L'Oréal Reviews | Glassdoor

L'Oréal Reviews

Updated Oct 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 3504 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal CEO Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
1,129 Ratings
Pros
  • "You will learn to work in a fast-paced environment(in 114 reviews)

  • "L'Oreal offers competitive salary and great benefits(in 104 reviews)

Cons
  • "Work life balance can be improved(in 355 reviews)

  • "Relatively poor work life balance with long hours often continuing into the night(in 228 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    Experience was amazing. Great place to work

    Cons

    Nothing that i can think of

    L'Oréal2019-08-30
  2. "Good benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Scientist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Scientifically driven company, appreciate hard works

    Cons

    Many layers of management just like other big companies.

    L'Oréal2019-10-06
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Decent gig, but don't expect fast improvements or meaningful change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Clark, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits Starting salaries are competitive to excellent if you are recruited from outside the company. They want to bring in great people. Wonderful teammates Annual innovation contests

    Cons

    Ops and R&I leadership are a mixed bag in terms of professionalism and ethics -management can be vindictive and short sighted The office spaces in Clark are outdated and cramped IT is way behind in technology and support Salary raises and increases are low - they lose a lot of great people... Temp and Co-op culture. Less and less full-time employees

    Advice to Management

    Bring back professionalism to the company - Please improve our infrastructure, working space, IT... Give us full-time employees that can manage projects. It will pay off in the long run.

    L'Oréal2019-10-10
  4. "Great company, few complaints"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Copywriter in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The benefits, the network you create, strong brand=job security

    Cons

    If you're on the creative side, it can be frustrating at times. They don't take a lot of risks. But the good outweighs the bad.

    Advice to Management

    Communicate with your direct reports (one on ones) more frequently

    L'Oréal2019-09-27

    L'Oréal Response

    October 9, 2019Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for your 5+ years at L’Oréal! We take pride in the culture, benefits, and opportunities that we're able to provide our colleagues as the No.1 beauty company in the world. We strive to create an environment of honesty and open conversation and are working closely with our internal HR teams to constantly improve our communication throughout the company. We appreciate feedback like yours to help ensure that L'Oreal s a great place to work.

    Show Less
  5. Helpful (3)

    "No room for advancement and horrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Accounting in Saint Petersburg, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Health benefits, holidays, diverse culture and backgrounds, some great employees

    Cons

    Poor management, no upward mobility, poor work recognition, no support from management. High rate of turnover and FMLA due to high-stress work environment and micromanaging. Some managers are disrespectful and will call you out in front of everybody instead of using a private room. Lately, the environment became toxic.

    Advice to Management

    Take the time to know your employees and treat everyone equally. Publicly reward and recognize hard work. Show your employees they matter and they’ll do their best work for you.

    L'Oréal2019-10-06
  6. "Respectable corporate company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Production Manager in Little Rock, AR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of training and growth opportunities, high value on safety and quality, well-funded company that continues to grow and invest in new technologies and products, very bright and smart employees, lots of mentors to learn from

    Cons

    The workload can be overwhelming

    L'Oréal2019-09-25

    L'Oréal Response

    October 9, 2019Employer Brand Specialist

    We always love to hear from our former colleagues, we're glad to hear your experience with us was positive and hope you're succeeding at your current professional endeavor! Mentorship is one of the pillars of our culture at L’Oréal, we provide many opportunities for colleagues to connect with each other through a custom designed-open office space, employee-led affinity groups, regular company meet-ups and other events like our annual Volunteer Day! We understand some might have difficulties with workload and always encourage our colleagues to connect regularly with their teams, managers and HR partners to find a solution.

    Show Less
  7. "Truly a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder in Bethlehem, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support, good benefits, great quality products.

    Cons

    POS system slowed us down, but other than that not one complaint.

    Advice to Management

    Stay on top of store managers, offer more individual support.

    L'Oréal2019-09-19
  8. "Mac artist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at L'Oréal part-time

    Pros

    Paid well starting rate was 19 dollars an hour

    Cons

    Seasonal work doesn’t lead to permanent

    L'Oréal2019-10-02
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Culture of Pressure and Constantly Changing Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's an attractive brand where you get exposure to alot of different people and challenges. You will get the opportunity to do as much as you are capable of. Pay was competitive.

    Cons

    Employee survey results are getting worse, increase in low value work, poor systems, unfair and uneven promotions, cronyism, nepotism, lack of vision of senior leadership, inability to act, culture of downward pressure, lifetime employees only know how to manage by force and will never leave. I worked more here than any job before and got less reward than anywhere before. They take complaints about the culture as an... example that people aren't "cut out" for it and refuse to actually make improvements to it

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Manage people and teams through goals, collaboration, and communication not through pressure, constantly shifting priorities, and false promises

    L'Oréal2019-09-25
  10. "Training Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Beauty Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You can train your customer services skill when you working here

    Cons

    Salary is not high that I expected

    Advice to Management

    Managers support employee

    L'Oréal2019-09-13
Found 3504 reviews