Kony Reviews

Updated Apr 28, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
86%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Kony CEO Thomas E. Hogan
Thomas E. Hogan
522 Ratings
Pros
  • "There is good work life balance(in 102 reviews)

  • "Great work culture along with work-life balance(in 66 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work-Life Balance is hard to achieve(in 89 reviews)

  • "No Work - Life balance late nights(in 28 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Kony and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Cool technology and awesome people!

      Aug 30, 2019 - Senior Director Engineering 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      1) Great base salaries 2) Amazing group of talented folks 3) Great tools and technology stack 4) Diverse portfolio of industry verticals to choose as your workstream 5) Room to grow in your career path

      Cons

      1) Low contribution from the company on 401-K

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Nepotism reigns supreme

      Jul 8, 2020 - Business Development Representative in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      decent work environment, some nice people

      Cons

      don't plan on ever being promoted unless you're related to, married to, or sleeping with someone in upper management

      1 person found this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Positive environment

      Aug 3, 2019 - Current Employee in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - beautiful office - There is a ton of natural light and pleasant colors, and the office is clean (this may seem like a given, but I've worked at many places that were just icky) and has a nice layout/feel. It's always nice to work in a pleasant environment. - awesome onboarding - I'm relatively new to the comment, and the onboarding process was great, certainly the best of any jobs I've had. They were in regular contact during the time in between accepting the offer and starting work, which was appreciated, and went over everything I would need right away (like benefit setup, 401k, payroll, etc) instead of waiting like many places do. Accounts were mostly ready to go from the start. The Mobilizer Launch meeting was seriously one of the best things. They explained the history, the goals, and the culture of the company (including the focus on contributing to the community), and it's great to know they have clear goals and are so proactive about making Kony a positive environment. - nice people - Most of the people I have met have been very welcoming and kind. For the most part, there was no "outsider" time period like you feel at many companies. - supportive management - My management/department was very supportive and made sure I had what I needed when I started and have been extremely open to questions. From what I've observed, it is the same for other departments as well. - flexible times - PTO and exact schedules are not rigid, "be here at this exact minute." So far, the work/life balance has been wonderful. - feeling productive - Because it's a smaller company, the work I do feels important, like it's actually accomplishing something. This is compared to larger companies I've been at where it really doesn't matter in the grand scheme if I am there or not (which can be pretty disheartening day after day). It's great to feel like I'm part of a team getting things done.

      Cons

      - the people - Pros and cons here. While the majority have been very welcoming, some are less so. Not rude, just not especially friendly. It remains to be seen if this is because there are so many new people (hopefully as new hires, not replacements), or if they are just standoffish/keep to yourself kind of people. - work level - Again, pros and cons. This hasn't been an issue for me at this point, but I could see how being a smaller company, with each role being somewhat crucial, could potentially cause some stress if you feel overwhelmed by the amount of work. However, it seems they are hiring to keep up with demand, so hopefully this wouldn't become an issue.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A true meritocracy...

      May 19, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      If you’re looking to advance your skills, experience, and career - Kony is an amazing place. Good ideas focused on growth win over the status quo or “safe bets.” The culture here is one where your peers and colleagues want you to succeed and you’re rewarded for driving results. I don’t think you have a better chance of accelerating your career anywhere else - while getting to be part of a tech rocket ship.

      Cons

      Typical growth stage challenges as we prepare for scale and speed. There are hard problems to solve - but that’s also the interesting part of why we are here.

      1 person found this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Brilliant!

      May 21, 2019 - Vice President, Regional Sales Management in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      As a seasoned veteran of the digital banking space who has watched the industry and the space evolve and transform over the past decade, I recently decided to make an investment in my future and join the Kony team. Having watched from the sidelines as Kony has single handily disrupted the digital banking space I made the decision that, on the surface; this was the company and the vision I wanted to align with. Disrupters like Kony often look bright and shiny from the outside looking in and it was with this perspective that I conducted my due diligence and evaluated my decision to join the team. From a product, vision and company culture standpoint I was unable to shoot holes in the Kony story through this process. As I joined the Kony team, my expectations were high. I’m pleased to share with you that not only have my expectations been met, but they’ve been exceeded in a big way. Kony looks bright and shiny from the outside looking in, but its even brighter from the inside looking out. Company culture uplifting and positive based on a foundation of integrity and respect. Positivity from every team inclusive of Sales, Product, Development, Executive Management and Human Resources. The “can do” attitude from all departments is so refreshing. Nothing siloed here. Everyone works together. My experience thus far, has truly been inspiring. A collaborative environment, accompanied by enthusiasm is a win-win, if you ask me. I feel that Kony is prepared and well positioned to continue to scale this model and do so with speed, which is no easy task. I couldn’t be any more excited to be part of such a great team and exciting company. Looking forward to many successes with Kony in the coming years!!

      Cons

      No cons so far. "Leadership and learning are indispensable to each other." - John F.Kennedy

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pursuing continuous improvement with skyrocketing revenues

      May 19, 2019 - Vice President in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company openly recognizes with hyper growth underway (and showing no signs of slow down in the future) it has to openly embrace change to be able to have its experiences for both customers and employees keep up with that sort of growth. It also recognizes that to continue to lead the market - it can't relent on getting things right. That open-ness leads to people collaborating on solutions rather than worrying about why it wasn't working before. It's absolutely clear to the LT that overhauling a range of structures and processes to handle that pace are a priority - regardless of the inherent discomforts it will trigger. That transformation process is creating tremendous opportunity for human capital leadership across all areas of the business. Company core values that are genuinely well internalized throughout the organization dictate the need to be willing to continuously reinvent all parts of the business when you are growing at 100%+. You can't really ask for more than that in terms of willingly dissecting the challenge - then collectively committing to solutions. The LT is transparently airing out and responsibly taking the necessary iterative steps for building, attaining and sustaining excellence at scale in an environment that is moving extraordinarily fast. The company is investing in the kind of talent and skills from both inside and outside the organization in a deliberate way that's attentive to the dynamic pace and environment it finds itself in. Step by step the company is conscientiously adding market leading benefits for it's team members as it grows like 401K matching, recruiting bonuses, ...

      Cons

      In the hi-growth environment the company finds itself under, there are understandable resource constraints. Admirably, the company's operating plan and capital structure are well aligned in choosing to tightly pursue a path of growth *and* improvement that stays on track with fiscal responsibility and a cultural commitment to profitability. That creates great discipline for long term success, enterprise value, and accountability for performance results, but requires choices to be made along the way. At the individual level, the need for responsibility is high and leaders have to own their dependencies. That performance culture creates an "up to you" ethos for leadership and a need for following up, communicating, following up, mentoring and guiding. If that isn't in someone's DNA coming in as a leader ... then there will be a disconnect.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Place to Work

      May 21, 2019 - Senior Vice President in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The company is at the cross-section of growth, culture and opportunity. It is an inspiring and rewarding place to work.

      Cons

      I am 3.5 years in and, any challenge that has been posed to the leadership team has been (and continues to be) met head-on, so no cons from my perspective.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Growing

      Mar 4, 2019 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of growth bring many activities, keep the work full and alive. If you like being busy with work that is satisfactory for you, Kony is it.

      Cons

      There are growing pains as the company bringing in many new clients. Sometime keeping things prioritized is not enough. Extra effort is needed but you are well compensated. 401k has no matching. There aren't many promotions. Formal training yearly is lacking.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great corporate culture

      Sep 20, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I am most impressed with the culture at Kony. I have been with them for 6+ years and the management teams put a lot of focus on employee growth, customers, community outreach and letting people work in areas they are most interested in.

      Cons

      It gets really hectic at times with product releases, big customer pursuits, and existing customers that need help from time-to-time with their big mission critical launch. It gets a little crazy, but it's fun too.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Lately Becoming chaotic environment

      Aug 6, 2019 - Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good Product to work with Work with diverse customers

      Cons

      401K Management is hiring sr mgmt/arch with no proper experience and creating unnecessary concentration when it can be truly matrix Product support is meager Unnecessary chain of command/COE which does not add value to customer delivery/experience

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 861 Reviews
    </>Embed

    Popular Careers with Kony Job Seekers

    QA Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Digital Services Sales Executive
    Learn About the Job
    Enterprise Account Executive
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Kony? Share Your Experiences

    or