Kurt Geiger "area manager" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kurt Geiger Employee Reviews about "area manager"

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
45%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Kurt Geiger CEO Neil Clifford (no image)
Neil Clifford
123 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Management are awful(mainly area Manager)(in 22 reviews)

  • "Worst experience in retail London head office(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "area manager"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Lovely company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Supervisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Kurt Geiger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - The most supportive manager - Would constantly be seeing the area manager and other managers - Exciting training scheme

    Cons

    - Due to a shortage of management in other concessions you would have to cover other stores quite a bit

    Kurt Geiger2019-10-22
  2. "Worst company ever treat employees like dogs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Supervisor in Dublin, Dublin
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kurt Geiger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Only two good things is if you have a good team that’s the only good thing to look forward to about work 50% discount is another good thing but that’s it Met the CEO and retail director two very nice guys it’s a shame they’ve horrible people that work alongside them and and don’t seem to notice any of this.

    Cons

    Senior management are dreadful, they were honestly horrible to my branch managers, one area manager told a manager to lose weight like what a shallow comment to make. No support at all, no accolades for staff who stay and do extra unpaid time but literally rip the head off you when doing something wrong. If you want a life don’t work for KG work somewhere else that actually has values and treat their staff well Huge amount of pressure to achieve unrealistic targets like nobody is going to buy overpriced uncomfortable shoes.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2019-06-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Worst company I have ever, and will ever work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Bristol, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Kurt Geiger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quick to promote Always extra hours going

    Cons

    Lack of support from higher management Area managers don't give any worthwhile support, tell you to do better without giving you any support when you need it/ask for it. Very little care for people at the bottom of the food chain (in the actual stores) Didn't get paid for about 90% of the extra hours I worked Was required to work 12 hour days, 6 days a week as that was 'my responsibility' Declined 4/5 of my holiday requests Terrible staff turnover Area managers have clear favourite stores - which doesn't do anything for morale!

    Kurt Geiger2019-06-04
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Part Time Sales Assistant, Concession"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kurt Geiger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% Discount on FP, 20% on Sale. 30% off external brands. Brilliant team members, enjoyed coming into work.

    Cons

    Brand Ambassador exams. Mystery shopper pressure. Area management. Often working alone.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2019-04-04
  5. "EVERYTHING BUT THE DREAM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Birmingham, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    50% off..and free shoes for uniform (take them home after 3 months) and some OK incentives from head office and area manager.

    Cons

    After working for the company for many years (have no idea why I stayed so long) I guess rent and It became too comfortable staying there!!! As much as kg evolves I love how they want the customer experience to be high end. But yet they want you to work like dogs. And the new ba booklet system is a joke. Are we back in school? There's many other ways to educate staff and team build. But it's time consuming and awkward. Not only do we have to "shine" on the shop floor, but we have to be doing delivery, transfers taking calls being on conference and the list goes on. And all this can be on a day with just two people (they don't care if you can't take a break) Hardly any support if you need anything outside your own store. your lucky if you get a nice area manager. But I wouldn't even recommend 0-4 hour contract. Theres little things I can take from my experience working there made a best friend for life, and met some amazing people but I finally got out and I feel free. No more stickers bull dog clips and pressure.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2019-04-10
  6. Helpful (1)

    "an inhumane cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger full-time

    Pros

    there are no pros to this company.

    Cons

    having to work alone without days off or lunch breaks -inhumane! bullying and harassment- you can get a disciplinary for not changing a sticker or not sending an email on time despite having no breaks or staff a robotic mystery shop culture which leads to people being fired - nobody wants to be asked what the weather is like outside. no praise ever the most horrific area manager extremely unreasonable workload which leads to most staff members becoming ill and leaving- again inhumane! No holidays because there's never anyone to cover them so you end up losing your allowance

    Kurt Geiger2019-04-23
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Don’t work for them!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Kurt Geiger full-time

    Pros

    Staff discount is the only good thing

    Cons

    Management are awful(mainly area Manager) They will bully you to leave if you make one mistake or they just simply don’t like you. I’ve watched the area manager cause staff members to have mental break downs, such a vile place to work

    Kurt Geiger2018-11-24

    Kurt Geiger Response

    December 3, 2018Senior HR Manager

    We value all feedback in order to continue to find ways to improve working at Kurt Geiger, an environment that so many of our team members love. These are not the standards or values upheld by Kurt Geiger and we are surprised to hear this feedback. Please can you email helpdesk.recruitment@kurtgeiger.com so we can discuss your concerns further.

    Continue reading
  8. "Thoroughly enjoy my job !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dual Site Store Manager in Lincoln, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kurt Geiger full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    An area manager that is supportive ! Great support network from other managers. Bonus if hit target every month ! Good communication. Logical work loads.

    Cons

    1 week training could have been longer but a lot you learn on the job tbf.

    Kurt Geiger2018-07-26
  9. "Branch manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger

    Pros

    The discount! That is really it! HR are really good!

    Cons

    Dreadful area managers! Poor communication! Poor support to branch managers! Especially when they are pregnant! (Disgusting) Unreachable targets! Which is demotivating for staff! No support what so ever for staff in stores!

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2018-08-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Worst company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Stores are occasionally located in desirable areas

    Cons

    - bad pay - rubbish discount - awful customers - area managers are incredibly strict and rude

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2018-08-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 26 reviews