Kurt Geiger "area manager" Reviews | Glassdoor

Kurt Geiger Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.9
47%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Kurt Geiger CEO Neil Clifford (no image)
Neil Clifford
124 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Consistently poor, would not recommend to anyone!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Kurt Geiger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% off products unlimited. I have a nice team in my store and we all get on well, definitely the best part of the job!

    Cons

    The most disorganised company I've ever worked for. - head office haven't got a clue what is happening in store and expect themselves to be priority. They set pointless tasks with strict deadlines then moan when you haven't completed it in time, even though you have been busy doing 15 other tasks set by the company. However, if you email them, don't expect a reply and if you do, it will be completely irrelevant to what you have asked, so useless. - complete lack of support, respect and appreciation from area management. Very lazy and constantly pass the blame for their own mistakes. - payroll absolutely useless, staff not getting paid and always mistakes being made - not enough hours allocated to stores, meaning as soon as someone is sick we have to work 9-8 without a break. This isn't just our location this is across the region, yet area management blame the teams in store - they expect a 4hr contract to be fully flexible - 50% off products is great, if the products were actually good in the first place. 90% of products are synthetic, they put the brand name on them to trick customers into thinking they are good when in fact they are no better than NewLook, yet 10x the price... No thanks

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2016-04-18

    Kurt Geiger Response

    May 10, 2016

    We're hugely concerned to hear you feel this way, we want to provide a positive and supportive working environment for all of our team members. We would really like the opportunity to hear more from you, as we want all of our employees, whether they are in our stores or HO, to feel part of the team and that they are valued for the hard work that we know you all do. If you would like to discuss this further and in confidence then please do contact me or our HR Manager at HRHELPDESK@kurtgeiger.com. Thank you for taking the time to write the review, as feedback is hugely useful for us as we make improvements for the future.

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Branch Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Branch Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount, great product. You feel glamorous every day and wearing the shoes for work is great fun(if sometimes a little painful!)

    Cons

    Hopefully this will have changed by now. As a manager I was treated appallingly. Short staffed and the area manager wouldn't pass through any applications unless I gave one of her friends a job. I ended up working 9 hour days, with no lunch breaks, for 12 days in a row. I'd then have 1 day off and start again. It got so bad I ended up in hospital with stress induced exhaustion and quit.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2015-08-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Need to go back to basics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Concession Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    50% discount on products. nice work environment with other staff members. Can order stock easily for customers.

    Cons

    Head office staff rubbish. You have to email them with any problems however urgent and will get a sarcy reply. no support from area managers, they say leave it with me and you probably won't hear back. left to your own devices, need to train yourself up. The pricing of their product is basically send something in at £120 but it is always going to be at a 'promo ' price of £59 so customers think they're getting a better price but in reality it is still overpriced. They won't spend the money on keeping staff, so the staff turnover is ridiculously high. Takes ages to activate online discount. And new starters always get taxed wrong the first couple of months.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2015-08-31
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Premium product???"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Unlimited discount on house brands Little workload Basic training Little visits or supervision from area management Commission can be as high as 2% It's a great company if you are an amazing sales person because you can earn great commission. Recent restructure to london area could result in great outcome when it comes to supporting store managers.

    Cons

    We were instructed to refund everything in order to keep the customers happy. Unrealistic expectations when it came to performance. We didn't have enough budget to rota adequate amount of staff and were always incredibly short. Customers constantly complaining that not enough people were serving such a busy store. Quality of footwear was horrid! Splitting at the seams, heels snapping in half, leather breaking, trims falling off all after a couple of wears. £120 footwear made of synthetic cheap materials. Store managers and not screened well, hired only based on their cvs. Many can't handle the work load and fail. Area managers and looking after too many stores and can't provide adequate support to each store.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2015-07-25
  5. Helpful (3)

    "No Room to grow and no support"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Branch Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger for more than a year

    Pros

    Great discount on shoes and bags. Great staff Customers make the place!

    Cons

    Low wage HO bully staff No support for HR HR and HO expect so much from you and don't really know what is going on. No support with staffing issues Other managers are very rude and talk behind your back Everyone knows your personal business as they don't understand the term confident. Area Manager is very nasty and speaks to you like you are a child. Very bias towards people she liked

    Kurt Geiger2015-05-11
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Have no idea why I stayed in the job so long."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Assistant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Kurt Geiger part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I enjoyed working for Kurt Geiger as a company, looked good on my CV and learned a lot from the management in my store. Dont have a bad thing to say about the people I worked with in the store, met loads of lovely people that I will continue to keep in touch with. Got trained up to do everything in the store, even as a part-time worker.

    Cons

    Company did not respect they're future or current staff. Judging applicants on their physical appearance before sales experience and personality . Management in the store, having to work unpaid overtime to cover the shortage in staff which they never had time to take back (the turnover of staff was ridiculous) and area managers putting even more stress on them on top of that. Very little chance of promotions, supervisors on low wage and expected to do everything and probably more than the manager does with basically no rewards or even thanks. My wage started below minimum wage, although I did get pay rises it was still lower than most of my friends in the same retail jobs. 1% commission, promise of 2% if you hit targets, which were impossible to reach apart from busy times like Christmas and kept increasing. Lots of promises of rewards and changes however very little actually showed. Sales would change dates, even once having one day notice before the sale went live and expecting ALL staff to drop everything to prepare for this.

    Continue reading
    Kurt Geiger2014-09-01
Viewing 21 - 26 of 26 Reviews

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.