Kuali Reviews | Glassdoor

Kuali Reviews

Updated May 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 reviews

5.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Joel Dehlin
20 Ratings
  1. "n/a"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kuali part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    This is a great company to work for

    Cons

    There are currently no cons

    Kuali2019-05-23
  2. "Good leadership, good product, and good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kuali full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have a company that I believe in the product and the people. Hard to find a place where you love both so much, but Kuali is that place.

    Cons

    Like any start-up, there will be times when things change or don't go as planned.

    Kuali2019-03-19
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Best Company I have Worked at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kuali full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company values are amazing and are reinforced by the CEO and by HR. My favorite is “Assume the Best”. As humans we have a tendency to assume the worst about people rather than the best, but most people most of the time want to do great things and have good intentions. I have had experiences at other companies where the culture was unintentially one of passing the buck, blaming others when things don’t go perfectly,...

    Show More

    Cons

    Things at the company can change somewhat frequently. That can be a bit challenging at times, but for me that is generally a plus. The changes are thoughtful, not random. Not every change works out, but the comapny will change direction again if something isn’t working. I have been at so many companies who are very resistant change, no matter how positive or how beneficial it may be, so when compared to that this...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on the company culture and values as the company grows.

    Kuali2018-12-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company with Great Values"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kuali full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The best part for me about working at Kuali is the emphasis on every employee's happiness and importance. There is no hierarchy; the focus and discussion is always about what we individually bring to the table and that is exceptionally refreshing. There is a great product that makes a difference in the higher ed space it serves and our relationship with the customer actually does matter and I love being a part of that...

    Show More

    Cons

    There is no soda which is an almost laughable con but it's the only real one I have. They provide tons of healthy snacks but a few of us aren't as healthy as we should be :)

    Advice to Management

    Keep caring and managing your teams with an eye on performance vs processes and this company will continue to be one of the best places in the valley to work.

    Kuali2018-09-05
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Amazing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kuali full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People - there are no jerks here. Everyone is really helpful and wants Kuali to succeed. The company value "assume the best" is actually practiced and its so refreshing. Benefits and culture - amazing! Lunches and breakfast are great. The actual medical/dental/401K benefits are awesome! But what's really great is the focus on work/life balance. So many companies talk the talk - but Kuali actually walks the walk.

    Cons

    Kuali has a lot of the typical growing pains that comes from having awesome products and people and growing quickly as a result. Some teams and departments are much newer than others. That is challenging for those on the new teams as well as other, more established teams that have to rely on them while they get up to speed.

    Advice to Management

    Continue being open with the company and seeking input from employees.

    Kuali2018-09-04
  6. "Happy to be at Kuali"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kuali full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Kuali is a great place to work, I'm very happy to be here. The company culture is a highlight for me, I enjoy coming into the office. There is a collaborative atmosphere that makes me feel supported by my managers and my coworkers. We work hard, but also find time for fun. Group lunches, board game nights, company activities, and tons of food are all great parts of my Kuali experience.

    Cons

    This is a young, growing company and that can be challenging at times. Market knowledge and best practices are being grown and developed as we go so a comfort with ambiguity is helpful.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. The communication and transparency about big decisions and longer term road map are helpful and keep me excited about the potential here.

    Kuali2018-09-04
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great company culture and leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kuali full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The culture here is really unique compared to other tech companies I've heard about. The CEO and all of the executive team are really smart with loads of experience. You can tell that they are interested in building a lasting company by the way they talk to employees and use the company's money. Of course the benefits, lunches, flexible work environment, money for your own continued education, and healthy snacks are all...

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't come across anything that I would consider a con right now.

    Advice to Management

    I'll just echo what I know others have undoubtedly said. Keep the culture strong and continue to grow the company at a healthy, sustainable rate.

    Kuali2018-09-04
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place full of Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Financial Analyst in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kuali full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The people that work here truly follow the company values and practice what they preach - People assume that you are trying to do your best with your work - Benefits are AWESOME (i.e. work from home, most are paid by the company, catered lunch on Mon and Wed, etc.) - Company outings every so often - Relaxed work environment (but the work itself can be intense with the startup feel) - the leadership teams "have...

    Show More

    Cons

    - With this company being in a startup position, there aren't a lot of processes in place. You have to be the one to take the initiative to get the ball rolling, which can be taxing on you to try to get the right people to follow.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work in supporting employees in all functions. Follow the company values to keep people around. It's a great feeling to know that the leadership has everyone's back and wants people to succeed.3

    Kuali2018-06-22
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Great company with stellar benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Lehi, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kuali full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Interesting approach to solve a huge problem in greater education which leaves a lot of room to grow in the market. They've managed to assemble an amazing team of people. Also, the benefits offered are the best I've seen.

    Cons

    There seems to be a few sacred cows that I have a hard time understanding. There's often good reasons behind the ones I've brought up. But sometimes the reasoning isn't much more than "that's just how it's always been".

    Advice to Management

    Constantly evaluate what ideas might be considered sacred or untouchable, and make sure we're doing them for the right reasons.

    Kuali2018-06-13
  10. Helpful (3)

    "New ideas in the air! Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kuali full-time

    Pros

    - Empowered to make informed decisions, to always be learning - Encouraged to explore ways to improve yourself personally and professionally - Excited constantly by the dedication to working smart not harder - Enthralled by the level of talent in coworkers and executive team - Evidence supported problem solving and process changing - show me the data! - Evolving to be better than yesterday, always

    Cons

    - Remote workers miss out on weekly team lunches and really rely on video chats to "see" what's going on (not really a con, just a reality of the situation.) - On-boarding is more self discovery than hand holding (also not really a con, but something to know about yourself: if you can't determine what you don't know and seek that info out, you'll feel a bit lost.)

    Kuali2018-05-09
Found 22 reviews