Kobie Marketing "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Kobie Marketing Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
57%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Kobie Marketing CEO Bram Hechtkopf
Bram Hechtkopf
61 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some disconnection between departments and some transitional "growing pains"(in 9 reviews)

  • "We have managers to manage managers and no one seems to manage anything(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Kobie overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kobie Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Best work life balance I've ever had, and work from home options, casual dress with jeans, friendly staff and enjoy who I work with. Kobie has fun events with happy hours, holiday party, activities, training and development if you make it a priority, good culture. There has been a new president in 2019 and she is making positive improvements! I'm not going to list pros and cons of specific jobs because all roles... are different. Ask that yourself if you are interviewing, make sure you like the responsibilities listed, and if you are here then have open communication with your manager on things you like or don't or want. Kobie is willing to work with you (but it can be a challenge) if you do a good job, show interest and initiative - push, put in the extra mile, are a positive person.

    Show More

    Cons

    Lack of communication from cross-departments. Poor recruiting. Do not rely on a bonus.

    Kobie Marketing2019-06-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "A Lot of Opportunities are Available"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kobie Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Kobie Marketing isn't perfect, and by no means is it polished, but therein lies the opportunities. Kobie understands what it needs to do and move towards, and the opportunities that are available to teammates are endless in terms of getting there. If you want to take on challenging assignments and learn from them, Kobie Marketing provides that. This was actually my main reason for coming to Kobie, as there's a lot... that can be done to improve Kobie. Perhaps if you're set in your ways and are resistant to change, you wouldn't last here. - Work Life balance is as competitive as it gets. As long as you're getting quality work done, there's no problem in regards to you working from 'home' even though you may be in the Bahamas. - Whenever a new opportunity arises, it can be fun seeing the overwhelming positive energy everyone pours into it, such as a potential new client or a fundraising event.

    Show More

    Cons

    - Sometimes it feels like there isn't nearly enough being done to address internal issues and inefficiencies. There is a lot that needs to be fixed and optimized within our internal systems and databases. - Different information lives in different places and systems without any cohesiveness in how they're presented. - There's still more work that needs to be done in transitioning from a 'talking' culture to... a 'doing' culture. We're great at identifying our problems, but the time spent in identifying the problems are wasted if we can't consistently create an action plan that everyone can get behind.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Senior leadership, keep up the great work in receiving feedback and taking it to heart. - Perhaps look into acquiring an business systems analyst and/or an organizational analyst to help set up parameters on what workflows should look like, how organizational structure is managed, etc.

    Kobie Marketing2019-11-21
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Stuck in the Past"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kobie Marketing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    If you want a job with flexible work/life balance this is your place Efforts are made to make day to day work life nice like free food/etc. The office is nice with good views and downtown location Really great people who bond over the outrageous culture Some teams operate really well

    Cons

    Not a "Client first" mentality which causes it to be hard to produce anything truly remarkable for a client Dismissive of new ideas/thoughts/strategies Traditional, unengaged CEO, who you will hear and see but he won't take on tough matters or get into the thick of it with anyone below "leadership" CEO will only truly listen to certain people but he will sit and amuse you Hard to have a long-term career here... without someone to protect you from "Leadership." Truly a chess match on who to align/associate yourself with in any given situation and this tends to matter MUCH more than the work produced If you are young in your career, you will not find coaching easily, the ones that try really hard to coach you have other motives

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You could have something great with Kobie and great people are still there and continue to walk through your doors but certain leadership who actually state to other co-workers, "They have the CEO's ear" or that "they can convince him", are the cancer that consistently kills culture and innovation. Tenure has it benefits, no doubt, but this "leadership" style is the reason why so many amazing people have left and... why Kobie keeps falling in its industry status. Some people within the company have amazing ideas and passion but they are consistently dismissed by leadership or someone from the outside is hired as "smarter" than them. My personal favorite, used by almost everyone in leadership, is when you have an idea and present it, you just get talked AT for a hour as if they are enlightening you but really they are completely off topic, they mentioned their resume WAY too many times, and in the end you are so confused and frustrated that you would rather just give up than ask a question and elongate the torture. So in the end they think they accomplished something when in reality they killed passion and innovation by not listening and dismissing it. Companies will continue to surpass Kobie as the people they "trust" most keep Kobie in the dark ages. Look at everyone as potential leaders and not just the ones that TALK, I mean just talk, about it.

    Show More
    Kobie Marketing2019-05-18
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kobie Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of latitude to work independent Great Culture Nice work-life balance

    Cons

    Overcoming some communication silos, but that's pretty standard everywhere.

    Advice to Management

    The company has undergone a strategic realignment over the past year. Senior management has done a good job laying our the vision and where the company is today on that plan. Stay the course! I'm very excited about the future here.

    Kobie Marketing2019-02-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Lead in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kobie Marketing for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a good work life balance

    Cons

    Compared to other companies bad pay.

    Kobie Marketing2019-01-03
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Java Developer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kobie Marketing full-time

    Pros

    There is good work/life balance

    Cons

    Low pay for positions. Unclear requirements for advancement.

    Kobie Marketing2018-09-18
  7. Helpful (6)

    "Practice Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Practice Lead in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kobie Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Open management, amazing weather from the HQ in location in FL, and entrepreneurial culture. Kobie has many different groups within the company so your experience can change as you move through departments and take on new roles. The CEO and management seem to genuinely care about employee happiness and work life balance. Our monthly KPIs have moved from the old days of profit, growth, and revenue to the current... focus on life balance, process improvement, and turnover.

    Show More

    Cons

    The area has a laid back culture which can clash with the aggressive nature of marketing agency growth... Especially when Kobie competes with top companies out of NY, Minneapolis, SFO, Dallas, etc. The industry is undergoing seismic shifts from predictable data processing to full service experience management. Anyone working in this space needs to be able to roll with the changes or they might find themselves... frustrated. Some other reviews talk of growing pains, but these are nothing compared to what I've witnessed other companies go through. Those types of reviews aren't helpful and create a false notion of chaos. It's just not the case.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Kobie's handling growth pretty well. I've been through growth and reductions in other companies. In its past, Kobie has been very collaborative and wide open with employees as it changes and grows. It might be getting too big to try and make everyone happy with every change. To solve for some of this...Kobie has been upping pay and benefits, hiring faster, even more time off. I recommend that Kobie keeps focusing... on what's best for the clients and prioritize those activities and structural changes - you can't lose that way. Employees are happiest when they see successful and quality work and can be proud of what they've accomplished... Far beyond salary and benefits (but we're happy about that too!). I definitely think there are great career opportunities for employees at Kobie when you're entrepreneurial and have a passion for your area. Given the large numbers of new hires (now and in the future), Kobie can do well to serve the others though with a more developed and consistent career paths. Overall. I give it high ranks and despite the opportunities to improve, I consider Kobie the best place I've ever worked. We don't have the mass seasonal lay offs that most agencies face, the CEO is connected, and management is openly working though the issues they find out about.

    Show More
    Kobie Marketing2016-05-07
  8. "Enjoy coming to work every day!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kobie Marketing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company is growing steadily and is the leader in the loyalty marketing industry. Awesome culture that is rare to find in other organizations! Not your typical corporate/red tape environment. Positive, fun, friendly employees that are experts at what they do. Work/life balance. In the heart of downtown St. Petersburg, FL. Many opportunities for internal growth and leaders care about their employees. Fun work events... throughout the year!

    Show More

    Cons

    None! Out of the four other organizations I have worked for, Kobie has an ideal work environment and culture

    Advice to Management

    Continue doing what you're doing!

    Kobie Marketing2013-12-03
  9. Helpful (15)

    "I recommend looking elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Kobie Marketing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not a sweatshop. Good options for lunch in downtown St. Petersburg. Good people to work with save a few. Flexible hours. Work/Life balance.

    Cons

    Two weeks notice required but cut down to one so you only get paid for one week. Poor management communication. High turnover. Lack of office space. A lot of open source. Time your departure appropriately because calendar year bonus will be denied if you leave before payout date. The 401k match is substandard. Below market salaries.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your people the bonuses you say they've earned even if they leave. The annual review process is a fiasco at best. Increase you 401k match. Check your salaries against market.

    Kobie Marketing2013-03-17
Found 9 reviews