Knoxville Utilities Board Reviews | Glassdoor

Knoxville Utilities Board Reviews

Updated Sep 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 25 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
69%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Knoxville Utilities Board CEO Gabriel J. Bolas II (no image)
Gabriel J. Bolas II
3 Ratings
  1. "Anything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Business Management 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knoxville Utilities Board full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to working

    Cons

    Nothing, good place to work

    Continue reading
    Knoxville Utilities Board2019-08-24
  2. "Good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knoxville Utilities Board full-time

    Pros

    Great people and work environment.

    Cons

    Low salary and benefits are similar to to any firm.

    Knoxville Utilities Board2019-09-12
  3. "Good Opportunity for Full-Time Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Student in Knoxville, TN
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knoxville Utilities Board part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great position for full-time students that are able to work between 15-29 hours a week. They work great with your school schedule and understand that school comes first. I work with the Workforce Planning team and we have PFP's. This allows me to set goals for myself and lets them know what I want to learn more about, not only in recruiting, but with other teams as well (Compensation, Benefits, Training and Development and Wellness). This position is available to students until their graduation date if they are meeting the requirements of the student program and doing their responsibilities well. Also, gives the students a better opportunity to get in the door with a full-time job if they do well and if a position is open.

    Cons

    A full-time position is not always available to you after you graduate. There is no organized plan for the development of a student. If you want to learn something new or get exposed to something you must let them know clearly.

    Continue reading
    Knoxville Utilities Board2019-03-26
  4. "Solid Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Knoxville Utilities Board full-time

    Pros

    Good for someone looking for stability and consistency.

    Cons

    Not a huge amount of opportunity for job growth due to longer term employee staying in jobs.

    Knoxville Utilities Board2018-08-24
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knoxville Utilities Board full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Strong senior leadership -Ethical employer that believes in taking care of its employees and serving its customers -Coworkers are like family -Strong safety culture

    Cons

    -Nothing that I can think of

    Knoxville Utilities Board2018-07-30
  6. "Discrimination / Lies about EEOC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Knoxville Utilities Board full-time

    Pros

    None of these are Pros

    Cons

    KUB is not friendly with disabled. Advertising for EEOC and they don’t hire anyone who is disabled more than 12 years. If you are disabled/ disabled veterans. Do not waste your time to apply any jobs with KUB.

    Knoxville Utilities Board2018-08-12
  7. "Electrical Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Knoxville Utilities Board part-time

    Pros

    -Really worked with school schedule to get hours in -Freedom to go out in the field and not be stuck at the desk all day -They put a HUGE emphasis on safety

    Cons

    -Management definitely has favorites -Not much training -Took me a few weeks to figure out what I was doing, and when I finally did, no one really showed me the proper way to do the job -Pay is relatively low compared to other internships around Knoxville -Everyone has a different idea of what the "standards" are for the drawings and designs, which means the drawings can look completely different depending on who is checking the work -Most of the job was sitting around and waiting for other people to get back with you

    Continue reading
    Knoxville Utilities Board2018-06-24
  8. "Student Worker: Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Knoxville Utilities Board part-time

    Pros

    The people are really friendly Good pay Very Flexible with School Work

    Cons

    Hard to move up, you must brown nose

    Knoxville Utilities Board2017-09-28
  9. "Business Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knoxville Utilities Board full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stability, Family Atmosphere, Benefits, Competitive Pay

    Cons

    Some Micromanagement, Reactive, Hesitant to Change

    Continue reading
    Knoxville Utilities Board2017-08-07
  10. "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Knoxville Utilities Board full-time

    Pros

    Job Security and Benefits could be better

    Cons

    The pay is a bit low

    Continue reading
    Knoxville Utilities Board2017-08-21
Found 25 reviews