L3Harris Reviews | Glassdoor

L3Harris Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
57%
Approve of CEO
L3Harris CEO Bill Brown
Bill Brown
75 Ratings
  1. "Great well rounded environment with a lot of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Expediter in Waco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place wot work. Not only is it exciting to be a part of an innovative team, but they offer great pay and benefits. Teams come together her to get the job done. Your encouraged to learn and grow. I’m looking forward to a long career with this wonderful team.

    Cons

    I don’t have anything to add to this section.

    L3Harris2019-10-30
  2. Helpful (7)

    "The ‘merger’ is reducing employee benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Muskegon, MI
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Was higher than average pay but gap is gone

    Cons

    The merger, which is essentially a takeover by Harris, has already started to impact benefits for L3 legacy employees. Vacation hours reduced, vacation flexibility is reduced. There’s obvious drive to eliminate experienced salary employees. Expectation is bonus will be eliminated in 2020. The salary leveling will occur and employees with higher than average salaries, no matter their contribution will be... eliminated. Consolidation in defense will reduce competition and result in CEOs making millions and everyone else getting by with less.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t take from employees in name of business improvements and have CEO exercise $61M in stock options.

    L3Harris2019-11-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "L3Harris Software Engineer Co-op Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Greenville, TX

    I worked at L3Harris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people and good pay considering the location and being in college still.

    Cons

    Location is Greenville TX, which is an hour out from Dallas, so commute is difficult

    L3Harris2019-10-30
  5. "Paperwork and little gets done."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High Salary, Huge bonuses, Profit Sharing, and amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Paperwork, long hours, document EVERYTHING, your watched like an inmate in prison.

    Advice to Management

    Even though this job does deal with national security we'd still like some personal space.

    L3Harris2019-12-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great company and work balance with 9/80 Schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Integration and Test 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    L3Harris is a good company. It has its challenges but overall is a decent Institution. If you want to work for it, I would say, go ahead and apply. 9/80 schedule, Super! Also the company will not fire you for any reasons, it reminds me a little bit the military, you have to really mess up in order to get fired. Thumb up!

    Cons

    In my opinion, the company doesn't pay good compared to other companies; that is one of the reasons many people are leaving for more competitive salaries. I gave a rating of 3/5 because of this reason.

    Advice to Management

    Give your engineers a better pay, your organization is a good one... if not, good people will leave.

    L3Harris2019-11-04
  7. Helpful (7)

    "Toxic Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palm Bay, FL

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a job that pays

    Cons

    This is not a good company for a software engineer. No work life balance. Poor benefits. Disconnected engineering leadership. Double digit turnover. Note: I guess our reviews were getting bad on this site because they asked us to post.

    Advice to Management

    Reach out to employees and try to make it a better place to work

    L3Harris2019-11-22
  8. Helpful (7)

    "The FL Harris portion of L3Harris promotes a 1toxic/bullying work place culture."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - FPGA Design Engineer in Palm Bay, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L3Harris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The pay is reasonable for a year or two.

    Cons

    A fear/bullying culture is instilled because you can't trust leadership. If you show any weakness leadership will exploit that and make you look bad. Leadership will not provide any technical training leaving you constantly investing your own time outside of work learning about the new technologies. Leadership will advertise they train employees but that is a lie and it is just corporate training that doesn't help... you with your job at all. Overall they don't invest in engineering so don't expect anyone on your team to be an expert. You will give everything and leadership will step on you. During my time at L3Harris I was bullied, yelled at swore at and was in constant fear of leadership. Leadership at L3Haris are a bunch of snakes because none of them care about you and you are just a resource and not an asset to them. You are just a human shield to them in combat of government contracts. My advice to anyone considering this company would be only consider if you are desperate because you will get treated like dirt.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop promoting the jerks/bullies because it is destroying the company. Stop cutting corners! Stop promoting a revolving door culture due to treating employees like garbage. Get a CEO that cares about the employees and not just the value of the stock.

    L3Harris2019-11-21
  9. "I loved working for L3Harris!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at L3Harris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    L3Harris has a variety of benefits to choose from, they have a 9/80 work schedule, and upward mobility available

    Cons

    I worked many long hours for the company, which made it sometimes hard to keep a work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Don’t disregard those people with legacy knowledge of the business

    L3Harris2019-10-21
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Reorganization, RIF, and Merger Chaos"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Undisclosed in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L3Harris full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Easy access to the airport, cutting edge technology

    Cons

    Failing leadership at the corporate level, lack of internal communication, instability, over-worked, unorganized management, lack of support, pay inequality...I could go on, but you get the idea!

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect and communicate expectations. Be accountable for your actions and hold others to the same level to be successful.

    L3Harris2019-11-20
  11. Helpful (1)

    "It's great to be a part of this new organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Bigger Company Stronger Defense Contractor Great Opportunities For Growth

    Cons

    As with any new organization change, there are a lot of unknowns to be figured out which can cause unfortunate stress

    Advice to Management

    Continue to be patient with everyone as we develop new and better policies for the entire company. Increase our envolvement with each other through company activities with the community we live with.

    L3Harris2019-10-14
Found 129 reviews