Kohl's "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kohl's Employee Reviews about "employee discount"

Updated 3 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
651 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Pushing the store credit card onto people(in 466 reviews)

  • "Low part time hours due to location with declining sales(in 350 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "employee discount"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Discounts"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time

    Pros

    Good employee discounts and sales.

    Cons

    Management needs alot more training.

    Kohl's2019-02-24
  2. "The managers are really good, the base pay is great for the area, and the training is super easy."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate in Orem, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work/life balance, good job for if you're in school or just looking for some part time work. Good starting pay, good managers, great employee discounts, great hours for the holiday season.

    Cons

    You're on your feet for long stretches of time, you occasionally have to stay after to finish things, you're required to work 8 hour shifts om Thanksgiving and Black Friday

    Advice to Management

    Pretty much nothing, if I have some kind of issue or problem with something I'm able to bring it to you directly and get it worked out.

    Kohl's2019-11-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Fun, Fast Pace, Always differnt"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Omni/Replenishment Associate in Mechanicsburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Always room to grow and learn new things. Very fast pace environment. Great employee discount.

    Cons

    The pay could be better for how hard they work you. Expect to practically live at the store once the holiday season hits.

    Kohl's2019-11-19
  4. "“GREAT” First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - POS Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good place to learn professional skills, Flexible schedule to work with school, Management really cares about the people, Generous employee discounts

    Cons

    Selling credit (especially in an over saturated market)

    Kohl's2019-11-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "too much favoritism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Victor, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    employee discount,clean environment, no equitable treatment.

    Cons

    clique mentality,favoritism, clique group violates company rules and management turn the other way, no repercussions for unacceptable behavior.

    Advice to Management

    Hire managers with some maturity of judgement , problem solving and critical thinking skills.

    Kohl's2019-11-29
  6. "lovely atmosphere, needs more staff members"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Traverse City, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Friendly coworkers! - Wonderful managers and supervisors - Great employee discounts throughout the year - Being able to help customers - Ability to work in several departments, as well as completing online orders

    Cons

    - Pay is minimum wage or slightly above - Evenings and weekends are required - Understaffed so it's hard to get everything that needs to get done, done - Point system for absences/tardiness - Boring and mundane if you work on the floor instead of at registers unfortunately but they really need people to work on the floor

    Advice to Management

    The pay has to be higher if your want/need more employees; minimum wage is not conducive to willing, able, responsible, and long-lasting workers.

    Kohl's2019-11-23
  7. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very dynamic atmosphere. Nice employee discount and friendly colleges.

    Cons

    Strongly recommend to sell credit cards.

    Advice to Management

    Please distribute job duties to each employee specifically, not all duties to all.

    Kohl's2019-11-07
  8. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate 

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - team environment - friendly atmosphere - employee discount

    Cons

    - scheduling is dependent on availability of others

    Kohl's2019-11-17
  9. "Left after two shifts!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front End Cashier in South Bend, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Having a nice employee discount

    Cons

    I was so excited to work at Kohls! I am an avid shopper at Kohls, I have a Kohls charge. I had previous experience in retail and decided to apply to Kohls as a second job for the holidays. From the beginning, I sensed some off things, such as having group interviews and having a 3rd party handle the hiring process, but I proceeded anyway. My orientation was very rushed and minimal. The manager running the... orientation did not even stay until the conclusion of it. She merely said, "Watch these videos and punch out when you are done." On my first day, I was pretty lost when I came in. I punched in and did not know what to do from there. I saw two workers (who I know now were managers) and asked them if they could help me. They seemed very annoyed that they had to stop what they were doing to assist me, but they did. During my first night working, I worked with a very nice college student named Carley. She is the only person who ever introduced herself to me in the few days I worked there. She trained me on the register and when she went on lunch I trained with someone else, an older lady, who was not so nice. When it came time to count down my drawer, she explained it to me and I did what she asked. When I was done I told her and she told me I did it wrong because I did it too quickly. I did it correctly, I am not really sure why she doubted me. When I came in for my shift on Thanksgiving, I again saw new people. The one woman, in particular, was telling everyone what they were going to be doing when the store opened. When it was time for me to speak to her, she explained to me that I would be a line leader and talked to me in a very condescending way, as if I was not capable of comprehending. The store was steady but by no means busy. I was rudely talked to by who I am assuming was a manager, telling me to move the line along when there was no line. Some customers were looking at items while in line and I was not about to rush them, especially when we were not busy and there was no significant line. After 4 hours and no break, I asked if I could go ahead and take my 30-minute lunch and forget about the 15-minute break. I was told I needed to wait for all the cashiers to take their lunches first. At that point, I was done with all of it. I punched out and left the store.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Kohls is big on customer service. What I have learned through this experience, is that Kohls does not seem to be big on teamwork amongst their associates. Having had good customer service at Kohls, I assumed working for them would be similar. I really hope that not all Kohls stores treat new employees this way. I really hope I am a unique case. There were a few other instances that happened, but I believe the... examples listed above were enough. In the few hours I worked there over the course of 3 days, one person introduced herself to me and treated me with respect like I was a person. That person was Carley. Anyone else I interacted with was not personable or kind, and that is why I left Kohls. As I said, I have had personal experience in two other retail stores and I have never had such a poor experience like this one, in any job, not just retail. My advice to management is to introduce yourself to new associates. Make them feel welcome, make them feel like they could come to you with questions without making you feel inconvenienced or incapable. Friendliness can go a long way. Unfortunately, I did not see this at all. That is why I left. It was not the job, it was not the customers, it was the way my fellow co-workers treated me. No amount of money was worth that.

    Show More
    Kohl's2019-12-03
  10. "Great experience. I learn something new everyday. Wish I got more hours."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's

    Pros

    Employee discount Pay Great experience Great benefits

    Cons

    Few working hours and confusing charge system, but that’s all.

    Kohl's2019-11-06
Found 701 reviews