L.L. Bean Reviews | Glassdoor

L.L. Bean Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 484 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Smith
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Impossible to get hired as full time employee with benefits(in 22 reviews)

  • "They siphon through seasonal and part time employees to avoid paying benefits(in 18 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Retail"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at L.L. Bean part-time

      Pros

      Strong learning experience and good place to begin a career.

      Cons

      None. It was a good job.

      L.L. Bean2019-02-10
    • "Good Workplace"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - CSR2 in Lewiston, ME
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at L.L. Bean part-time for more than 6 years

      Pros

      Interesting work with good management support

      Cons

      Erratic work hours and some disorganization

      Advice to Management

      Regularize schedules

      L.L. Bean2019-05-17
    • "Good environment"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Sales Representative 
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at L.L. Bean part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Co-workers are all very supportive and kind to each other - The managers know everyones names - Managers are accommodating whenever needed

      Cons

      - Lack of stability regarding how many days a week - Lack of stability while working in departments and knowing where to work each day - Scheduling is very random - Pay varies greatly among employees (despite working similar amount of years) - Only get schedules two weeks in advance so it's hard to plan anything -

      Advice to Management

      Work to improve scheduling and create a set amount of days for employees. Stick to routine breaks.

      L.L. Bean2019-05-09
    • "Great People / Great Culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous in Freeport, ME
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I worked at L.L. Bean full-time

      Pros

      I really enjoyed the people I worked with. L.L.Bean does a great job of hiring good people who fit within the culture of the company. The family (owners) really do care about the employees and customers. All things considered, this is one of the best companies I have worked for. I wish them continued success as a great representative of the state of Maine.

      Cons

      In the corporate offices, youth is favored over experience. It is difficult to find a career path if you are not already part of management by the time you are middle aged. I would like to see more value placed on the great employees that have contributed to the company's success and less favoring youth, with the assumption that youth equates to innovation and talent.

      Advice to Management

      Continue doing the great things you do for employees and customers. I was always proud to say I worked for L.L.Bean. There are so many great employees in this company. They really are the greatest asset you have. Look for opportunities to increase hard skill training, as you have with soft skill training. Many employees would take advantage of this type of structured training (SQL, etc...). Avoid ageism, whether intentional...

      Show More
      L.L. Bean2019-05-07
    • "LL Bean retail"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Part Time Sales Associate in Lone Tree, CO
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at L.L. Bean part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Nice co-workers, appreciative customers, good employee discounts

      Cons

      Top-down management decisions often create last minute stress and confusion

      L.L. Bean2019-05-16
    • "I liked working there"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate 

        I worked at L.L. Bean part-time for more than 2 years

        Pros

        The employees are lovely people and do a lot of things outside of work. Manager was willing to work with my schedule as best she could.

        Cons

        not sure I cannot think of one

        L.L. Bean2019-04-18
      • "Good company"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Seasonal Customer Service Representative in Portland, ME
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at L.L. Bean part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great co-workers and overall great customer interactions. 33% off employee discount; flexible with your schedule

        Cons

        I personally didn't like the call center environment. Sometimes during peak season (Christmas), they'd have you working through 1-2 AM.

        L.L. Bean2019-04-12
      • Helpful (1)

        "Seasonal employee"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Yonkers, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at L.L. Bean part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The staff I worked with were friendly.

        Cons

        Discount isn’t great, I was put behind the register my entire time working there when I had 3 years of retail experience.

        L.L. Bean2019-04-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Eh"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at L.L. Bean part-time

        Pros

        The people were nice and taught a lot

        Cons

        Customers, Lax return policy led to losses

        L.L. Bean2019-04-23
      • Helpful (1)

        "Misleading hiring process, broken promises"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Sales Associate in Lake Grove, NY
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at L.L. Bean part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        "Hip" store, lots of nice merchandise, nice looking uniforms.

        Cons

        Hired under the pretense that I would be marketing products to customers. In practice, they had me, someone who has in-depth knowledge about many of their products, on a cash register for my entire tenure there. It was insulting. Management and coworkers seemed to forget about me up there. The management did not hire people who knew the products, and the people who slacked off the most were rewarded with promotions....

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Focus on training. I mean that. There are too many clueless sales associates. The sexist attitude from management is obvious to male employees. Stop with the double standards and get on the same page. There is a reason the store is failing... hiring clueless employees who too often pass the buck.

        L.L. Bean2019-04-16
      Found 484 reviews