L3 Technologies Project Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

L3 Technologies Project Manager Reviews

Updated Jan 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
10%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
L3 Technologies Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President  Christopher E. Kubasik
Christopher E. Kubasik
1 Rating
  1. "L3 Stratis was an excellent organization and I really enjoyed being part of the team. L3 Stratis made you feel at home."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager II in Tampa, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    L3 Stratis provided an excellent culture, advance training, and more than competitive compensation package.

    Cons

    There was not much upward mobility within the company.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2014-02-26
  2. "Excellent people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Interesting products Impressive engineering talent Exciting industry

    Cons

    Unrealistic resourcing plans considering existing committed deliverables and aggressive growth goals.

    L3 Technologies2019-01-16
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are really great, welcoming, and loyal to the company.

    Cons

    The company culture is not conducive to a productive environment. Majority of deliverables are delinquent and do not meet schedule date. Once a product becomes late there isn't any urgency to deliver, and it actually falls in priority.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2018-08-25
  4. "Project Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Hanover, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent work. Good work life balance. Decent benefits. Pay was better than average. Management tried really hard to keep people.

    Cons

    Its hard to balance the needs of the company with the needs of every single employee. Large business mentality forced cut backs on employee perks.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2018-01-16
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overall, good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Eglin AFB, FL

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Decent management, overall, two of the best I ever had were with this company. Executives truly cared about employee engagement. Career growth possible, but often required moving to the DC area, or larger metro areas.

    Cons

    Employee morale was low up at HQ in particular (DC). High turnover in support areas of Finance and HR. Too many logins, applications, implementations. Nothing given enough time to work.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2016-12-17
  6. "It Depends"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Madison, MS

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is decent, depending on the contract you're working under. L-3 VERTEX and other L-3 divisions always have positions available world-wide, so if you're willing or want to relocate, it's easy. Company is involved with a lot of projects in many different areas, so if your current job isn't satisfying, you can move to another more interesting project if you're willing to relocate.

    Cons

    If your project deals with mature common technology and aircraft, Vertex does a great job. If your project deals with a brand new aircraft or technology, Vertex is WAY over its head. Vertex is primarily an aircraft modification and flight operations support company. If you're supporting a fleet of Beech King Air aircraft, the project will run smoothly. Otherwise, be prepared to deal with incompetent engineers who don't know how to say "I don't know". Expense reports take a minimum of 20 working days to process and there is no paper trail. When I worked for them, I was sent to Afghanistan for two weeks. The round trip business class flight from Atlanta to Kandahar, hotel, etc. was charged to my AMEX card (Aproximately $10,000). I submitted an expense report for the plane ticket the day after the ticket was purchased. I didn't get reimbursed until 35 days later. I paid the AMEX bill myself to avoid late fees and damage to my credit. This is a common occurrence. All expense reports are done ON PAPER and there is no electronic "trail" to follow to see where the report is in the approval process. This is a common issue. Management won't even try to come up with a status until four weeks (20 business days) after the report was initially submitted. Vertex does shoddy aircraft maintenance, or at least the group I worked for did. The contract I worked under was a fixed price based on flying hours. I personally saw worn tires that had been removed at the direction of a customer pilot reinstalled on another aircraft with the hope that another pilot would accept them. $$$ takes precedence over safety! Poor communication from all levels of management. Management tends to be in "putting out fires" mode rather than preventing problems in the first place. In my experience, the ONLY time management communicated with staff was if there was an emergency.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2016-10-18
  7. "Challenging Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Project Manager in Berthoud, CO
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at L3 Technologies for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The work was always challenging

    Cons

    Pressure Cooker - A VERY high stress enviornment

    L3 Technologies2016-08-04
  8. "Hard work is (usually) rewarded"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Project Manager in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L3 Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Autonomy and freedom to get your job done at the pace you would like. You can be as successful as you want to be.

    Cons

    Discrepancies across organizations within the company often lead to miscommunication and confusion. The lack of training is frustrating for new hires.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2016-05-03
  9. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Project Manager 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L3 Technologies

    Pros

    Flexibility and chances for advancement.

    Cons

    Moderate pay. Not many others. It is what you make of it. Benefits aren't the greatest, but they are better than others.

    L3 Technologies2016-02-15
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Don't work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in College Park, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3 Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people who want to see the company succeed. Leadership tries to push for innovation, which seems to be lacking throughout the company.

    Cons

    Terrible leadership, communication, and opportunities for career expansion. Took over 1.5 years for employee reviews for merit increases.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2015-09-14
Found 24 reviews