KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Koch Industries

Engaged Employer

Koch Industries

Add a Review

Koch Industries Employee Reviews about "work environment"

Updated Dec 23, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 39 of over 1K reviews

3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Koch Industries Chairman and CEO Charles G. Koch
Charles G. Koch
494 Ratings
Pros
  • "Relaxed work environment and nice office(in 39 reviews)

  • "The company culture is incredible; a great place to work and grow your career with a bunch of really nice co-workers(in 36 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work / life balance can be improved especially during big projects(in 40 reviews)

  • "Headquarters located in Wichita Kansas(in 36 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Koch Industries and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work environment"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Company - Great Values

      Dec 11, 2020 - Technical Support Specialist in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed Work Environment Family Centric Plenty Of Room To Learn And Advance Nice People Decent Affordable Benefits

      Cons

      Pay is lower than expected

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Progammer

      Dec 23, 2020 - Programmer Analyst in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Relaxed work environment and nice office

      Cons

      Quiet and not much social interaction

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Work hard in good company

      Jan 7, 2020 - Communications in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Collaborative environment: My team relies heavily on sharing knowledge with other departments and businesses, and the ability to work with other teams and learn new processes has been a highlight of my time here. - Flexible work environment: This is contingent on the team you are a part of and how your supervisor operates, but my experience has been positive in terms of flexibility. We are allowed to work remotely as necessary, and are provided with the tools to communicate easily with teams in different locations. - Consistent feedback: There are lots of opportunities to receive feedback on various projects, and there's a push to give feedback to others as it arises instead of holding it for an annual/bi-annual review. This has been beneficial to my own career development as it provides the opportunity to adjust as needed while working on projects, instead of after they are completed.

      Cons

      - It is a hard-working culture, which can lend to long hours on occasion. Though in my experience, this has been more the exception than the expectation.

      1 person found this review helpful

      Koch Industries Response

      Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Hello, this is Molly from Talent Solutions and I wanted to thank you for taking the time and writing a review to share your experience overall. I have to agree, the collaborative teams and consistent feedback allow for a great environment to grow personally and professionally. It is great to hear and please know that I am passing this on to the appropriate leadership team as feedback. Thank you again!

    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company, has potential for greatness.

      Nov 9, 2019 - Transportation Planner in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive pay and benefits. Fun work environment.

      Cons

      Only allowed to work remotely 2 days a month. Some managers make exceptions to this, others will not. Some allow multiple people from the same team to work remotely on the same day, others only allow 1 person (good luck getting a Friday).

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Koch Industries Response

      Branding & Marketing Talent Acquisition Specialist

      Hi, this is Molly from Talent Solutions and I wanted to first thank you for all of your hard work and for your feedback in this review. We continually evaluate and review what can help make us not only a competitive choice in the employer market, but what also helps make our employees fulfilled and excited to work for us. We appreciate this feedback and I want you to know that I am passing this along to the appropriate leadership team as opportunities forward. Thank you again!

    5. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      VERY DISAPPOINTED DREAM TURNED NIGHTMARE

      May 17, 2019 - IT Service Desk Specialist in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good food, decent training, and a open work environment.

      Cons

      Leadership is lazy do not adhere to the MBM principles. Those same principles are culted upon you in training. Leadership was never there and a very biased group of individuals. The open source metric reporting system laid a platform for them to practice biased behaviors upon the specialists. The worst "leaders" I have ever had in my life and career. My upper management knew nothing about technology only pretended they did, Charles Koch pays them to care, politics at its finest. The department was very racist against minorities as well. My grievance resulted in my ultimate "Same day separation". Which is why I feared to report any wrongdoing of management/peers in the first place.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful

      Koch Industries Response

      Social Media Manager

      We are sorry to hear about your experience and hope you have found a more fulfilling opportunity. Our Market-Based Management® business philosophy is intended to help establish a shared vision and consistent culture for all employees at Koch companies. We encourage team members to call our anonymous line or speak with their HR leader to communicate concerns. This can help us respond more quickly if there are situations where our principles are not being applied appropriately.

    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great culture, great benefits, good compensation. Amazing career opportunities and resources.

      Apr 29, 2019 - Plant Accountant in Wichita, KS
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, good pay, enjoyable work environment, amazing benefits package

      Cons

      Little flexibility on work schedules and/or working remotely,

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee

      kbx

      Apr 23, 2019 - Logistics Service Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      fun atmosphere, modern work environment

      Cons

      can be high paced, high stress

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great People to Work With

      Dec 13, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They have truly hired some incredible people to work with. They have a true care and concern for keeping the work environment peaceful and positive. They are not unnecessarily strict about asinine work rules. The hiring process is a little long, for good reason. They also promote flexibility and have a concern for your personal life events.

      Cons

      The opportunity for advancement is more socially based than skill based.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      IT Supervisor

      Aug 10, 2015 - IT Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My experience has been there is great opportunities in the Koch companies to move laterally and take on additional responsibilities. The work is rewarding from a sense of accomplishment (fulfillment) but can be overwhelming that times with the amount of work. The work environment is professional and respectful. Integrity is a top priority for anyone and is essential for the business to exist. Company is financial responsible because it is focused on economic long term value.

      Cons

      Onboarding resources takes too long to keep pace with the market. Decisions making while thorough, take too long and will eventually put the business at a disadvantage in the market has other businesses progressing more quickly. Financial rewards are earned through very hard work and at times seen unattainable. This has proven to be a challenge when trying to retain good employees that are meeting expectations has they tend to stay in the lower end of the market and have a large number of alternatives in the Market. Understanding the compensation philosophy is key to having the right mindset but difficult for most employees to accept.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Former Employee

      Average but could be so much more

      Jun 26, 2011 -  in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Very stable work environment with low turnover. The parent company is nearly immune to economic cycles. -Very experienced senior traders. -Excellent hours and flexibility. Perfect if you have children. The extremely flexible vacation policy is the best I have seen. -If you are senior you can make more money than nearly anywhere else I know off.

      Cons

      -Suffocating risk management. It takes too long to get trading permissions and you are not compensated for opportunity cost while you wait. This is actually a major competitive disadvantage. -Poor/below market compensation with very slow reviews of same if you are not a senior trader. -No accountability. Some people have been tenured so long that they are paid even if they lose money. Turnover is a little too low. -Growth opportunities are driven more by your political skills with senior traders than any requirement of competence. -Overemphasis on ownership's political views. -Very understaffed with analysts and IT support. If you are a trader, expect to do a lot of things yourself.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 39 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Koch Industries Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Koch Industries? Share Your Experiences

    or