KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

L3Harris

Engaged Employer

L3Harris

Add a Review

L3Harris Reviews

Updated Sep 22, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,229 of over 1,394 reviews

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
L3Harris Vice Chair and CEO Chris Kubasik
Chris Kubasik
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Company allows flexible time with an option of 4/10 or 9/80 work weeks and pseudo-unlimited vacation(in 45 reviews)

  • "Very Flexible Schedule and Work Life Balance(in 38 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "work-life balance can be missing(in 17 reviews)

  • "Can work long hours for long periods time(in 14 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of L3Harris and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year
      Featured Review

      GREAT PLACE TO WORK

      Aug 20, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Millersville, MD
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They take care of their employees and provide a good salary and benefits. I would recommend them to anyone looking for a change.

      Cons

      The company is still in transformation from the recent L3 and Harris merger. But the changes are exciting and they are positioning themselves to become a top defense contractor.

      1 person found this review helpful

      L3Harris Response

      Lead: Talent Management

      Thank you for your review! We are glad to hear you are having a positive employee experience!

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Fairness.

      Sep 15, 2021 - Master Electronic Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Professionalism, respect , integrity and sharing.

      Cons

      None I can think of at the moment. Maybe more cross training.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Pleasantly Surprised

      Aug 11, 2021 - Senior Systems Engineer in Palm Bay, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I came to L3Harris approximately three months ago from a larger engineering firm in the area. So far, I do not regret the transition. I was not unhappy at my last job, but L3H had a position that was more closely aligned with my personal interests. So far I have received a significant amount of training and support to help me in my new role. Things seem to work more smoothly here, and there is less red tape associated with gaining access to resources. If employees are not completely satisfied with their current position, we are regularly encouraged to seek out other opportunities within the company. I also believe there are less "filler" employees at L3H when compared to similar companies. Every person on my current project seem to be vital and are entrusted with important tasks, as well as knowledgeable duty experts. Management seems to listen to input from those with detailed expert knowledge and experience, which is a nice change for me personally. There are also a ton of positions and projects, so it's easy to find something you're really interested in.

      Cons

      COVID-19 has created some abstract barriers to team engagement. I understand L3H has an obligation to protect their employees, but there is a marked difference in the productivity of detailed problems when we try to solve issues via teleconference and emails, rather than in-person working groups.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Ok

      Sep 22, 2021 - Assembly B in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some good supervisors, good benefits. Good hours. The pay is ok and is based on what shift you work base pay for L3Harris full time employee’s is 15.72 per hour plus adjustment for shift work as I work 3rd 3.93the hours are 12 hour days 3 days fri-sun for 3rd shift days and nights 10 hour 4 days a week

      Cons

      For a communication company they need to do way better. Those at the top of the company hold all the power and pay. During covid they gave us a small meal which tasted like crap and I threw away. Keep in mind it was once. I worked with hardly anyone And with no extra pay. We are a a government contractor so we were essential workers. While some of my fellow empolyees stayed home and received the extra 600 on top of the unemployment pay. So they basically got paid more to stay home. While I worked my but off getting product out. Not once did they give us any extra money. This was totally unfair. And with this company it all in who you know!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Current Employee

      They hire engineers to be drafters

      Sep 14, 2021 - Mechanical Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is decent and PTO is good for early career employees. As with most defense contractors the work life balance is great.

      Cons

      PTO is below average if you are a senior employee since everyone gets the same amount. In my department the "mechanical" work is 99% drafting with no actual analysis. I joined during the merger with Harris and it's been an absolute mess. The onboarding process here is worse than anywhere else I've worked, it took me months to get my required software. They don't use chip badges so you need software tokens for encryption and teleworking which is unnecessarily convoluted and annoying. Laptops are not standard either so teleworking is a remote desktop, again, convoluted and annoying. The drawing practice at my division lacks organization and leaves people asking the engineers where to find drawings when that should be easily available from other drawings. People at my division loudly shout their conservative conspiracy theories as well. I've worked with people with their beliefs before but the culture here alloys them to loudly shout their beliefs which can be very distracting. They also just sold off 10% of the company after the merger.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      if you're looking for work, keep looking

      Sep 15, 2021 - Designer in San Leandro, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      if you're any good, you can command a good salary, good help is hard to come by these days.

      Cons

      The Harris merger lowered this particular business unit to new lows. IT support nonexistent, aging tools, bug infested and obsolete software, crumbling infrastructure and a complete lack of courtesy and respect for employees. At this location we were using 13 year old software and billing the government at an overhead rate that is unspeakable. And the annual compliance training is geared for elementary school children. Grown men and women don't need to be fed that kind of pablum.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Working at L3Harris

      Aug 27, 2021 - Associate Manufacturing Engineer in Fort Wayne, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I have been working here for less than a year. Onboarding was great. The culture is amazing and they make me feel like a person. Everyone is willing to help and if they don't know the answer they will point me to the right direction. I enjoy the benefits I receive and the work life balance is amazing. This is my first job out of college and I couldn't ask for a better company. Even though I do not know a lot get the opportunity and watch what's going on and I'm slowly becoming hands on. Everyone is treated equally no matter what. Thank you so much.

      Cons

      I can't complain. It is not fast paced but there is always something to do and improve. Hm. Not many African Americans but it is a diverse company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Worst work culture I've ever experienced

      Jul 25, 2021 - Senior Mechanical Design Engineer in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The projects in the space division are exciting, interesting, and cool.

      Cons

      The space division literally has to only be less-than-passable for people to stay there because the work is really interesting. However, they can't even manage to be less-than-passable. L3Harris is an awful, stressful place to work. The work culture is isolating. The projects you work on will be drastically understaffed and under-funded. Managers will pressure you to do shoddy work because that's all that's possible with the workload/time/money they have. Engineers and managers are set up for failure and then berated when failure inevitably happens. Raises are frequently below the inflation rate even if you exceed expectations, so you essentially get a pay cut every year. Promotions and raising up the career ladder are discussed, but rarely happen. I know I sound like a disgruntled employee, but I am not. I frequently exceed expectations in my reviews and I like my work, I just hate L3Harris. I've worked many places in my career and I cannot stress this enough: this is the most toxic environment I've ever experienced. A mass exodus is currently happening; everyone from program managers to technicians are leaving in droves and senior management let us know it's because we needed better IT infrastructure. (They know it's not because of IT infrastructure). I will be leaving L3Harris as soon as I find another job and that's why I'm on glassdoor. Please, everyone, listen to me when I say, you don't want to work here.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful

      L3Harris Response

      Lead: Talent Management

      We are sorry to hear you feel as though you are not having a positive employee experience. There are many ways you can voice your opinions, suggestions and/or concerns. We use quarterly pulsing to listen to employees and hear suggestions on how to improve our workplaces. We also encourage you to reach out to your manager, HR Business Partner or ethics advisor. We offer an anonymous way to submit ethics concerns via the Ethics & Compliance Helpline (www.L3HarrisHelpline.com or 877-532-6339).

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      My experience as a new employee

      Sep 1, 2021 - Executive Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Right out of the gate everyone is very nice so willing to help and explain things. Help you correct something if they notice it was missed or done incorrectly. Programs and software are similar to most large corporations so not major learning curve in that area.

      Cons

      For as large as the company is I am surprised at the minimal extra programs they have available to their employees. Such as discounts on cellular phone plans, car insurance, travel packages, tickets to theme parks, etc.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      L3Harris Response

      Lead: Talent Management

      Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you've had a good onboarding experience! In addition to core benefits (health, life, disability, 401k), we provide access to a wide breadth of voluntary benefits that offer competitive group pricing and the convenience of payroll deductions. This includes but is not limited to: • Pet insurance • Discounts on everyday items such as cellular plans • Auto/home • Prepaid legal (you can also include your parents) • Identity theft protection • Critical illness and more To learn more on how to access these, we suggest reaching out to your manager or HR Business Partner. Thank you.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Quality company with competitive salary/benefits

      Aug 26, 2021 - Fellow 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, great products, top notch people, organized and focused approach to growing the financial portion of the company after the L3 and Harris merger. Management communications has improved greatly. Company stock performance has been outstanding over the years. Military business performing well. Company is well respected for best of class products.

      Cons

      Commercial aviation portion of business recovering from COVID slowdown. Needs to be more proactive in their commercial IRAD investments so they are market makers, not playing catching up.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      L3Harris Response

      Lead: Talent Management

      Thank you for your review! We agree with you that we have interesting work, great products and top-notch people. In the spirit of continuous improvement, we encourage you to reach out to your manager or HR Business Partner on ways we can continue to pursue excellence in everything we do. Thank you again for your contributions and tenure with us.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,229 Reviews

    Popular Careers with L3Harris Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at L3Harris? Share Your Experiences

    or