Kurt Geiger "area manager" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kurt Geiger Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Kurt Geiger CEO Neil Clifford (no image)
Neil Clifford
125 Ratings
  1. Helpful (10)

    "Good ethics but poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Kurt Geiger full-time

    Pros

    Enjoyed working with the employees in store and even the store manager, the environment was friendly and made you want to go to work everyday. The company had good incentives in place which created healthy competition between stores and employees. The company were also big on allowing any employee who wanted to develop their knowledge and skills, they put tools in place for employees to work their way up. Company have good staff discount, and I particularly enjoy the training sessions that we had every month.

    Cons

    The area manager for the north, was genuinely the most horrific human I have ever had to deal with. I don’t know one employee in the company that had a good work to say about her, and I know a lot of store managers that left purely because of how she handled and dealt with people. This was unfortunate as we had another area manager before her who was much more supportive and motivating. Now I have myself worked as a manager and worked under numerous managers in different work places and I understand that as a manager you have to be firm but fair but this particular AM was just firm and unfair. She had absolutely no people skills, and talked to people like they were nothing. She used to make you dread going into work if you knew she was visiting the store. She made no positive impact on the store and team and instead of motivating you (which any good manager does), she had the opposite effect and made you feel deflated and not want to work. I did want to progress in the company after I had been running a store for a short time but the AMs attitude and behaviour eventually made me give up the position and then leave to work for another company.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2018-04-17

    Kurt Geiger Response

    April 23, 2018Head Office Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for your review. We value all feedback in order to continue to find ways to improve working at Kurt Geiger, an environment that so many of our team members love. Please can you email HRHELPDESK@kurtgeiger.com so we can understand your concerns further.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Kurt Geiger - my favourite place of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Dublin, Dublin
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kurt Geiger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Over the last 9 years working in retail environment I can honestly say this is by far my most favorite company I have worked in. Amazing team, supportive area manager, good discount. There has not been a day that I would have felt unrecognized or unappreciated.

    Cons

    The only downside with this company is that progress can be slow and it may take some time for you to move up in the position. But if you're working hard, it will not go unrecognized.

    Kurt Geiger2018-01-07
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Awful worst company I've worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger part-time

    Pros

    Lovely team members in my concession Lots of pretty shoes Free shoe allowance

    Cons

    Area manager can never be reached Supervisor was left to tend forself wihout experience or training Targets were always way too high even when making maximum sales

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2017-12-12

    Kurt Geiger Response

    January 11, 2018Head Office Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for your review. We value all feedback in order to continue to find ways to improve working at Kurt Geiger, an environment that so many of our team members love. Please can you email HRHELPDESK@kurtgeiger.com so we can understand your concerns further.

    Continue reading
  4. "Concession manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concession Manager in Newcastle
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Kurt Geiger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have worked for the company just over 2 year, by far the best 2 years I have experienced in my time in retail, my area manager is extremely supportive and a great role model, from taking me on in the company originally to letting me travel to other stores to support and build my experience She has been a great support i always feel challenged and driven, the company recognises amazing staff and rewards it, incentives free shoes etc. I have been given so many opportunities to grow and develop while I have been here. My area/store group is so friendly and supportive always helping each other out and communicating, makes such a difference, it also offers great training tools to team members to develop there skills and become brand ambassadors all my staff love the company and are always looking for ways they can better them selves! The discount is also an amazing benefit

    Cons

    Working in a host store can be a con not on KG's park however with communication it is easy to make it run smoothly and every day is an enjoyment

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2017-10-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "AVOID"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger part-time

    Pros

    Unfortunately, no pros will ever outweigh the cons

    Cons

    Where do I begin.. I have worked for Kurt Geiger for a considerable amount of time and what I thought was a nice company to work for turned out to be the worst I've ever seen. In my time, the turnover of staff has been outrageous and this can only reflect how badly staff are treated. I will list a few reasons not to work for this company and really hope someone reading this will think twice about accepting an offer, it's really not worth it!!! - commission was scrapped over a year ago and has been replaced with unrealistic targets that would earn you a bonus. A bonus I achieved once in all the time it had been in place. Clearly a way to save money on the companies behalf but demotivating to staff. -I have witnessed management bully part time staff members on their looks, personality and generally degrading comments. It took a long time for this to be noticed and tackled by an area manager or HR and even then, there was no effort to rehabilitate the members of staff who were bullied, they were expected to go on as normal. -in my particular store, the part time staff members were co-erced into giving feedback on managers by a HR advisor who magically appeared overnight stating they were our advisor and they were here for us. TRUST ME THEYRE NOT. Nobody is there for you in that company, nobody looks out for their staff and they will only be in touch with you when it suits them or when it benefits them. I also saw my management being bullied out of their job roles by higher management, and as this was happening, trickles of gossip were being passed down by other members of management to the part time staff which was highly inappropriate and unprofessional. -the management is so poor it is actually a joke. In my 4 years at Kurt Geiger I had a review after maybe my 2nd year? I didn't have a review for over 2 years.. my pay would often be messed up.. I wouldn't know each month if I was going to be paid or if it was going to be right. When management was challenged on my pay which was often wrong, it took quite a bit of time to get any kind of answers from them. -holidays were not encouraged to be taken and if you didn't you would lose out on them. - payroll and HR are impossible to get hold of unless they want something from you. -I have seen managers, part time staff, full time staff leave or go off sick for long periods of time due to the stress of working for such an awful company. I have covered stores which had been left with no manager or supervisor for months which left one part time member of staff making up all the hours and doing all management duties- but were not paid anything more to do this.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2017-09-01

    Kurt Geiger Response

    January 11, 2018Head Office Recruiter

    Hi, Thank you for your review. We value all feedback in order to continue to find ways to improve working at Kurt Geiger, an environment that so many of our team members love. Please can you email HRHELPDESK@kurtgeiger.com so we can understand your concerns further.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Awful area manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Associate in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Kurt Geiger

    Pros

    Great work girls and discount

    Cons

    Terrible area management who has 0 clue in how to develop, maintain or care of staff as the staff turn over is incredibly high.Furthermore, there is no room for progression whatsoever as there is also 0 recognition for your hard work which is very demotivating,

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2017-08-11

    Kurt Geiger Response

    August 15, 2017Resourcing Assistant

    Hello, could you please email sophie.garrard@kurtgeiger.com to discuss this further and we will look into this. Thanks, Kurt Geiger

    Continue reading
  7. "Friendly working environment but salary was better on commission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger part-time

    Pros

    The environment is very friendly and there is room for training and progression. Good staff discount and Christmas bonus offers.

    Cons

    The pay used to be much better when working off commission compared to the new introduced flat rate pay. Area management need to find store managers who are really dedicated.

    Kurt Geiger2017-06-01
  8. "You're no longer high-end high street!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great discount - Free shoes - staff are nice - can't think of anything else but I have to write 20 words.

    Cons

    - bad management/ lies a lot! - area manager is a nightmare - RUDE/ bully - want you to dedicate your life for rubbish pay and no commission- expected to go above and beyond with little thanks. - no enough staff working in the smaller stores- made to work a lot of overtime due to this. - management sit downstairs a lot in the office - badly made shoes - customer service are rude - take too long to fill positions - area management stated along the lines of " store staff was too urban" - hardly ever got a full 1 hour lunch as not enough staff so would have to grab shoes and may serve customers also. - would have to be left alone while another staff member went to get some lunch as quick as they could. - back of house dirty - brand thinks very highly of themselves yet treats their floor staff badly and as just numbers instead of people.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2017-02-12
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Not the best company to work for, depsite it's reputation."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger

    Pros

    - 50% Discount. - Free Uniform Shoes. - Sales team were fantastic.

    Cons

    - Poor management from the store manager and area manager. - HR lacked organisation and communication. - Work environment was negative within management. - Bullied out of my job.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2016-10-01
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Insulting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Assistant in Bath, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger

    Pros

    The team I worked with were lovely ladies and I would have left sooner if I hadn't had such a great team! 50% off shoes.

    Cons

    - The wage is absolutely awful, falling below minimum wage (just £5.80 per hour). Yes you get commission but during sale it is hard to bump up your wage if you are only getting 1% of £29 sales. It is an embarrassing wage for a 'luxury' company. - If you work in a concession you do not get the same uniform benefits as those in free standing stores who get free seasonal uniform shoes - if you are in concessions you have to pay for your own despite working the same or more hours. - As a part time sales assistant I did many tasks out of my pay grade and went the extra mile to cover shortness of staff, When our supervisor left I took on some extra responsibilities - I was promised a pay rise for 3 months which never manifested. - I was under paid for 4 months and my overtime took 2 months to come through after this error was reported. I never once got an apology from manager, area manager, or HR for the stress this caused, when I was left unable to pay bills. - I was eventually signed off sick with stress and I was never paid the full amount of sick pay that I was entitled to.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2016-08-09

    Kurt Geiger Response

    August 23, 2016Resourcing Assistant

    Hello, can you please contact us asap, we would like to hear further about your concerns and listen to understand more about your experience, please can you contact me - helpdesk.recruitment@kurtgeiger.com

    Continue reading
Found 26 reviews