Kohl's Reviews | Glassdoor

Kohl's Reviews

Updated Dec 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
62%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
590 Ratings
  1. "Lots of hours but low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Point of Sale Associate in Troy, MI

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    During the holiday season, there are tons of hours.

    Cons

    Sometimes you feel overworked. There is also a large push to sign customers up for a store charge card.

    Kohl's2019-12-10
  2. "Just a part-time job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Associate in Cartersville, GA

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most customers were pleasant if you got their needs taken care of quick enough

    Cons

    People could be unnecessarily rude, so you have to keep a thick skin

    Kohl's2019-12-11
  3. "Great Coworkers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in North Riverside, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule and values communication

    Cons

    The location is very busy during the holiday season.

    Kohl's2019-11-25
  4. "Very poor recognition."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Calm at times but not many.

    Cons

    Low pay, no full time.

    Kohl's2019-12-10
  5. "The managers are really good, the base pay is great for the area, and the training is super easy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, good job for if you're in school or just looking for some part time work. Good starting pay, good managers, great employee discounts, great hours for the holiday season.

    Cons

    You're on your feet for long stretches of time, you occasionally have to stay after to finish things, you're required to work 8 hour shifts om Thanksgiving and Black Friday

    Advice to Management

    Pretty much nothing, if I have some kind of issue or problem with something I'm able to bring it to you directly and get it worked out.

    Kohl's2019-11-23
  6. "Underpaid and overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive environment, got a decent amount of hours every week

    Cons

    Management stresses getting people to sign up for the credit card

    Kohl's2019-12-06
  7. "Great first job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Meeting new people The discounts!! Vision and dental insurance for part time Fairly decent work environment

    Cons

    it’s difficult to get weekends off everything is all about credit and surveys employees are not valued credit incentives are insulting ($.50 per credit app you get)

    Advice to Management

    treat employees like people and stop harassing them over credit and surveys. stop playing favorites and hire or promote people who can actually do their job.

    Kohl's2019-12-07
  8. "Too many cons"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Just a seasonal position .

    Kohl's2019-12-07
  9. "Politics Everywhere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Digital Project Manager in Milwaukee, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good WLB, Benefits, Child card on campus - Discounts on products, Great cafeteria, Most teams are easy to work with

    Cons

    - Too much segmentation of leadership within IT functions (tech vs Strategy vs Omni vs Digital) - End of working on priorities which are actually just making decks for leaders because they have meetings with SVP/CIO/COO

    Kohl's2019-11-21
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Fun, Fast Pace, Always differnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Omni/Replenishment Associate in Mechanicsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Always room to grow and learn new things. Very fast pace environment. Great employee discount.

    Cons

    The pay could be better for how hard they work you. Expect to practically live at the store once the holiday season hits.

    Kohl's2019-11-19
Found 9804 reviews