Kum & Go Reviews | Glassdoor

Kum & Go Reviews

Updated Jun 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 223 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Kyle Krause
101 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment, as a sales manager there are quite a few benefits(in 9 reviews)

  • "High energy and fast paced environment(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very hard to find a decent General Manager(in 13 reviews)

  • "There's a high turnover rate in some stores and it can put some extra strain on the sales managers who pick up extra shifts(in 12 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Food Service Associate in Golden, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kum & Go full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like environment, good pay

    Cons

    When seasons change... Hours get cut

    Kum & Go2019-06-20
  2. "Previous cashier/stocker for part-time employment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier/Stocker in Minot, ND
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kum & Go part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Caring management Great pay

    Cons

    Team effort needs work but good overall

    Advice to Management

    Assign the daily tasks to specific individuals instead of assuming everyone will do their part

    Kum & Go2019-06-10
  3. "Miserable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kum & Go part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Most of the customers are regulars and are very friendly.

    Cons

    I had no breaks and had to work all day shifts without being able to sit, eat, or go to the bathroom. Training was horrible and I had to work alone after just a few days. Things were unorganized and I was constantly being shuffled into different tasks without explanations. It was the longest application process I have ever been through, and I wish I had found a job somewhere else.

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees like people and listen to them.

    Kum & Go2019-06-16
  4. "K & G invests too much in expanding and too little on retention with good benefits and pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Doesn’t Matter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kum & Go full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good mix of physical activity and socializing

    Cons

    Low pay Hazardous environment with no security Poor store structure

    Kum & Go2019-06-11
  5. "A place that is really other focused"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Kum & Go full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1. They recently switched to a new captainship structure which now provides benefits to more employees. 2. Their Loyal customers really are loyal. 3. Free fountain drinks while you work.

    Cons

    1. They show more concern towards customers and not their employees 2. They don't give breaks unless you fight for them. 3. Standing on the cement floors for 8+ hours a day 4. Low pay for the amount they expect from their employees.

    Advice to Management

    Look at my cons and try to bring solutions to them. That would be a start.

    Kum & Go2019-06-10
  6. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

      I have been working at Kum & Go full-time

      Pros

      Plenty of hours to work.

      Cons

      Too many schedule changes without notice.

      Kum & Go2019-05-17
    • "Fun Place to work"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cook 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Kum & Go full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      The people were good co-workers and there was a very good team dynamic.

      Cons

      Hours were not convenient at times

      Kum & Go2019-05-14
    • "Long shifts"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      Former Employee - Food Associate 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at Kum & Go part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Good pay, Independent environment, Easy first job

      Cons

      Long hours with no breaks, not super accommodating to schedules if understaffed

      Kum & Go2019-05-15
    • "Great place"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Cashier 
        Approves of CEO

        I have been working at Kum & Go full-time

        Pros

        Excellent benefits and amazing managers

        Cons

        None i loved working there

        Kum & Go2019-05-07
      • "Run"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at Kum & Go full-time

        Pros

        Great pay!! That's it.. Not anything better to say.

        Cons

        Alot of call outs. Zero.. Training.. Zero. Alot of hours. Money is not worth all the work.. No breaks No lunches. Long hours. One of the worst jobs I've ever had!! If someone does show for their shift... Your staying till someone can get there. Good luck!

        Advice to Management

        Train your employees. One day of training won't cut it.. Quit leaving your employees by themselves. Give breaks and lunches .Train your management staff better. Build better structure.

        Kum & Go2019-04-27
      Found 223 reviews