L3Harris Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineer

L3Harris Engineer Reviews

Updated Dec 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
51%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
L3Harris President and CEO Bill Brown
Bill Brown
30 Ratings
  1. "Really Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at L3Harris part-time

    Pros

    Its a Flexible work place on hours as college student and pays very well

    Cons

    Not a lot of Females

    L3Harris2019-11-30
  2. "Interesting work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palm Bay, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great coworkers. Everyone is easy to get along with. Guaranteed 40 hour week for most people.

    Cons

    No performance based bonus of any kind. Your salary is all you get.

    L3Harris2019-12-15
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Working Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Engineer in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional and hard working teammates with focus on customer requirements and project. Environment that helps develop your career in industry.

    Cons

    Cut backs on employee benefit to boost corporate bottom line.

    Advice to Management

    Don't take for granted employee worth in meeting the bottom line

    L3Harris2019-12-10
  4. "Starting at L3Harris"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Stress Engineer in Greenville, TX

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Really competitive wages with paid overtime for salaried employees.

    Cons

    Not a great location for younger people to live.

    L3Harris2019-12-10
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer in Ann Arbor, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Big company perks, small company feel. Good benefits like paying for gym membership, tuition reimbursement & PTO.

    Cons

    New company after merger, Harris and L3 still becoming integrated.

    L3Harris2019-12-11
  6. "Ok for an engineering job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in Palm Bay, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay. People here are good to work with for the most part

    Cons

    Not enough training. Too much overtime is expected of you. Benefits get worse and more expensive every year. You can get approved for special shift hours for school but if certain people in the department don't like it, they can pull strings to get you fired

    Advice to Management

    Get people proper training and allow employees a work life balance

    L3Harris2019-12-12
  7. "Great first internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Intern - Mechanical Engineer Intern in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends

    I have been working at L3Harris for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice coworkers, workspace, and place to get experience.

    Cons

    Must take initiative or very limited work load

    L3Harris2019-11-27
  8. "Big company with big politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Project Engineer in Anaheim, CA
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L3Harris for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay is on par or better than industry standard. Benefits for permanent employees are excellent. 401K, Bonus, Vacation time and a 9/80 work schedule.

    Cons

    As a contractor I did not have access to any of their benefits and missed out on several significant departmental training opportunities. Major politics within their Mechanical Engineering group. Playing the email game with leads adding directors to email enforcing uncommunicated policies. A level of arrogance with some of the functional leads and managers. Program Manager bypassing the PE and directing the... Engineers work and priorities. Looking back on my time there I can clearly see it wasn't a great fit.

    Show More
    L3Harris2019-12-11
  9. "Interesting, Challenging work, lots of OT opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer V in Greenville, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A lot of interesting, challenging work. Never a dull day. Plenty of opportunities to pick projects to work on based on your interests. Working there is like an extended family. Sometimes dysfunctional, but mostly really nice. Typical family!

    Cons

    They are the wild west implementing projects. Process is seen as a hurdle, not something that can help the outcome of the work. They then rely on "all-hands on deck" mentality to tiger team the project through the end to make up for delays.

    Advice to Management

    Solve the problem identified in the "Cons" section.

    L3Harris2019-11-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance overall

    Cons

    Benefits shrink each year overall

    L3Harris2019-12-06
Found 67 reviews