L.A. Care Health Plan Reviews | Glassdoor

L.A. Care Health Plan Reviews

Updated Sep 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 154 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
66%
Approve of CEO
L.A. Care Health Plan CEO John Baackes
John Baackes
63 Ratings
Pros
  • "Decent pay, great coworkers, good benefits, great tuition reimbursement after 1 year(in 14 reviews)

  • "They encourage work/life balance(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Direct supervisors are great but upper management loves to micromanage(in 10 reviews)

  • "Not only is it an ordeal to drive in extreme rush hour traffic to downtown L(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great environment and flexibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Internship 

    I have been working at L.A. Care Health Plan part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours - great for students and the people who work there are full of integrity and invested in your personal career/otherwise development

    Cons

    its a non-profit meaning there wouldn't be stock options persay and pay can be slightly less competitive

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-03-13

    L.A. Care Health Plan Response

    March 28, 2019Sourcer

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share, please email us at careers@lacare.org.

  2. "HEDIS nurse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Hedis Abstractor 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L.A. Care Health Plan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Company to work for

    Cons

    Family benefits aren’t so great

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-06-26

    L.A. Care Health Plan Response

    June 27, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at careers@lacare.org.

  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great for Sheep; Bad for Progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Utilization Management in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L.A. Care Health Plan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company often offers overtime and has a decent pay rate for people lacking experience.

    Cons

    Upper management is composed of inconsistent authoritarians. If you are looking for a job just to make money and not care about reality, this is for you. If you truly want to make a difference within the healthcare system, I would not bother applying. Upper management only cares about saving themselves and making sure they are not the ones to lose their paycheck. Your suggestions for improving efficiency will... go ignored. If you know anyone that has Medi-CAL and is not receiving the care they need, it is because not everyone is consistent and up-to-date with all the types of medical changes happening every day/month/year. Departments within the company often get confused about what the guidelines are because nearly every guide is out-dated.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to feedback with an open mind rather than shut people down because in the end, you are hurting thousands of people in need of medical care.

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-09-09
  4. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSC 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L.A. Care Health Plan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    Location and salary are the worst

    Advice to Management

    None

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-09-05
  5. "Good for experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Program Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L.A. Care Health Plan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good place to get experience. Work life balance is good. Remote Work a day or so a week is available most times.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than industry.

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-08-04
  6. "Overall good, but minimal growth in specific departments"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L.A. Care Health Plan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits overall, great education reimbursement

    Cons

    Politics and unable to grow within other departments

    Advice to Management

    Empower and invest in your employees to help with talent retention

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-06-24

    L.A. Care Health Plan Response

    July 1, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We’d love to learn more about your experience and how we can improve. Please email us at careers@lacare.org.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great company Horrible Dept"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - CSC Representative in Los Angeles, CA

    I worked at L.A. Care Health Plan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good hours, great benefits and PTO.

    Cons

    Direct supervisors are great but upper management loves to micromanage.

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-07-02
  8. Helpful (4)

    "New Head of Company = Good ole boys club"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Executive Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L.A. Care Health Plan full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co workers, benefits, pay and location

    Cons

    Out with the old good upper management and in with the Older Boys Club management. The new "Men" set the mentality of this company back about 30 yrs! Bringing friends in corrupting other management and some of HR. It's really disgusting.

    Advice to Management

    Get rid of the Old Guy and his backwards thinking friends. Stop giving in just to save your job and do what's right.

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-07-07
  9. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L.A. Care Health Plan full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, work life balance, growth opportunities. Transportation Allowance!

    Cons

    Best to catch Metro to DTLA instead of drive and parking

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-05-31

    L.A. Care Health Plan Response

    July 1, 2019HR

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We appreciate your input and are happy to hear you’re enjoying your experience here. If you have any further feedback to share please email us at careers@lacare.org.

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L.A. Care Health Plan

    Pros

    Good people to work with

    Cons

    I was bullied by the head of the call center organization. I left. I now understand this individual has been under investigation and downgraded to a lower position. Ha serves him right!!!!!!!

    L.A. Care Health Plan2019-06-28

    L.A. Care Health Plan Response

    July 1, 2019HR

    I appreciate your feedback and sorry to hear about your experience. We do not condone bullying at L.A. Care. We take your review very seriously. Please email us directly at careers@lacare.org. We would like to better understand your experience at L.A. Care.

Found 154 reviews