Korn Ferry Reviews | Glassdoor

Korn Ferry Reviews

Updated Feb 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
57%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Korn Ferry CEO and Director Gary D. Burnison
Gary D. Burnison
375 Ratings
Pros
  • "As an HR consulting firm it offers a decent work-life balance(in 70 reviews)

  • "Really great people, nice office and freedom of development(in 35 reviews)

Cons
  • "there is no work / life balance(in 52 reviews)

  • "The other M&A issue is the culture at KF is clearly disjointed(in 32 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Best Company I have worked For in my 17 years in the IT Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruiter in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Korn Ferry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. BY FAR the most stress free recruiting I have ever had to accomplish. While there is stress in any type of recruiting, this level of stress in this position is manageable and I can go home and sleep at night. 2. Couldn't ask for better leaders. They truly care about your contributions, have an open door to ideas, welcome them and implement as well, accommodate for personal issues, letting you know that KF stands behind its employees 100% and it is a proven fact, in my case. 3. Benefits are amazing. Their PTO policy is the best I have had! Regular health/vision/dental/401k is standard and they pay a good part of it as well. 4. FUN! They know how to have fun here in the Dallas Alpha location. Appreciation events, participation in giving back to the community and worthwhile training and seminars on a consistent basis.

    Cons

    I honestly can not name a down side.

    Continue reading
    Korn Ferry2020-02-10
  2. "ok"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Corporate Recruiter in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Korn Ferry full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote. Benefits and time off are decent

    Cons

    They are misleading on the status of the RPO contracts

    Continue reading
    Korn Ferry2020-02-20
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Practice what you preach"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Korn Ferry full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cultural diversity is second to none. Great benefits (healthcare is best in class). Time off during the holidays. Ok yearly bonus Flexible schedules The company truly accommodates for personal situations

    Cons

    Absolutely no career advancement or clear path for growth. For a firm who focuses on human capital, they are completely blind to internal talent. No real efforts to promote or develop internally. Salary increases are extremely rare and are very low when they happen. Salary is notoriously below market. I saw many people stay in the same position for over 10 years even when they truly performed; most of the cases, they were denied promotions because of "business needs".

    Continue reading
    Korn Ferry2020-02-06
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Very Little Transparency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Korn Ferry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work/Life Balance, and work from home flexibility.

    Cons

    It is very hard to advance here unless you are someone who is friends with upper management. There is very little transparency around why people get promoted, how to get promoted, and what the next steps could be. If you are promoted, the pay increase you get is very minimal in addition to being underpaid to begin with. You do not get any raises unless you are promoted. In addition to the lack of transparency, the culture is lacking. Everything feels very fake, and the people are very rude and disrespectful.

    Continue reading
    Korn Ferry2020-02-08
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruit in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Korn Ferry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Pay, Clients, PTO, Benefits.

    Cons

    no problems with this company,

    Korn Ferry2020-01-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Fabulous work life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Korn Ferry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is phenomenal- in consulting you can work from home whenever and don’t have to click in or out. Benefits-15 Day starting PTO(increases with tenure)xmas-new years office is closed Opportunities to set the direction of projects and take the lead at very junior levels For consultants: we have a good amount of control over the work we decide to take on

    Cons

    No transparency with bonuses Have to network to get work Hypocrisy— we don’t practice what we preach at all—Very little company community, No ERGS, Not many set processes so the work can feel unstructured and ambiguous for someone who just started Pay for more junior employees is below the market rate and it’s very difficult to negotiate a raise without a offer in hand Very difficult to make lateral moves

    Continue reading
    Korn Ferry2020-01-16
  7. Helpful (8)

    "One Pro... Countless Cons!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Korn Ferry full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits are the only pro at Korn Ferry: You get 15 PTO days right off the bat, 10 sicks days, 10 paid holiday, and a week off between Christmas and New Years.

    Cons

    Although the benefits are great, it is not worth it for the amount of cons there are at Korn Ferry.... 1.) First off, you will be extremely underpaid for the amount of work that is expected of you. You gain great leadership opportunities in recruitment, but you never see any title change or money growth for taking on more and more responsibilities. 2.) I currently train people that make more money than me... how does that foster a great work culture/team dynamic when the person sitting next to me is doing 10x less work/has less experience, and is getting paid more than me?? 3.) The only way to actually make more money is to get an offer from an external company and hope KF matches it.... what kind of culture does that enforce in the company?? Shows us that upper management only starts caring about your talent when you want to leave KF.

    Continue reading
    Korn Ferry2020-01-24
  8. "Not a lot of room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager, Onboarding 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Korn Ferry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Great relationship with the client.

    Cons

    -Not a lot of room for growth within company.

    Korn Ferry2020-02-03
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Disappointing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Korn Ferry

    Pros

    Flexibility. Nice and supportive coworkers.

    Cons

    Difficult to staff/resource projects. Expectation that Project Managers be SMEs and consult but they do not compensate for that. Pay less than market rate. Pay gaps between men and women. Difficult to advance your career, especially if you are a women.

    Continue reading
    Korn Ferry2020-01-23
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Dead End Job, Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Korn Ferry full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Closed between Christmas and New Years, which is nice.

    Cons

    - Benefits are low-end and you’ll need to pay a portion for them. - Job security is non-existent and completely beholden to shareholders. Expect mass layoffs a month before the close of each quarter. They have a training program for recent college grads they like to pull people from to replace higher earners, so beware if one of these join your team. - Because they cheap out with quality hires, there is A LOT of ineptitude. Dealing with HR, accounting, technology or analytics is PAINFUL. - Impossible to move up unless you’ve been there YEARS. - They plead poverty at the end of every quarter and especially at the end of the year when it comes time for bonuses. Somehow they always tell shareholders they’re doing great but during bonus time, you’d think it was the Great Depression. Unless of course you’re a big fee earner in exec search or perhaps consulting. Those guys are completely tone deaf to the rest of the company. Twice I received mass emails from people in those positions who were selling multi million dollar apartments asking if anybody would be interested. You have to be oblivious to send that to your assistant. - It’s a boys club and I’ve been made uncomfortable multiple times. - For a company that consults on compensation and people strategy, they are so far behind the times it’s laughable.

    Continue reading
    Korn Ferry2020-01-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1194 reviews