L3Harris Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor

L3Harris Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 6 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
35%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
L3Harris CEO Bill Brown
Bill Brown
10 Ratings
  1. "Really Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I have been working at L3Harris part-time

    Pros

    Its a Flexible work place on hours as college student and pays very well

    Cons

    Not a lot of Females

    L3Harris2019-11-30
  2. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time

    Pros

    Good work life balance overall

    Cons

    Benefits shrink each year overall

    L3Harris2019-12-06
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (2)

    "Paperwork and little gets done."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    High Salary, Huge bonuses, Profit Sharing, and amazing benefits.

    Cons

    Paperwork, long hours, document EVERYTHING, your watched like an inmate in prison.

    Continue reading
    L3Harris2019-12-03
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Toxic Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palm Bay, FL

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It is a job that pays

    Cons

    This is not a good company for a software engineer. No work life balance. Poor benefits. Disconnected engineering leadership. Double digit turnover. Note: I guess our reviews were getting bad on this site because they asked us to post.

    Continue reading
    L3Harris2019-11-22

    L3Harris Response

    December 6, 2019Sr Associate, Talent Management

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. All feedback helps us understand how to provide our employees with a positive working experience. L3Harris strives to be a leader in our industry and this does mean that some teams occasionally experience a heavier workload to meet the needs of our customers. If you are experiencing an imbalance in your workload, you can reach out to your manager or HR Business Partner to help identify potential options to improve your overall work/life balance. We want to hear from our employees, which is why we reach out and ask for your feedback on places like Glassdoor. Additionally, all employees will be receiving a survey in the near future that will provide us with further insight into how we can continue to enhance the overall employee experience.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "A place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L3Harris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    OK if you want a steady job that doesn't push the envelope.

    Cons

    Not much exciting work, but a lot of legacy crap to be maintained. Expect to work in a lab most of the time, with very little time at your desk. The company is good at finding more work to do, but with not enough people to do that work. The bureaucracy and security paranoia here is staggering. I mentioned a lot of my concerns at the exit interview, but it was interesting to notice that they never took any notes. To me this means that either they have heard these concerns a lot (and haven't addressed them), or that they just don't care. Oh, and this is one of those companies that terminates your benefits on your last day of work, even though you may have paid the premium through the last day of the month.

    L3Harris2019-10-07
  7. "good work/life balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Software Engineer 

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time

    Pros

    good work to life balance

    Cons

    it needs more covered parking

    L3Harris2019-10-10
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Going backwards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palm Bay, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CEO makes giant bonuses. If you are going to be the CEO this is the place for you. If you aren't going to be the CEO the one pro we have is a nice new building in Palm Bay, but its overcrowded so you won't work there. You do get free keyboard and mouse with your PC.

    Cons

    2nd tenure at Harris. 1st was some of best times but that Harris is dead. The new Harris, and now L3Harris, underbids every job it wins. After winning they continue to try and stramlne everything with no regards to quality, They lost their NextGen FAA contract ($1+ Bil), getting ready to lose their weather programs, and will most likely not win their FTI2 pursuit. They are going backwards fast. Cut the employee bonus program this year and raises no longer cover annual increases in benefits. Merged with L3 and quadrupled # of employees. One would think more employees would result in some discount in benefits but we are getting ready to raise them again. Steady mediocre paycheck with unstable mediocre programs. Not the place to be. Look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    L3Harris2019-10-06
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Poor Life Balance and Poor Technical Leads"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer() 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L3Harris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Nice 9/80 schedule Most managers are good Lots of neat technology Neat opportunities exist if you pursue and push them

    Cons

    Lots of grey-ethical decisions HR is poor at their job Hires anyone to fill positions and then doesn't remove people from positions; resulting in people leaving Overworks employees. Too competitive of an environment, making it very difficult for women trying to balance life and work to succeed. Not uncommon for employees to work long hours and high tense culture

    Continue reading
    L3Harris2019-09-27

    L3Harris Response

    October 7, 2019Talent Management Specialist

    Thank you for your review. We are really glad to hear that you enjoyed your work and the technology offered by L3Harris. It sounds like you, along with many others, enjoyed the flexibility of our 9/80 schedule and discretionary PTO. We also want to make sure we address your concerns around ethical decision-making. We take all reports of unethical behavior very seriously, and we offer employees a way to voice their concerns confidentially and/or anonymously. If you would like to further discuss any ethical concerns you had as an employee, please reach out to the Ethics & Compliance Helpline (www.L3HarrisHelpline.com or 877-532-6339).

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (10)

    "High Starting Salary, low raises, very corporate, very boring work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Software Engineer in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    High Starting Salary, Easy Work, Corporate, there are times at work you have nothing to do, so you can browse Reddit.

    Cons

    You must work 40 works per week (even when not working on a Government Contract) Lunch is not paid Raises are low (mine with a standard performance rating was 2.2%) Very corporate things move too slow Boring Work Antiquated tech Management initiatives are typically done poorly Management seems to say one thing (that workers would agree) and do another thing (that workers hate) Facilities are extremely old I commonly see missing tiles, black mold, water damage, and peeling paint. No coffee or tea is provided for free, you have to buy your own. Work for home can only be done for a reason, i.e. you can't work from home if you want to.

    Continue reading
    L3Harris2019-10-20

    L3Harris Response

    October 30, 2019Talent Management Specialist

    We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We’d like to address a few of the concerns you listed. We recognize that we have some locations with older buildings, and we will share this feedback with our facilities teams. If you feel as though you are not being challenged by the work you are doing, we encourage you to have conversations with your manager and HR Business Partner about other opportunities that may be available to you. We do our best to try and match work for our employees that is both meaningful and challenging. Lastly, we have a pay-for-performance culture here at L3Harris, which means raises are based on an employee's performance over the previous year.

    Continue reading
  11. Helpful (6)

    "Great Place for Clicky Teams and Legacy Systems"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Palm Bay, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L3Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    PTO, various leave, health, off every other friday and some remote

    Cons

    Great if you want to fit in with clicky teams. Some teams are slightly better than others, but you will probably be in a team led by someone that has been at the company for 20+ years and refuses to change to improve the process even for the better. There is a huge lack of communication between internal teams due to politics, which wasted a lot of money. The performance review process is subjective regardless of the amount of work you completed. The HTC food is mostly not that good for the price. This is a greate place to skate by if you don't care. Avoid this place if you actually care.

    Continue reading
    L3Harris2019-09-27

    L3Harris Response

    October 7, 2019Talent Management Specialist

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We are glad to see that you appreciated the benefits we offer that allow for a flexible work environment, including 9/80 and discretionary PTO. Innovation is the responsibility of all our employees, and we are sorry to hear that you did not feel that this was supported on your team. We are sorry to hear you didn't enjoy the food offerings at the HTC. Many of our employees find value in and enjoy the wide variety of dishes offered at a fair price. We wish you luck in your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
Found 24 reviews