Kony Reviews

Updated May 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Kony CEO Thomas E. Hogan
Thomas E. Hogan
519 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cool technology and awesome people!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director Engineering 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kony full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    1) Great base salaries 2) Amazing group of talented folks 3) Great tools and technology stack 4) Diverse portfolio of industry verticals to choose as your workstream 5) Room to grow in your career path

    Cons

    1) Low contribution from the company on 401-K

    Kony2019-08-30
  2. Helpful (2)

    "OK place to learn"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDR 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kony full-time

    Pros

    Good product, sales environment isn't always great.

    Cons

    Not a lot of upward movement

    Continue reading
    Kony2019-08-30

    Kony Response

    September 3, 2019Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thank you for sharing your perspectives. Industry experts and many hundreds of customers clearly agree that our solutions are best-in-class. I'm not sure why you believe there isn't a lot of upward movement, as we have many initiatives around career growth and reported at our previous all hands meeting that 308 Mobilizers (28%) were promoted in the previous 12 months, and 34% in the 12 months before then. Many people are growing their careers here and this will continue.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Positive environment"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Current Employee in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - beautiful office - There is a ton of natural light and pleasant colors, and the office is clean (this may seem like a given, but I've worked at many places that were just icky) and has a nice layout/feel. It's always nice to work in a pleasant environment. - awesome onboarding - I'm relatively new to the comment, and the onboarding process was great, certainly the best of any jobs I've had. They were in regular contact during the time in between accepting the offer and starting work, which was appreciated, and went over everything I would need right away (like benefit setup, 401k, payroll, etc) instead of waiting like many places do. Accounts were mostly ready to go from the start. The Mobilizer Launch meeting was seriously one of the best things. They explained the history, the goals, and the culture of the company (including the focus on contributing to the community), and it's great to know they have clear goals and are so proactive about making Kony a positive environment. - nice people - Most of the people I have met have been very welcoming and kind. For the most part, there was no "outsider" time period like you feel at many companies. - supportive management - My management/department was very supportive and made sure I had what I needed when I started and have been extremely open to questions. From what I've observed, it is the same for other departments as well. - flexible times - PTO and exact schedules are not rigid, "be here at this exact minute." So far, the work/life balance has been wonderful. - feeling productive - Because it's a smaller company, the work I do feels important, like it's actually accomplishing something. This is compared to larger companies I've been at where it really doesn't matter in the grand scheme if I am there or not (which can be pretty disheartening day after day). It's great to feel like I'm part of a team getting things done.

    Cons

    - the people - Pros and cons here. While the majority have been very welcoming, some are less so. Not rude, just not especially friendly. It remains to be seen if this is because there are so many new people (hopefully as new hires, not replacements), or if they are just standoffish/keep to yourself kind of people. - work level - Again, pros and cons. This hasn't been an issue for me at this point, but I could see how being a smaller company, with each role being somewhat crucial, could potentially cause some stress if you feel overwhelmed by the amount of work. However, it seems they are hiring to keep up with demand, so hopefully this wouldn't become an issue.

    Continue reading
    Kony2019-08-04
  4. Helpful (6)

    "Lately Becoming chaotic environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kony full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Product to work with Work with diverse customers

    Cons

    401K Management is hiring sr mgmt/arch with no proper experience and creating unnecessary concentration when it can be truly matrix Product support is meager Unnecessary chain of command/COE which does not add value to customer delivery/experience

    Continue reading
    Kony2019-08-06
  5. Helpful (7)

    "👎"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kony full-time

    Pros

    - Growing number of customers - Some nice people - Getting a lot of coverage

    Cons

    - Terrible culture and work environment. The Chief People Officer should not be allowed to set people policies - No diversity at the leadership level - Trying to chew off too much, as a result too many projects/ implementations fail or are delayed - Tech isn’t as good as marketing makes it seem - A lot of turnover as a result of the above

    Continue reading
    Kony2019-07-26

    Kony Response

    July 26, 2019Chief Human Resources Officer

    Thanks for weighing in. You are correct that our customer base is growing tremendously and industry experts have rated our digital banking solutions higher than all others. Most of you cons are confusing, as we transparently share these numbers every quarter: *Culture- our Mobilizer (aka- employee) engagement and glassdoor scores have risen every year since 2014 to best-in-class standards. *Diversity- we are more culturally diverse than almost every other tech company and with 24% of our senior leadership team being female, this number is on par with the most progressive global tech companies. *Turnover - we are better than industry standards for companies based in similar locations. *Customer sat- our customer retention numbers are at/above industry standards and continuing to escalate. The one con you list that can't be debated with numbers, so reasonable people can disagree, is whether the CPO is competent; I'll give you that one but hopefully my boss disagrees! As you know our Talent Mobilization team is always checking in with our tremendously talented people and available to talk through concerns. We wish you the best in your future endeavors!

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Vice President in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company is at the cross-section of growth, culture and opportunity. It is an inspiring and rewarding place to work.

    Cons

    I am 3.5 years in and, any challenge that has been posed to the leadership team has been (and continues to be) met head-on, so no cons from my perspective.

    Continue reading
    Kony2019-05-21
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President, Regional Sales Management in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a seasoned veteran of the digital banking space who has watched the industry and the space evolve and transform over the past decade, I recently decided to make an investment in my future and join the Kony team. Having watched from the sidelines as Kony has single handily disrupted the digital banking space I made the decision that, on the surface; this was the company and the vision I wanted to align with. Disrupters like Kony often look bright and shiny from the outside looking in and it was with this perspective that I conducted my due diligence and evaluated my decision to join the team. From a product, vision and company culture standpoint I was unable to shoot holes in the Kony story through this process. As I joined the Kony team, my expectations were high. I’m pleased to share with you that not only have my expectations been met, but they’ve been exceeded in a big way. Kony looks bright and shiny from the outside looking in, but its even brighter from the inside looking out. Company culture uplifting and positive based on a foundation of integrity and respect. Positivity from every team inclusive of Sales, Product, Development, Executive Management and Human Resources. The “can do” attitude from all departments is so refreshing. Nothing siloed here. Everyone works together. My experience thus far, has truly been inspiring. A collaborative environment, accompanied by enthusiasm is a win-win, if you ask me. I feel that Kony is prepared and well positioned to continue to scale this model and do so with speed, which is no easy task. I couldn’t be any more excited to be part of such a great team and exciting company. Looking forward to many successes with Kony in the coming years!!

    Cons

    No cons so far. "Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other." - John F.Kennedy

    Continue reading
    Kony2019-05-22
  8. Helpful (1)

    "A true meritocracy..."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kony full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    If you’re looking to advance your skills, experience, and career - Kony is an amazing place. Good ideas focused on growth win over the status quo or “safe bets.” The culture here is one where your peers and colleagues want you to succeed and you’re rewarded for driving results. I don’t think you have a better chance of accelerating your career anywhere else - while getting to be part of a tech rocket ship.

    Cons

    Typical growth stage challenges as we prepare for scale and speed. There are hard problems to solve - but that’s also the interesting part of why we are here.

    Kony2019-05-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Pursuing continuous improvement with skyrocketing revenues"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kony full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company openly recognizes with hyper growth underway (and showing no signs of slow down in the future) it has to openly embrace change to be able to have its experiences for both customers and employees keep up with that sort of growth. It also recognizes that to continue to lead the market - it can't relent on getting things right. That open-ness leads to people collaborating on solutions rather than worrying about why it wasn't working before. It's absolutely clear to the LT that overhauling a range of structures and processes to handle that pace are a priority - regardless of the inherent discomforts it will trigger. That transformation process is creating tremendous opportunity for human capital leadership across all areas of the business. Company core values that are genuinely well internalized throughout the organization dictate the need to be willing to continuously reinvent all parts of the business when you are growing at 100%+. You can't really ask for more than that in terms of willingly dissecting the challenge - then collectively committing to solutions. The LT is transparently airing out and responsibly taking the necessary iterative steps for building, attaining and sustaining excellence at scale in an environment that is moving extraordinarily fast. The company is investing in the kind of talent and skills from both inside and outside the organization in a deliberate way that's attentive to the dynamic pace and environment it finds itself in. Step by step the company is conscientiously adding market leading benefits for it's team members as it grows like 401K matching, recruiting bonuses, ...

    Cons

    In the hi-growth environment the company finds itself under, there are understandable resource constraints. Admirably, the company's operating plan and capital structure are well aligned in choosing to tightly pursue a path of growth *and* improvement that stays on track with fiscal responsibility and a cultural commitment to profitability. That creates great discipline for long term success, enterprise value, and accountability for performance results, but requires choices to be made along the way. At the individual level, the need for responsibility is high and leaders have to own their dependencies. That performance culture creates an "up to you" ethos for leadership and a need for following up, communicating, following up, mentoring and guiding. If that isn't in someone's DNA coming in as a leader ... then there will be a disconnect.

    Continue reading
    Kony2019-05-19
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not going anywhere"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kony full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The only reason to work at this company is just pay check.

    Cons

    Poor leadership, outdated technology, poor quality products to the exetent of dishonest

    Continue reading
    Kony2019-05-11
Found 848 reviews
</>Embed