L'Oréal Reviews | Glassdoor

L'Oréal Reviews

Updated December 8, 2018
2,545 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
L'Oréal Chief Executive Officer Jean-Paul Agon
Jean-Paul Agon
939 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • "Learn a lot and are given a lot of responsibility" (in 67 reviews)

  • "In addition Senior management is focused on ensuring their employees can maintain a work/life balance and utilize the work from home policy" (in 59 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (14)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Clark, NJ
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Clark, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    L'Oreal USA is not for everyone. Let me start with that... But if you enjoy working in an environment that is passionate about winning and where you can bring any idea to the table then this company is for you. Now the challenge is how you get it done....just like anywhere else. But L'Oreal is not an overly process driven company overall. What I love is that you can create your own and there are great people who are willing to help. This company truly embraces diversity and inclusion. No one size fits all model here.

    Cons

    L'Oreal has thrived all these years with great people. However, in this digital age it's time to balance it out with better systems and tools. Too manual for a company this size.

    Advice to Management

    Seeing a lot of positive change in work flexibility with the renovations at The Hub. It is crucial we continue to find flexible work options across all LUSA locations to not only compete but go beyond our competition.

    L'Oréal Response

    May 24, 2018 – Employer Brand Specialist

    We're very glad to see you're enjoying your time with L'Oréal! We work every day to make sure we're empowering our colleagues to bring the best and brightest ideas to the table in an environment that... More


  2. "QC Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal part-time

    Pros

    Friendly environment. A lot of employees.

    Cons

    Difficult for temporary employees sometimes.

  3. "Counter manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee

    Pros

    I love the company and the product

    Cons

    I love to challenge with people ,trying to look good

    Advice to Management

    First to be a good leader ,challenge with people, make the number up, great client service, train employees, also educate client s


  4. "Assistant Product Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    L'Oreal is a great company to learn, to grow. It provides many opportunities for a marketer to try on a new idea.

    Cons

    work overtime and under pressure


  5. Helpful (1)

    "Interesting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Manager in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Senior Brand Manager in New York, NY

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Great for beauty junkies

    Cons

    Too political which hinders mobility if you are not a part of the in crowd; very meeting heavy; can be chaotic during key meetings.

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your employees by giving opportunities to grow.


  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Great place to work with loads of benefits

    Cons

    Very fast paced. High volume

    L'Oréal Response

    Nov 15, 2018 – L'Oréal Talent team

    Dear colleague, thank you for sharing your review! We ae glad to know your first year is off to a great start. Yes, L'Oréal is a fast paced environment to which we count on the agility of our... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Looks good on resume but don’t stay long!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Purchasing Manager in New York, NY
    Former Employee - Purchasing Manager in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at L'Oréal full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great benefits- vacation & paid holidays, summer hours, free goods

    Cons

    Expected to work 24/7 which causes burnout & turnover. Young culture- many over 50 phased out by outsourcing jobs to keep numbers down.. Marketing driven culture .

    Advice to Management

    resoect all employees rather than catering to young marketing MBA’s who eventually leave.

    L'Oréal Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Employer Brand Specialist

    We appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for your more than 10 years with L’Oreal. We recognize all of our colleagues for their unique and valuable contribution to our business. Work/Life... More

  8. "Great company to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time

    Pros

    You have many opportunities to learn and get a lot of samples

    Cons

    The salary could be higher

    L'Oréal Response

    Nov 11, 2018 – L'Oréal Talent team

    Dear colleague, thank you for sharing your experience! We're really proud to be a learning company, and it's great to know that our employees value this! All the best, Emma


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Strong company with great brands and spending power"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Long term career and strong brands

    Cons

    Compensation still lagging for women.Still very French male environment. This doesn't seem to be changing anytime soon. After many years with the company I am not fighting it anymore. I don't think that I will achieve the levels of the white males here.

    Advice to Management

    Respect Americans and people of all nationalities and demonstrate that in your words and actions.

    L'Oréal Response

    Nov 19, 2018 – Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts and for your more than 10 years with L'Oréal. We're happy to hear that you've been enjoying your career with us!

    We believe that the diversity of our teams... More


  10. Helpful (2)

    "Manufacturing - 4 year Salary employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Somerset, NJ
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Somerset, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L'Oréal full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    People can be passionate and want to do well. People can be like family
    It’s a school of hard knocks but you learn a lot through the chaos

    Cons

    Though wildly promoted, work life balance there is a constant expectation to be chained to your laptop or cell phone(not even a work appointed phone) on personal time i.e. weekends, evenings after working a full work day, dinners with family, vacations. You can easily be working 12- 14 hour days or 60+ hours and not getting a manager salary.

    Though initiatives like work from home, flexible hours are presented and said to be “available”.They are not available to everyone. Some coworkers abuse the system thereby not allowing their other coworkers the ability to have these options available. Flexible hours are nice to a certain extent.

    When starting 4 years ago I saw a lot of promise and growth in the manufacturing area. Now it almost seems like a prison, morale is the lowest I’ve ever seen in the hourly and salary. Even the managers can’t hide the exhaustion of over workloads anymore and unrealistic goal setting

    From my start date to now, transparency with upper management has decreased. Coworkers are afraid to bring things to the table out of fear while years ago this was encouraged. The facility has turned from a positive people fueled family all about making the dream happen to running solely on fear of not being able to achieve or get in trouble due to the high expectations.

    All facilities not just Loreal are good at their publicity stunts for upper management beyond local management. this is a known thing everywhere. However 4 years ago This facility had actual positive things happening that seemed like the real deal and then they bogged the organizers down to a point they had to abandon those projects but now unfortunately it’s more evident that things are getting thrown together in a scramble to make things look good and make our facility not look like our souls have been sucked out by the high turnarounds causing people to work other people’s positions in addition to already unmanageable.

    Upper management and Managers need to be reviewed more closely. Some managers need continuous coaching to develop. This will avoid managers flip flopping on directions.

    Advice to Management

    I don’t mean to write such a long review but I want to see change because I love this company. Obviously, the surveys aren’t working to resolve any of the issues. We can’t just put bandaids over stress at work anymore. We need to find real solutions that are more personal. Making the manufacturing facilities nicer could help with morale too.

    People are the key to success, their well being, their fuel is what keeps the company going. But you can’t feed the fire (Loreal passion and quality) without fuel( people)and right now we’re watering down our fuel too much.

    L'Oréal Response

    Dec 3, 2018 – Employer Brand Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We believe that our people are the company’s greatest asset and we take their feedback and satisfaction at work very seriously.

    The... More