Knowledge Universe Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 217 of over 224 reviews

2.6
34%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Knowledge Universe CEO Tom Wyatt
Tom Wyatt
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "The company is absolutely united in the mission to serve children and families across the country(in 11 reviews)

  • "A lot of people stay for the child care discount(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Competing priorities and turn over in upper management(in 12 reviews)

  • "NSC doesn't realize the stress on Center Directors(in 8 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      District Mgr.

      Sep 27, 2016 - District Manager in Columbia, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Loved the relationships and Team building. Hard but, rewarding work.

      Cons

      Competing priorities and turn over in upper management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Fun Job

      Jul 6, 2020 - Lead Teacher in Saint Paul, MN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I loved teaching preschool! Fun Job, had some great coworkers that were always willing to help you out.

      Cons

      Fun Job but could be stressful at times. Over Ratios at times not getting supplies for classroom projects. Also found that Management was hiring people with no experience making more money than people with many years experience at this location. Didn’t always feel valued.

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Just...BAD

      May 19, 2020 - Enrichment Specialist in Newark, NJ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - some teachers are really dedicated and really care about the kids, literally the only thing that keeps the day half-way manageable

      Cons

      - the LEAST amount of holidays off - terrible management (center director and regional director) - treat kids as dollar signs - parents hold all the power, even when they are wrong action is taken on the staff - NO PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT (the PD days were a JOKE, just reinforcing the company culture of faking it til you make it, no actual training) - when kids act out violently against teachers, nothing is done - but teachers are blamed when kids hurt other kids - CHAOTIC environment - NO DOORS/FULL WALLS on most classrooms - LONG HOURS sometimes without breaks (illegally) - class sizes packed to capacity, often going over ratio requirements

      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A very busy work environment

      Jul 3, 2020 - Operations in Folsom, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Full time schedule is encouraged/necessary

      Cons

      Lack of cooperativeness from other departments

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good step up when exiting college

      Apr 22, 2019 - Assistant Program Director in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job security, no weekends ever, possible to get good mentorship

      Cons

      Low pay, high turnover, sometimes Asked to not keep legal ratios and food regulations

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Knowledge Universe

      Dec 10, 2015 - Lead Pre-k Teacher in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pros are being able to make a difference in the children's lives. Even the ones that disrespect the teachers in many ways. Being able to relate to parents, because I am parent myself. Being able to work with great staff. Even though working with all females can be hard sometimes!

      Cons

      I don't understand why the company waste soo much money on things that is not useful. Someone said it early, how much money was wasted on the red glasses at PDD. The company just rolled out CarTalk...what is the purpose of this, when we do it anyway through communication, individual family communication sheets and What We Learn Today? How much money was spent on that. Curriculum hasn't changed much. I feel like we talk about the same things over and over again. Where are the art projects in the KU curriculum? Parents are paying a lot of money to have things done redundantly , especially if they have a bother or sister. Honestly, parents bring their children here because of the staff. Word of mouth about how this teacher does this or that teacher does that. Its not about curriculum, it is about the staff and how they implement things. Speaking of staff...let's just say the company needs to do a better job taking care of their staff. The PDD events can be a little different every year. I just read by the end of 2015, KU will be worth 39 BILLION.. Soooooo......

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      If this were a marriage, I'd be filing for divorce

      Jul 24, 2012 - IT Department in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Still a good group of talented, professional people. At the functional levels co-workers are fun and productive to work with; people are still committed to their jobs and doing what's right for the organization. Pretty good work/life balance. We can still be proud of what we do, and the children and families who are our customers.

      Cons

      Going on on 4+ years with no raises and no bonuses, mediocre benefits, poor mid-level management, hypocritical corporate culture and values -- it is not the caring, respectful, positive, and enlighten organization that they like to talk about in the interviews. Note: The relatively new CEO, Tom Wyatt, is a complete and refreshing change from the previous two regimes of senior executive management, which were horrible and incompetent, and he is beginning to get some traction on changing the organization and the culture for the better -- so, hopefully optimistic.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Unstable

      Sep 30, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Littleton, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When I first started it was a great working environment. I loved the people I worked with. It was fun. We felt like we were making a difference in the lives of children

      Cons

      Leadership changes the direction every 6 months. They continually change the mission and charter statements. How can you see if the direction they've chosen will make a difference if they change it 6 months later? They lay off, they hire, they lay off again. My last manager went into my time card and deleted my overtime because I was over 40 hours. Very illegal! But all she cared about was budget. There were other ways it could have been handled like reducing my vacation time. You can't just remove time I've worked! So, also unethical. And how many thousands of dollars did they spend on that employee engagement survey? They told us we'd have a say and be able to voice our opinions. They built it up so much, for so many months. When we finally took it, it was a joke! There were no places to voice our opinions or have our say. Who cares if we have a best friend at work? I will never have a "best friend" at work. Does "someone" at work care about you? Sure, I'm sure that someone in these 80 people care about me! What a waste of time and money! I'm sure result have improved as you've laid off so many people!

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work and feel like I'm making a difference

      Apr 13, 2015 - Anonymous Employee in Portland, OR
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Management makes me feel like I am a valuable asset to the company. I'm encouraged to seek educational opportunities and become a better employee. The work environment is great, laid back but everyone gets their work done. Employees take pride in their work and it shows across the board from the field to the National Support Center. Tom Wyatt has taken casual Friday to casual Monday through Friday and it makes for a comfortable environment that is conducive to productivity. Management takes an interest in their employees and strives to make the work environment a healthy place to be. Random Acts of Kindness week was amazing!! You don't see that in many companies. Encouraging service values in all areas of the company makes this a great place to work.

      Cons

      Benefits are expensive and coverage isn't up to the average given by other employers. Mail order prescription benefits for maintenance medication is not a good plan. Overall this is a minor con compared to all the positive aspects of working for a great company

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great company!

      Sep 6, 2015 - Teacher in Katy, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a very fun, warm, and exciting environment working with children and all the teachers there. Benefits are great and management really takes care of their employees. It is a new world everyday with kids! They are so loving and that is the best part about this job. Another pro is that this company is all over the USA so you can relocate anywhere and just transfer! It's great to know that I can impact the lives of hundreds of thousands of children while working here.

      Cons

      Working with small children is exhausting and you will need the energy, but it is worth it! Being a student and a teacher, it is difficult to work part-time in this company especially if you are a lead teacher. Overtime is very hard to get approved but so very much needed with all the work you need to get done.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 217 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Knowledge Universe Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Knowledge Universe? Share Your Experiences

    Knowledge Universe logo
    or