Kohl's "employee discount" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kohl's Reviews

Updated Jan 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
Kohl's CEO Michelle Gass
Michelle Gass
690 Ratings
  1. "A Fun Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Woodstock, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co-workers, employee discount, great for college student.

    Cons

    Unability to determine own hours/work full time.

    Kohl's2019-08-22
  2. "Trust in employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Womens Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time

    Pros

    Employee discount Trust Autonomy This company values customer loyalty and happy customers are easier to deal with

    Cons

    Customers can be messy Angry/disrespectful customers Hours of operation Pay is low Advancement is not likely

    Kohl's2019-09-03
  3. "My overall experience has been pretty good at Kohl's."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kohl's full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employee discounts are amazing. Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    No advancement opportunity or raises for the Store Support Lead. Only observation and processing of others.

    Kohl's2019-08-09
  4. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good environment, fast pace, good employee discount

    Cons

    Team was continuously understaffed and it made it hard to finish recovery.

    Kohl's2019-08-07
  5. "Was horrible for my physical and mental health. I should have quit sooner."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - POS Associate/Cashier in Fresh Meadows, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you do well at your job the management favors you and won't bother you as much as they would if they didn't like you. You can stack the employee discount with other coupons so it's good if you need things cheap. There are ways to go up the latter in the company and they always give the employees first dibs on new openings in the store. They are willing to work with you if you're a student or you need certain hours.

    Show More

    Cons

    No one in management cares about you. All they want is to work you down or until they force you to quit. I have heard plenty of horror stories surrounding someone else quitting. I haven't worked there in close to a year and I'm still dealing with a lot of the physical pain I had when I worked there. When I tried to say something about it to management they always gave me an excuse. I had a doctors note to wear sneakers, I had insoles, I did everything I could but I think it only delayed the inevitable. I was part-time and there were plenty of instances where I was given a few weeks of full-time hours and then a couple of weeks of part-time so they could get the most they could out of me legally without having to give me any benefits. There's an employee who used to work there who's in a wheelchair and the management wouldn't even make sure she had an accessible bathroom. How she dealt with it for weeks I have no idea. I should have quit sooner.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think all of the management and at least some of the supervisors should be fired. They'll work you until you're exhausted and when you try to explain or take time for yourself they get childish attitudes. I remember one time, in particular, a manager came up to me and said that I'm not as nice or friendly to the customers as I used to be. I had to agree and said that it was because I was constantly in pain from standing all day. She basically said, "But that doesn't mean you can't smile?" This same manager asked me to work an additional day one week because she knew I "needed the money" and got an attitude with me when I asked to take my 15-minute break about five hours into an eight-hour shift. I know plenty of people who used to work there and some who still do who know management will lie or say what they have to in order to manipulate people into doing more work. Since I've l left some of the management has changed but I hear it's only gotten worse. What's worse is that the district managers don't care either. They'll defend all the managers in that store before they admit that everyone who works there (as far as I know) hates it and is only working there out of necessity.

    Show More
    Kohl's2019-09-08
  6. "Not a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Medina, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great employee discount and no dress code

    Cons

    Overworked and under paid and the stores are dirty

    Advice to Management

    Get more involved with your employees

    Kohl's2019-08-16
  7. "Typical pros and cons of a retail job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Tilton, NH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -They offer flexibility with your schedule -Management was kind -Employee discounts and special events

    Cons

    -You must work weekends -A lot of pressure put on by corporate to meet demands, credit quotas, positive customer reviews -Working with angry customers -Not a lot of choice of what dept. you can work in -Low pay

    Advice to Management

    I wish that corporate had a better understanding of how the stores worked. Not every customer wants to apply for a credit card, and in fact it may turn some off from coming back.

    Kohl's2019-08-14
  8. "Kohl's is an okay place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employee discount, closed on christmas

    Cons

    disorganized, poor management, long days and short breaks

    Kohl's2019-08-12
  9. "Major retailer adjusts well to remain competitive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Replenishment Associate in Tulsa, OK

    I worked at Kohl's full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Stackable discounts on top of employee discount - Good if you like working with the public

    Cons

    - Crazy low pay, especially for the workload - Managers always pushing associates to get customers to complete credit applications and surveys

    Kohl's2019-08-10
  10. "Very easy place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Associate in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kohl's part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    easy work employee discount flexible scheduling

    Cons

    no benefits unless full time

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Kohl's2019-08-03
Found 708 reviews