KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Knowledge Universe

Is this your company?

Knowledge Universe

Add a Review

Knowledge Universe Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 217 of over 225 reviews

2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Knowledge Universe CEO Tom Wyatt
Tom Wyatt
98 Ratings

The latest conversations about Teachers

Join the conversation on

Teachers

1y

a 

West Virginia Elementary School Teacher

Who is taking the COVID-19 Shot? Do you think all teachers should?

2,931

974 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "The people are great and committed(in 13 reviews)
  • "Good benefits for the employees(in 9 reviews)
  • "This company has an amazing opportunity to make a positive impact on hundreds of thousands of lives, and wastes it.(in 5 reviews)
  • "Staff are friendly and easy to work with.(in 4 reviews)
  • "•Some former colleagues are empathetic and are hopeful things will improve.(in 4 reviews)
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    District Mgr.

    Sep 27, 2016 - District Manager in Columbia, MD
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved the relationships and Team building. Hard but, rewarding work.

    Cons

    Competing priorities and turn over in upper management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Fun Job

    Jul 6, 2020 - Lead Teacher in Saint Paul, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I loved teaching preschool! Fun Job, had some great coworkers that were always willing to help you out.

    Cons

    Fun Job but could be stressful at times. Over Ratios at times not getting supplies for classroom projects. Also found that Management was hiring people with no experience making more money than people with many years experience at this location. Didn’t always feel valued.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Just...BAD

    May 19, 2020 - Enrichment Specialist in Newark, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - some teachers are really dedicated and really care about the kids, literally the only thing that keeps the day half-way manageable

    Cons

    - the LEAST amount of holidays off - terrible management (center director and regional director) - treat kids as dollar signs - parents hold all the power, even when they are wrong action is taken on the staff - NO PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT (the PD days were a JOKE, just reinforcing the company culture of faking it til you make it, no actual training) - when kids act out violently against teachers, nothing is done - but teachers are blamed when kids hurt other kids - CHAOTIC environment - NO DOORS/FULL WALLS on most classrooms - LONG HOURS sometimes without breaks (illegally) - class sizes packed to capacity, often going over ratio requirements

    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Knowledge Universe

    Dec 10, 2015 - Lead Pre-k Teacher in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros are being able to make a difference in the children's lives. Even the ones that disrespect the teachers in many ways. Being able to relate to parents, because I am parent myself. Being able to work with great staff. Even though working with all females can be hard sometimes!

    Cons

    I don't understand why the company waste soo much money on things that is not useful. Someone said it early, how much money was wasted on the red glasses at PDD. The company just rolled out CarTalk...what is the purpose of this, when we do it anyway through communication, individual family communication sheets and What We Learn Today? How much money was spent on that. Curriculum hasn't changed much. I feel like we talk about the same things over and over again. Where are the art projects in the KU curriculum? Parents are paying a lot of money to have things done redundantly , especially if they have a bother or sister. Honestly, parents bring their children here because of the staff. Word of mouth about how this teacher does this or that teacher does that. Its not about curriculum, it is about the staff and how they implement things. Speaking of staff...let's just say the company needs to do a better job taking care of their staff. The PDD events can be a little different every year. I just read by the end of 2015, KU will be worth 39 BILLION.. Soooooo......

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    If this were a marriage, I'd be filing for divorce

    Jul 24, 2012 - IT Department in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Still a good group of talented, professional people. At the functional levels co-workers are fun and productive to work with; people are still committed to their jobs and doing what's right for the organization. Pretty good work/life balance. We can still be proud of what we do, and the children and families who are our customers.

    Cons

    Going on on 4+ years with no raises and no bonuses, mediocre benefits, poor mid-level management, hypocritical corporate culture and values -- it is not the caring, respectful, positive, and enlighten organization that they like to talk about in the interviews. Note: The relatively new CEO, Tom Wyatt, is a complete and refreshing change from the previous two regimes of senior executive management, which were horrible and incompetent, and he is beginning to get some traction on changing the organization and the culture for the better -- so, hopefully optimistic.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Unstable

    Sep 30, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Littleton, CO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    When I first started it was a great working environment. I loved the people I worked with. It was fun. We felt like we were making a difference in the lives of children

    Cons

    Leadership changes the direction every 6 months. They continually change the mission and charter statements. How can you see if the direction they've chosen will make a difference if they change it 6 months later? They lay off, they hire, they lay off again. My last manager went into my time card and deleted my overtime because I was over 40 hours. Very illegal! But all she cared about was budget. There were other ways it could have been handled like reducing my vacation time. You can't just remove time I've worked! So, also unethical. And how many thousands of dollars did they spend on that employee engagement survey? They told us we'd have a say and be able to voice our opinions. They built it up so much, for so many months. When we finally took it, it was a joke! There were no places to voice our opinions or have our say. Who cares if we have a best friend at work? I will never have a "best friend" at work. Does "someone" at work care about you? Sure, I'm sure that someone in these 80 people care about me! What a waste of time and money! I'm sure result have improved as you've laid off so many people!

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work and feel like I'm making a difference

    Apr 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Management makes me feel like I am a valuable asset to the company. I'm encouraged to seek educational opportunities and become a better employee. The work environment is great, laid back but everyone gets their work done. Employees take pride in their work and it shows across the board from the field to the National Support Center. Tom Wyatt has taken casual Friday to casual Monday through Friday and it makes for a comfortable environment that is conducive to productivity. Management takes an interest in their employees and strives to make the work environment a healthy place to be. Random Acts of Kindness week was amazing!! You don't see that in many companies. Encouraging service values in all areas of the company makes this a great place to work.

    Cons

    Benefits are expensive and coverage isn't up to the average given by other employers. Mail order prescription benefits for maintenance medication is not a good plan. Overall this is a minor con compared to all the positive aspects of working for a great company

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    A very busy work environment

    Jul 3, 2020 - Operations in Folsom, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Full time schedule is encouraged/necessary

    Cons

    Lack of cooperativeness from other departments

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great company!

    Sep 6, 2015 - Teacher in Katy, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It is a very fun, warm, and exciting environment working with children and all the teachers there. Benefits are great and management really takes care of their employees. It is a new world everyday with kids! They are so loving and that is the best part about this job. Another pro is that this company is all over the USA so you can relocate anywhere and just transfer! It's great to know that I can impact the lives of hundreds of thousands of children while working here.

    Cons

    Working with small children is exhausting and you will need the energy, but it is worth it! Being a student and a teacher, it is difficult to work part-time in this company especially if you are a lead teacher. Overtime is very hard to get approved but so very much needed with all the work you need to get done.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Teacher (PreK, School Age, Preschool)

    Jun 4, 2014 - Lead Teacher in Portland, OR
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Loved the employees, families and center director, which made working for KinderCare tolerable.

    Cons

    I was actually excited to work with the company and to soon teach and interact with kids. However I quickly realized how revenue obsessed this company is. I get it, you have to make money to survive. However, the financial boundary we had to work with was borderline insane. How can you give kids quality interaction when labor hours were literally enforced down to the bone? But as soon as our center had amazing teachers, the parents noticed this and kept their children enrolled (hey that's great). At the same time, our classroom received more new children and we were actually maxed out in every room. Teachers were stressed out, burnt out and it turned into daycare rather a school atmosphere. I feel terrible for the incredible teachers that will soon be leaving because they cannot deal with the lack of support, labor hours and funds from the corporate office. Bottom line, NO EDUCATION company teaching young children should be for-profit, which KU is. And if you do a good job and your classroom stays filled, you aren't rewarded, of course besides the positive interactions with kids. Period. It truly is the fast food of education. Teachers, get jobs at independent or privately owned schools. Parents, NEVER enroll your children in a crowded classroom when you tour.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 217 Reviews

Knowledge Universe Reviews FAQs

Knowledge Universe has an overall rating of 2.6 out of 5, based on over 225 reviews left anonymously by employees. 34% of employees would recommend working at Knowledge Universe to a friend and 28% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Knowledge Universe employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.8 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Knowledge Universe. This rating has been stable over the past 12 months.

34% of Knowledge Universe employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Knowledge Universe 2.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 2.7 for culture and values and 2.6 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Knowledge Universe to be coworkers and the cons to be benefits, senior leadership, career development.

Work at Knowledge Universe? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

Knowledge Universe Photos

+ Add Photo
Knowledge Universe photo of: Learn
Knowledge Universe photo of: A smiling face is a great reason to get to work early.
Knowledge Universe photo of: Our children are our inspiration.
Knowledge Universe photo of: This is why we love what we do.
Knowledge Universe photo of: Wei-Li Chong, EVP of People and Operations
Knowledge Universe photo of: Annual training for our Field Management Teams
Knowledge Universe photo of: VP of Quality and Accreditation, Kathie Boe visits a KinderCare classroom.
See All Photos

Affiliated Companies

KinderCare Learning Centers LLCChildren's Creative Learning CentersChampions Before- and After-School Programs
Knowledge Beginnings, Inc.KinderCare Learning Companies, Inc.

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Knowledge Universe Job Seekers Also Viewed

KinderCare Learning Centers Logo
KinderCare Learning Centers

3.0

2,780 Reviews
Compare