L.L. Bean Reviews | Glassdoor

L.L. Bean Reviews

Updated Jul 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 492 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
58%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Stephen Smith
96 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Impossible to get hired as full time employee with benefits(in 22 reviews)

  • "Low pay, low hours for seasonal/part-time(in 19 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Good Job, Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Camp and Travel Sales Representative in Freeport, ME
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L.L. Bean part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    LL Bean is a company with strong values and a commitment to its staff. There was never a moment were I felt as though I was being treated unfairly. The managements is approachable and genuinely cares about their staff. Everyone at the company is extremely friendly and enjoys there work.

    Cons

    On extremely busy days it can be hard to find a space to park.

    Advice to Management

    Just keep doing what you're doing.

    L.L. Bean2019-01-15
  2. "Great temporary work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in Freeport, ME
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L.L. Bean full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, excellent team work, fun seasonal activities, and work day goes fast. Great holiday season job.

    Cons

    Long hours meant sore feet and back, team leads could be hard to track down for help.

    L.L. Bean2019-07-01
  3. "Top Maine company. Treated employees well."

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at L.L. Bean

      Pros

      Opportunity to meet people from around the world.

      Cons

      Commute. Being on your feet for long periods.

      Advice to Management

      More staff to service customers.

      L.L. Bean2019-06-20
    • "still trying to understand what's so great about llbean"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Department Manager 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at L.L. Bean full-time

        Pros

        Quality clothing at a discount. Some very nice customers.

        Cons

        My role in the store is extremely ambiguous. I've never actually have seen a job description. Far too many leads, especially those with no business acumen or people management skills. Horrible IT programs which makes doing your job properly next to impossible.

        Advice to Management

        PLEASE hire upper management from other successful retailers, and not based on their connection to the 'Outdoors" or LL Bean. You need consultants and advisers who know the retail store business.

        L.L. Bean2019-07-03
      • "Nice people, low pay"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Current Employee - Sales Representative 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I have been working at L.L. Bean part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Nice people and laid-back managers

        Cons

        Low pay, low hours for seasonal/part-time

        L.L. Bean2019-06-23
      • Helpful (2)

        "My worst management retail job in 20 years!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Manager in McLean, VA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Positive Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at L.L. Bean full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        The staff was pleasant to work with,

        Cons

        The sales rep staff was so drastically reduced at times that Managers worked as many as 17 hours a day (salaried)

        L.L. Bean2019-06-15
      • "Mostly a great place to work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Vice President in Freeport, ME
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at L.L. Bean full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Great company overall, good people at all levels, decent benefits, good salary (esp at upper levels)

        Cons

        cut the pension, conservative and overly-analytical culture

        Advice to Management

        need to take some more chances

        L.L. Bean2019-05-20
      • "Good Workplace"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - CSR2 in Lewiston, ME
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at L.L. Bean part-time for more than 5 years

        Pros

        Interesting work with good management support

        Cons

        Erratic work hours and some disorganization

        Advice to Management

        Regularize schedules

        L.L. Bean2019-05-17
      • "No internal growth"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Department Manager 
        Recommends
        Neutral Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at L.L. Bean full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        LL Bean is a great business and I had a wonderful experience working for them.

        Cons

        Lately they haven't been promoting their employees within. Instead they have been hiring outside managers rather then building their employees who want growth but continuously tell them they aren't ready.

        L.L. Bean2019-05-30
      • "Good Seasonal Job"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Seasonal Sales Associate 

          I have been working at L.L. Bean part-time

          Pros

          good coworkers, employee discount, flexible schedule

          Cons

          lots of standing, not a lot of shifts available

          L.L. Bean2019-05-31
        Found 492 reviews