Kukui Corporation Reviews | Glassdoor

Kukui Corporation Reviews

Updated Dec 6, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 21 reviews

4.4
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
89%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
Kukui Corporation CEO Todd Westerlund (no image)
Todd Westerlund
7 Ratings
  1. "Teamwork makes the dream work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
     
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kukui Corporation

    Pros

    - Supportive and positive work environment. - Focus on client happiness. - Possibility of working remotely. - Time off when you need it. - Continuous training. - Incredibly generous bonuses and extra perks, such as company parties. - Management are outstanding and I have a lot of respect for them, also they are always available for guidance and advice. My LEADer is easily one of my favorite bosses ever. - The company makes an effort to celebrate wins. - Teamwork, and dedication, are really valued. I could go on, but I’ll wrap this up by saying that I have been in the workforce for a long time now, and I am grateful for Kukui’s fair, generous, supportive culture.

    Cons

    Kukui has been growing rapidly, and handling it well. I don’t see any huge ones personally. With expansion like this, it’s almost inevitable that there will be some minor growing pains, but not enough to class as a con - any that have come up have been addressed head on. A direct approach like that is a good thing in my eyes.

    Kukui Corporation2018-12-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Kukui--Explosive Growth, Exceptional Work Enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kukui Corporation full-time

    Pros

    Tremendous growth, fun work environment, great people, socially conscious management. The clients are advocates and the employees really care about their positions. Everybody works hard and plays hard and loves what they do.

    Cons

    Not enough hours in the day. When a company grows this fast it is difficult to foreshadow what needs to be done in all directions. More geographical opportunity --territories needs to be more balanced.

    Continue reading
    Kukui Corporation2018-03-03
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Pioneering company with the smartest, most caring people."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Hemet, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kukui Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Generous, positive environment. The best of it's kind company. The culture is everyone can advance through their individual strengths and inclinations.

    Cons

    If any, consistent growing pains due to steady growth.

    Continue reading
    Kukui Corporation2018-01-13
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Marketing Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Associate in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Kukui Corporation part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am currently part-time and hope to become full-time. Everyone is nurturing and that makes you want to do your best for them, as well as for yourself and for your clients. Supportive, family-like culture. Kukui is driving phenomenal growth and has an extremely exciting future. Management cares.

    Cons

    None that I've encountered. Their growth rate of 3,493 percent over the last three years will be challenging for everyone to keep up with. It will require flexibility and patience to manage the inevitable growing pains.

    Continue reading
    Kukui Corporation2016-01-11
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Deception - Run from this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Specialist in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kukui Corporation full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I found very little positive about this company. Pay was below average, benefits below standard, and the culture was all about the money.

    Cons

    Let me start by saying that I was completely sold on the opportunity to join this company. They explained how their company has a "Google" like culture with growth opportunities. I would receive marketing training and there would be accelerated advancement. Anyone reading this review might discard it thinking how could it be that bad? Why would you have stayed at a company for any period if things were so misleading? Truly, I wonder this myself. The truth is Kukui and its leaders are so convincing that they are something they are not, the truth is not obvious. It was one small problem surfacing at a time. I found myself dismissing small problems thinking it was the exception not the rule. And other larger problems that I would bring to leadership's attention I would be told that the issues would be addressed, and not to worry, but instead they would do nothing to fix the problem and I would be told to lie to a customer temporarily and they would fix the problem immediately. The company reports and advertises it has over a hundred employees in many locations nationwide, while in fact it averaged 20-25 people in one office. Even if you count to developers over seas they use to to all their development they would still be less than 30. It's what Kukui is really good at, twisting reality. Every salesperson Kukui had departed the company this year. The rats jumping the sinking ship. I heard the salespeople selling the Kukui product, I just didn't know how much they were over promising on every deal, just to close the deal. After the customer would go live, it was our job to try and keep the customer happy, even when the products weren't working. I may not be the smartest internet specialist in the world, but I do understand how SEO and PPC works very well. I was amazed how hard they tried to convince me that using duplicate text pages and templates was the best way to get traffic. But the more I argued, the more I was treated like an outcast and not part of the team for not getting on board with company directives and direction. On the surface, you would think Kukui is an aggressive startup looking to build a company, my personal experience is Kukui is all about the money, say anything to close the deal, do anything to get paid.

    Continue reading
    Kukui Corporation2015-11-06

    Kukui Corporation Response

    August 19, 2016CEO

    We care about the wellbeing of everyone connected to Kukui and we are constantly making improvements in every area, including our product, pay and benefits. We're glad that the vast majority of our reviews from both our clients and Kukuians reflect that ongoing commitment. The claims above about our staffing levels, PR agency writing reviews on our behalf as well as many of the other comments are false and simply mean spirited.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Client Marketing Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kukui Corporation for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great amenities - Awesome staff - Benefits are good

    Cons

    - Repetitive workload which can lead to a lack of motivation

    Continue reading
    Kukui Corporation2015-09-17
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Love the team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kukui Corporation

    Pros

    The folks I worked with are great, and the best ones are in leadership now. What more can you ask for?

    Cons

    It's hard to maintain a decent weight with all the free food everywhere.

    Kukui Corporation2015-07-08
  8. Helpful (3)

    "4-5 stars for effort, but 3 for now due to execution, but great potential overall!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Kukui Corporation

    Pros

    -great technology that really helps clients -unlimited PTO -really understandable when it comes to work/life balance -stocked kitchen -gym in building -lots of really nice people -lots of team building activities (every Thursday afternoon a fun game, sharks games, volunteering/charity work, 'get-to-knows'/team sharing where team members learn about new employees who share about themselves, their history, hobbies, etc) -clients are really nice people and fun to work with -ordered team ergonomically correct office supplies, chair bouncy balls, etc if you requested it

    Cons

    -traffic is fierce around there, but where isn't it -growing pains -lots of meetings -benefits are just medical benefits for now (really great Kaiser plans though), but they are adding vision and dental soon. 401(k) plan, but no mathing (understandable being a start up) -lots of people right out of college and very few with extensive experience to help run teams, and build strategies and processes

    Kukui Corporation2015-02-19
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Clients are the best to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Anonymous in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kukui Corporation

    Pros

    It has been exciting being apart of a growing start-up. Location is good, gym, food in walking distance, fun culture with daily tv sitcoms playing and a holiday nerf battle. Product works and really helps customers.

    Cons

    Start up. Growing pains. Very young middle management. Sometimes traffic is really bad, silicon valley normal. Starbucks is a short drive.

    Continue reading
    Kukui Corporation2015-01-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great entry-level position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kukui Corporation full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment, great people, fun atmosphere, small company so everyone's approachable and you have a say in what happens, great company values Kukui really wants you to succeed not just in your career, but in life as well

    Cons

    Small company-so plans change a lot, pay is below average, work load can be overwhelming at times but manageable

    Kukui Corporation2015-01-06
Found 21 reviews