Kohl's Reviews | Glassdoor

Kohl's Reviews

Updated Jun 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 9273 reviews

3.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
425 Ratings
Pros
  • "Kept busy so time went by fast; generally friendly co-workers; management was good at recognizing a job well done; employee discount(in 670 reviews)

  • "Flexible schedule, advancement potential if interested(in 493 reviews)

Cons
  • "Management really pushes you to get people sign up for Kohl's credit card which isn't always the easiest thing you do(in 436 reviews)

  • "Low part time hours due to location with declining sales(in 337 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Live a Life You Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loss Prevention Manager in San Bernardino, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Kohl's provides a challenging position, that allows me to maintain a proper work life balance. The vision set forth by our leadership group is inspiring and gets my buy in. Most companies talk about putting their customers first, but I feel that Kohl's lives that idea in all functions. Our Kohl's Cares initiatives gives me the opportunity to give back to the community in a fun and useful format. I wish I would have...

    Show More

    Cons

    The one drawback I have come across since working here, is quite simple. I wish there were more positions to bring in some of my former colleagues in to the fold, as I know they would enjoy the same experiences I have here.

    Kohl's2019-06-05
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 

      I have been working at Kohl's part-time

      Pros

      I love working at Kohl's! It is a great work community to be a part of because everyone interacts with one another

      Cons

      Training was not 100% efficient but you'll learn as you go

      Kohl's2019-03-18
    • "Pretty good"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - POS Associate/Cashier in Ellicott City, MD
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The associates you work with are fun but can also be mature when the store gets busy

      Cons

      No real cons except for a customer every once and a while

      Kohl's2019-06-15
    • "Great overall company- store cultures can be toxic however"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Area Supervisor in Herndon, VA
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      For a mass retailer, this company is great. They have good benefits, 401k, medical, dental, vision and even a lawyer service. You can have a flexible schedule *as far as retail goes*

      Cons

      The store cultures can be toxic. Some of the workers have been there for decades and are inflexible and resistant to change. Some will never be more than the titles they have now, so they will actively seek to exclude you from pertinent store information as well as create division among the employees and management.

      Advice to Management

      Being a great place to work for retail employees is beneficial, however, with the changes in the company, the partnership with amazon and scaling back floor crew, you’re either going to have to promote floor supervisors or get rid of them entirely to support the future of kohl’s. Also, for sales supervisors, enhanced mandatory training, time to plan work flows, a clear HR reference guide and an hour extra after closing...

      Show More
      Kohl's2019-06-15
    • "Excellent"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Bagger in New Albany, IN
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Gained customer experience and group work experience.

      Cons

      None, I was content with my pay and experience.

      Advice to Management

      None

      Kohl's2019-06-14
    • "Fantastic Retailer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Assistant Store Manager in Huntington Beach, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Competitive Pay Vacation Time/PTO Training Support Development With any big box retailer work loads will not be for the faint of heart. This company really tested my knowledge and I've gained invaluable experience in my time here. The Southern California market is incredibly intense and every store has its own methods to serving it's people and customers. If you're looking to learn alot in a short amount of time,...

      Show More

      Cons

      Very long hours Retail is tough

      Advice to Management

      Your people are the most important part of the orginazation. Without them there is nothing stopping customers from shopping at the competitors.

      Kohl's2019-06-14
    • "Great company with solid results and promising future"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Senior Manager in Menomonee Falls, WI
      Recommends
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      One of best companies in retail.

      Cons

      Did not groom for senior management roles. Had to hire from outside to fill senior management.

      Kohl's2019-06-13
    • "Overall nice experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Associate 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Great co-workers and nice managers.

      Cons

      Not enough staffs when it gets really busy, sometimes no hours , not able to find certain items even though the bluebird states we have on hand or only one available.

      Kohl's2019-06-13
    • "Great Place to Work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Product Development Coordinator in Menomonee Falls, WI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Great culture, Inclusive, Fun, Innovative, Passionate people

      Cons

      Competitive, repetitive, tons of work, long hours, most people don't take lunch

      Advice to Management

      Continue pushing innovation but remember that some people don't constantly need development pushed on them and can be happy with where they're at for a little bit

      Kohl's2019-06-13
    • "good environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate 

        I have been working at Kohl's part-time

        Pros

        easy job good hours nice colleges

        Cons

        non that I can see

        Kohl's2019-06-11
      Found 9273 reviews