Kohl's "credit card" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kohl's Employee Reviews about "credit card"

Updated Dec 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
656 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pushing the store credit card onto people(in 466 reviews)

  • "Low part time hours due to location with declining sales(in 350 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "credit card"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great starter job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's full-time

    Pros

    Fast-paced environment, friendly, learned a lot.

    Cons

    The pressure to sell customers on Kohls credit card.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of employees and offer retention for good ones.

    Kohl's2019-10-09
  2. "Underpaid and overworked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive environment, got a decent amount of hours every week

    Cons

    Management stresses getting people to sign up for the credit card

    Kohl's2019-12-06
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Managers care about employees, offer competitive pay

    Cons

    Push the idea of making customers get credit cards too often

    Kohl's2019-11-14
  4. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very dynamic atmosphere. Nice employee discount and friendly colleges.

    Cons

    Strongly recommend to sell credit cards.

    Advice to Management

    Please distribute job duties to each employee specifically, not all duties to all.

    Kohl's2019-11-07
  5. "Good for First jobs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - POS Sales Associate 

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Discounts -Flexible Hours -Try new departments

    Cons

    -Never got breaks on time -Management would pressure too much to get credit cards -Strict dress code

    Kohl's2019-11-20
  6. "Supervisors are too into themselves!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Contractor - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's for more than 10 years

    Pros

    At first orientation they make it sound great!!! All seem so nice AT FIRST!! 24 hours guaranteed they same. What they don’t tell you is that’s on the holiday where your worked like a dog. And the let go beginning to mid January!!!

    Cons

    They turn on you!! Especially the women management/supervisors!!! If your seasonal and need a second job due to only being scheduled 12 hours they change your schedule and say they won’t compete with your other job. They say they are trying to run a business ( yes key word here (TRYING). They don’t give you the days you need off they BLAME the computer, lol They push CREDIT CARDS on people that don’t want them. ... They worry about this and SURVEYS!! Keep in mind (THEY DON’T care about you as employee) The only way you stay hired after holidays is if you got them enough credits to make goal and double digit surveys!!! SAD VERY SAD!!!! Blames computers for not letting people off for important life events like one of your kids getting married!!! They ALL TALK BEHIND EACH OTHERS BACKS!!!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Job performance from each employee counts, not just what supervisors tell you. They down right out lied about what I stated to them, they twisted the whole thing. Did they score brownie points NO, unfortunately you lost a good employee who shows up and looks for things to do when not busy).

    Kohl's2019-11-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not appreciated, underpaid & constant harassment about pushing credit quota"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Fort Worth, TX

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    15% discount & weekly pay

    Cons

    After my 3 day training I got no shifts for another 10 days..& then only 2 shifts or all the way up to thanksgiving & black Friday. Then every one has to work either day or over night shift clear thru Sunday night when we'd final close. So you go from 2 or 3 shifts a week max until holiday shopping goes into full swing & then they all of a sudden over load you with shifts that they didn't communicate... in any way & instead just posted the schedule without any warning & anything. But by far the worst part is that they pretty much force you to ask every guest to apply for the Kohls credit cards & now matter how well you do its never enough..especially for $9 an hr

    Show More
    Kohl's2019-10-11
  8. "Good part time jobs for students or retirees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Area Supervisor in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The managers were always responsible and did their jobs well. The managers were there to listen if you had any questions or concerns. Lots of opportunities for volunteer events.

    Cons

    Low wages and understaffed. Had to sell store credit cards which no one wants.

    Kohl's2019-09-24
  9. "Ehh"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and discounts also you can be on your phone when it isnt busy.

    Cons

    No benefits at all being part time and you don't move up position. It is all favortism. They train you for 2 days and except you to know everything the 3rd day they just throw you in there without even properly training you on how to do credit card applications.

    Kohl's2019-09-24
  10. "It's just ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Meridian, ID

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you want a flexible schedule this job would provide that. Access to benefits are also a plus.

    Cons

    There is a constant drive to push the credit card to all customers. In the store that I was in, I did not feel valued by the management team. Wages are not so great, you would have to work two jobs to have a livable income.

    Advice to Management

    Make your part-time employees feel valued. Just because they are work part-time does not mean that they are unskilled or uneducated. You waste valuable resources by not truly getting to know your workforce. In the store that I was in there were many professionally qualified talented people who were ignored and undervalued.

    Kohl's2019-09-05
Found 465 reviews