L3 Technologies Senior Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

L3 Technologies Senior Engineer Reviews

Updated Nov 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.8
52%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
L3 Technologies Chairman, Chief Executive Officer and President  Christopher E. Kubasik
Christopher E. Kubasik
3 Ratings
  1. "Great benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Test Engineer in Annapolis Junction, MD

    I have been working at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Amazing Benefits-Pay, health care, 401K, Vacation, PTO, Insurance

    Cons

    Camden, NJ, bad location for traffic, safety, but great job.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2018-08-27
  2. "Nice old fashion place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior S/W Engineer 

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    interesting products to work on

    Cons

    too much politics,hard to get promoted

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2019-11-29
  3. "Poor management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Sarasota, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good people work there, but they are hindered by lack of cohesive vision

    Cons

    Poor management and communication gives engineers lack of insight into their goals and tasks.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2019-09-30
  4. "Decent pay, lots of cut corners - health benefits not all that great."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Network Engineer in Chantilly, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's a job. The alternative is being homeless.

    Cons

    They didn't care much about the contract customers, just the money the contracts brought in and how to maximize profit at the expense of employee benefits that are standard for highly skilled engineers.. They focused too much on forcing employees to watch compliance videos due to former employee bad behavior -- getting caught with their "hands in the cookie jar". But this is so common these days and it's just a matter of whom you can work for if that's all you care about. The medical insurance plan was very poor. Most high-tech companies provide free health benefits these days. L3 lost a lot of talent to other high tech companies due to benefits and salary alone. Most of management was out of touch and no one knew them, barely their names. Having worked at even bigger companies, I was always surprised to see their approach to cutting costs. I likened it to the "self-checkout" counters at the stores these days. All HR, Benefits, and other actions were done in similar fashion. It was painful getting through to a real person sometimes. Finally, there was very little room for upward mobility. L3 is not a meritocracy; at least it wasn't in 2016 - I highly doubt that's changed since.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2019-05-26
  5. "Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Systems Engineer in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    9/80 work schedule which is nice

    Cons

    Difficult to advance career which is unfortunate

    L3 Technologies2019-05-30
  6. Helpful (1)

    "It's a job, but that's about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Mechanical Engineer in Greenville, TX

    I have been working at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work is fairly stable. I've always had good immediate supervisors and managers.

    Cons

    mediocre work environment, upper management lack of understanding of what's important to employees, annual merit salary increases are inadequate to keep up with market, morale has been an issue through the years

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2018-11-25
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Company leadership does not listen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Local leadership will work with employees to maintain work and life balance Most of the people you work with are nice End of year shut down with pay

    Cons

    Upper and Executive leadership are arrogant and do not listen to the boots on the ground Pay and benefits are below market average Extremely lean at certain locations so expect to drown in more work than can be done Poor on-boarding - sink or swim mentality IT department is horrible - took over a month to get my computer system ordered and installed Company will use “patriotism” against you if you ask for fair compensation People regularly leave and get 20-30% pay increases yet Executives do nothing to ensure pay parity

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2018-10-24
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Rockwall, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L3 Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    • Flexible work schedule, 9/80. • Benefits are same as for big company anywhere else. • Dress code: Business casual but open to you wearing a t-shirt. • Plenty of desk space. • Working on changing the culture, hopefully for the better.

    Cons

    • Upper and intermediate management has a big discrepancy in beliefs of the organization. • Lack of movement or training to gain more skill to advance when the opportunity is available. • Intermediate management sets bad examples of how to effectively communicate to teams and wait until last second to get things done. • IT issues are constantly slowing work down or causing computer crashes. • No Remote working allowed, no matter the circumstances. • Not very innovated or inspired to be innovated even though they are claiming to want to move in that direction. • Great place to start working at right out of college or finishing your career at. Not made for midcareer people who are wanting to advance or gain skill sets. • Negative attitudes in the workplace and lack of effort from management to fix these issues that are lingering.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2018-07-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Earnest, Collaborative, Transgender & Age Inclusive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at L3 Technologies full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    After working in the L3 Link headquarters for six months, these things stand-out to me: 1. Earnestness: people here take their work, and relationships seriously. I mean this in the most positive way - people make an effort. 2. Collaborative: people work together as a team here, where some teams are organized & persistent and more are ad hoc & temporary. My job is to analyze & synthesize ideas, and I have found myself seeking various Subject Matter Experts, and as I have done so, I have developed & grown relationships. In all this there seems to be a "flattening" of any hierarchy, where people at all levels collaborate to contribute their own piece of the whole. I see this quite a lot around me. (At the same time, this does not impinge upon those who need to work alone.) 3. Transgender Inclusive: this is crucial for me because I am a woman of transgender experience, one of very few female engineers among hundreds of male ones. With the strong male & military influence here, I had braced for a backlash against my personhood - this has not happened. People here are respected for how they contribute to our goals, and my "trans-ness" (where is it know or recognized) is simply a feature of my personal background, and it is almost completely irrelevant. Nice! Some years ago, I underwent a gradual & gentle transition from male expression, form & role to female, and this change was positively embraced (with virtually no pushback); that I could become *myself*, a competent, appreciated working woman in a largely male workplace is pricelessly valuable to me. Moreover, there are a handful of transgender people working at our site, and from what I can see, they too are well received. 3. Age Inclusive: as an aging engineer, I have been concerned that I would be "pushed-out" because I am "pushing sixty." Amazingly, I have found people my age (and older) technologists at every level of seniority, working without (apparent) fear that they will be pushed-out by younger workers. The professional wisdom (hard & soft knowledge + experience) we bring to our work is appreciated here. Again, we are results-oriented here. These four things I listed have been my personal observation, but this has also been supported by conversations I have had with my manager and our HR director. Certainly this is no "Eden" to work in, but here again, the good will of our "earnestness" seems to drive us in positive directions personally and professionally.

    Cons

    I miss working remotely; L3 Link seems to be phasing-out their remote workers. I worked this way for nearly a decade, along with most of my team, and we performed superbly. (The reason I am back in the office is that the program I am working in requires me to be on-site for government security purposes.) Through the years, increasingly tightened IT security policies have made it increasingly difficult for software developers to get their jobs done, reducing productivity and sapping joy from the work. By removing more and more machine privileges from our computers, it becomes increasingly difficult to do our work, and in some cases it becomes impossible to do what we need to do. Our tools are important to us and we feel shackled by the restrictions put upon us.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2018-05-08
  10. "Could have been my swan song!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Engineering Technician in Garland, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L3 Technologies full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits. 9/80 work week. Great team to work with on the floor, Lots of Engineers and Technicians that are the cream of the crop.

    Cons

    Not spending the money to upgrade or replace worn out obsolete equipment. Doing things because “that’s the way we’ve always done it” mentality, even when that way is wrong! Big wigs dishonest about shutting down the Garland location.

    Continue reading
    L3 Technologies2018-05-04
Found 96 reviews