L'Oréal Brand Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

L'Oréal Brand Manager Reviews

Updated 20 de Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 36 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
94%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal CEO Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
17 Ratings
  1. Helpful (24)

    "Manage Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Brand Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The organization really values your touch bases and check ins with your progress. You can truly own your destiny. I started out as an assistant store manager in a small retail division and am now, 5 years later, working my way onto a corporate management role with our Professional Products Division. Work hard, be a good person, and own your progress... It's all part of the entrepreneurial spirit of L'Oreal.

    Cons

    Things are constantly changing. If you are going to work for a company that has stayed relevant and always topped the industry in innovation, you need to be comfortable with this. At times, it can be frustrating to work on an initiative to have it scrapped because of different initiatives, but it is part of the big picture with L'Oreal.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value hard work and strong principles. Look at a better compensation structure that is not solely focused around previous compensation and rather the requirements of the role and where the role fits in relation to other roles and compensation structures.

    L'Oréal2016-05-26

    L'Oréal Response

    May 27, 2016Digital Marketing Manager

    Thank you so much for the time and energy you have put into L’Oréal to make it the place it is today. We always love to hear from our employees, as you have a great insight into our incredibly fast paced industry and what sets us apart from the rest. Congratulations on your career ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great for beauty junkies

    Cons

    Too political which hinders mobility if you are not a part of the in crowd; very meeting heavy; can be chaotic during key meetings.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees by giving opportunities to grow.

    L'Oréal2018-11-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Overall all a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    L'Oréal gives you the ability to innovate, explore and grow with your own passion

    Cons

    Very little work and life balance

    Advice to Management

    None

    L'Oréal2017-03-12

    L'Oréal Response

    March 19, 2017Employer Brand Specialist

    We want to thank you for your more than three years of work with us, we’re always excited to hear from current employees. We agree that the best thing about working at L'Oréal is the freedom to innovate and explore but we’re sorry to hear about your work/life balance experience. We’re ...

    Show More
  4. "Decent Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Assistant Brand Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at L'Oréal for less than a year

    Pros

    great products, great perks, and an overall fun place to work

    Cons

    culture depends on which brand team you're on.

    L'Oréal2017-01-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of responsibilities, but tough culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Ability to have alot of ownership over your products and projects - Free Goods ($80 worth) every month to spend in the company store - Flexibility to be creative

    Cons

    - Hard to move between departments - Company strongly favors the brand management team, which sometimes makes other teams feel like they aren't as important - Lots of turnover and burnout

    Advice to Management

    Find a way to keep your employees! You burn out alot of great talent!

    L'Oréal2017-01-12

    L'Oréal Response

    March 9, 2017Employer Brand Specialist

    It looks like you have a lot of great experiences from your three years with L’Oreal, we appreciate you sharing it with us! Creativity and work ownership are integral parts of our culture but we do realize we have some things to improve on. Your feedback will help us become a better ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Assistant Brand Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You definitely get to work with some pretty brilliant people.

    Cons

    It's rather inefficient. You present the same material over and over again. There is also a lot of internal presentation.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to the work instead of the show that people put on.

    L'Oréal2016-12-10
  7. "Good place to launch marketing career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Brand Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Strong marketing company; great place to launch your career & gain knowledge of the CPG world.

    Cons

    - Long hours and demanding management leads to quick burnout

    L'Oréal2015-11-16
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Terrible culture, uses "French" as an excuse"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Brand name for resume but don't stay too long or people will think you have a "L'Oreal" personality Good company store Try to find MBA talent but very hit or miss on how they are treated

    Cons

    Nepotism Politics Brands don't live up to their reputation because leadership does not know how to run a business or manage people Talent, people management does not exist Professionalism and common decency does not exist No work life balance

    Advice to Management

    Hire and welcome outsiders Learn to build a culture that fosters team growth and development - it will help your revenues

    L'Oréal2014-09-17
  9. Helpful (3)

    "A forward thinking, trend influenced beauty company that is mired in hierarchy, competitive culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Brand Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    talented work force, intuitive branding/marketing, amazing brands

    Cons

    extremely hierarchical, don't make clear/fast decisions, very competitive

    Advice to Management

    trust middle managements. take a choice and stick with it

    L'Oréal2014-03-24
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Sexy Industry, Horrible Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Assistant Brand Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal

    Pros

    - industry expereince - fun industry - good benefits and perks

    Cons

    - horrible management, career advancement - catty culture - lack of strong leadership

    Advice to Management

    make a stronger commitment to developing talent

    L'Oréal2011-06-03
Found 36 reviews