at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time

        Pros

        Can't bring work home. Stable job.

        Cons

        The culture is a combination of the government and military, but in the worst way. Management can be abusive, and blames the employees for relationship issues without accepting any responsibility for issues. Every story has two sides.

        Advice to Management

        Look at improving yourselves first. The corporation mimics its leaders, and issues start at the top.

        Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2018-02-07
      • "Developer Engineer"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I worked at Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory full-time

        Pros

        The work is interesting and rewarding

        Cons

        Cannot access internet or phone on site

        Knolls Atomic Power Laboratory2017-11-13
      Found 71 reviews