L3Harris "harris" Reviews | Glassdoor

L3Harris Employee Reviews about "harris"

Updated Nov 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
60%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
L3Harris President and CEO Bill Brown
Bill Brown
84 Ratings
Pros
  • "9/80 Work Schedual (current site)(in 12 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance is good but I think that depends a lot on the team you're on(in 11 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "harris"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Exciting times at a great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Director in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I get to be part of the biggest defense industry merger in history between Harris and L3 Technologies! As a legacy Harris employee, this company has only grown in my 3+ years here. The work is challenging and exciting and the opportunities for growth are abundant. I feel completely secure in my career trajectory here and get to work with some of the best and brightest in the industry. Not only that, but the products... L3Harris makes support our military and space critical missions which is not only cool, but very close to my heart. We keep people safe and allow those who serve the ability to defend this country with some leading edge technology! The company itself is in growth mode and I believe it will continue to with the merger. Benefits are good - very competitive with the industry. The discretionary vacation policy is great - no set bank of hours, just up to your manager. The area is great as well - great schools and living on the beach (can't beat it!)

    Show More

    Cons

    I haven't found any yet

    L3Harris2019-08-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "I moved across the country for a job opportunity for L3Harris, and it was a great decision"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Manager in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As I mentioned in the headline, I moved my family from a different state to join L3 Harris and I feel like it was a life-altering decision (in a good way!). Some other pros: -9/80s for those in the segment - Management support and execution behind good ideas - You will be working with incredibly smart people - Headquarters location--- Brevard County is a great place to raise a family

    Cons

    - Some of the buildings/ facilities are on the older side - Parking at the HTC is like participating in 'The Hunger Games' (getting into work early helps with this)

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    L3Harris2019-08-19
  3. Helpful (4)

    "A company in transition"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst V in Salt Lake City, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    L3Harris has a great engineering community. They have a lot of IP that is critical to the defense infrastructure, and they have some really brilliant people. They've got quite a task in front of them, integrating and re-engineering the company following the merger of L3 and Harris. Unfortunately, there is a lot of internal forming and norming that needs to be done before the company can get back to performing.

    Cons

    It's rather chaotic following the merger. Many parts of the business are not functioning correctly (poor management oversight, lack of administrative or management support, etc). Your job in during this period may be fantastic, you may be underutilized, or you may get caught in a bad situation while new business processes are being figured out. Also, they're pairing down benefits, as they've been doing... continually over the last ten years, from industry-leading to (slightly below) average.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have a lot of resources in your people, but a fast transition and seemingly random appointment of leadership structure (on the L3 side) is painful. I'd recommend reaching out with more surveys to the mid-level and actually listening to them.

    L3Harris2019-11-07
  4. Helpful (7)

    "The ‘merger’ is reducing employee benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Engineer in Muskegon, MI
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Was higher than average pay but gap is gone

    Cons

    The merger, which is essentially a takeover by Harris, has already started to impact benefits for L3 legacy employees. Vacation hours reduced, vacation flexibility is reduced. There’s obvious drive to eliminate experienced salary employees. Expectation is bonus will be eliminated in 2020. The salary leveling will occur and employees with higher than average salaries, no matter their contribution will be... eliminated. Consolidation in defense will reduce competition and result in CEOs making millions and everyone else getting by with less.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don’t take from employees in name of business improvements and have CEO exercise $61M in stock options.

    L3Harris2019-11-05
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Going backwards"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Palm Bay, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    CEO makes giant bonuses. If you are going to be the CEO this is the place for you. If you aren't going to be the CEO the one pro we have is a nice new building in Palm Bay, but its overcrowded so you won't work there. You do get free keyboard and mouse with your PC.

    Cons

    2nd tenure at Harris. 1st was some of best times but that Harris is dead. The new Harris, and now L3Harris, underbids every job it wins. After winning they continue to try and stramlne everything with no regards to quality, They lost their NextGen FAA contract ($1+ Bil), getting ready to lose their weather programs, and will most likely not win their FTI2 pursuit. They are going backwards fast. Cut the... employee bonus program this year and raises no longer cover annual increases in benefits. Merged with L3 and quadrupled # of employees. One would think more employees would result in some discount in benefits but we are getting ready to raise them again. Steady mediocre paycheck with unstable mediocre programs. Not the place to be. Look elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to over-maximize profits at the expense of anything that looks like quality. Actually do what you say you do in your training. Stop lying to your customers and your employees. Bring back PRP. How can the only people who get bonuses be on IDL and the people who make the money are excluded from receiving any of it.

    L3Harris2019-10-06
  6. Helpful (13)

    "Great Stepping Stone - High Job Security - Poor Long Time Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Test Engineer in West Melbourne, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Hard to get fired. Layoffs are very rare. Job security is very high. * Same standard benefits between new and old employees. Great for new hires, level ones, and new grads. * New grads earn 2 raises per year for the first three years. * 9/80 and 4/10 schedules offered. * Flexible schedules for salary employees. * Payed overtime for salary employees (if over 5 additional hours worked and overtime is... approved). * Ample volunteering opportunities. * Training and certification opportunities for highly valued industry skills.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Equipment acquisition is either slow or non-existent. * Management does not value work/life balance. * Raises are meager and barely keep up with inflation, even in the top bracket. * Days missed due to natural disaster are 'made up,' meaning that the employee must work the missed hours for free during the subsequent weekends. * PRP and holiday bonuses not offered. * High turn over rate. * Meeting... schedule/budget is valued over quality of work. * Messy merger resulted in loss of ~2 weeks PTO for legacy Harris employees. Some lost more. Some lost less. * Low general morale of employees. * Level 1's are expected to act with level 3 integrity at a lower salary margin. * Little to no meaningful on-boarding training.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Value current employees more. Offer meaningful raises. Offer meaningful promotions. * Treat the impact of mandatory evacuations with respect. Pay employees if they must make up for missed time. * Do not refuse employees their expected PTO. * Clearly and objectively communicate the value of emergency closure charges before their expected use. Explain their purpose. Explain if they must be made up at a later... date. Explain their monetary value. * Clearly and objectively communicate changes in current benefits, including PTO, long before the changes take place. * Bridge the communication gap between teams on the same project/program. * Place more emphasis on product quality than schedule (schedules are too ambitious to allow the proper engineering practices that L3Harris promotes). * Streamline equipment acquisition.

    Show More
    L3Harris2019-09-13
  7. Helpful (6)

    "A Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Greenville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at L3Harris full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Local management at my facility was good. Very much a close-knit environment. Good pay for the location and decent benefits.

    Cons

    As a legacy L3 employee, I will admit the merger with Harris really changed the landscape for me. Lots of change either already implemented and more to come. They touted a “merger of equals” throughout the process but it was SO apparent that Harris was taking complete control. We were used to the perks of being a holding company as L3 and those days are long gone. I ultimately decided to leave because everyone and... everything I liked about working at my facility were either leaving or already gone. I wish them the best, but I don’t feel as if this merger was beneficial for us in all honesty.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make a decision and stick to it. My department was re-organized three times in less than two years. Address the pending changes as quickly as you can and stop letting the rumor mill churn. Do not behave as if you have a monopoly on any spectrum of the talent, because there are options and people will leave.

    L3Harris2019-08-24
  8. Helpful (4)

    "Good People, Terrible, Un-Ethical Management, Racism is a big problem at Rodes Campus"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Tech D in Melbourne, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at L3Harris full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Harris Family Medical is very good.

    Cons

    Management cuts all corners and incorporates Fraud and Forgery on Deliverable products to US Government with Managements blessings.

    Advice to Management

    Resign, Stop breaking the laws and rule book.

    L3Harris2019-08-24
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Not the company it once was - too much disruption"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Palm Bay, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    9/80 work week for some employees, casual dress, reasonable pay, interesting work

    Cons

    Two mergers in less than five years have led to tremendous inefficiency and stressful work environments. Human Resources calls the shots on things which they have no business getting into. Employees (prospective new hires or existing) are discriminated against if they are over the age of 50. Performance reviews, seniority, experience are not considered in reorganizations resulting from the mergers. Instead, it is... all about cronyism and who you know. The chairman/CEO is an M&A guy, who will likely not stop, despite what he told employees at the merger with L3. He still has a few more years to go, and I would lay money down that another will be in the works, if it is not already. A decade or two ago, Harris was known as a family-oriented company. Employees were close-knit. It was a respected member of the communities in which it was located. These are no longer the case. It's just another large company with no distinguishing personality that works for the big block shareholders.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you want to be a big company, start acting like one. Pay attention to the skills, education, and experience of your employees, rather than what you think you know about people. Focus on letting mature employees mentor younger ones, rather than placing them in head-to-head (and losing) competition with younger ones.

    L3Harris2019-08-03
  10. Helpful (2)

    "A Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Security in Melbourne, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at L3Harris full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - I was formerly in Harris Corp prior to the merger. -Finding my place here was a lengthy process for me (multiple interviews over 8 months) but just shows that you should never give up! -The way the in-person interview and the hiring process went, gave me a lot of confidence that I was in a great company. I had all I needed on Day 1. Expectations communicated were all met and exceeded. I even received a bag of... goodies (Legacy Harris branded umbrella, string backpack, notebook, pens, tumbler, and a couple other items) - it all made me feel appreciated and like my 8 months of back and forth was really worth it! -There is a lot of opportunity to move around the company into different roles. -The pay is reasonable. Work/life balance is good but I think that depends a lot on the team you're on. -Their vacation and sick time system is very attractive for new hires (4 weeks of Vacation on Day 1, with only one level of management approval required). Sick time is unlimited (but be reasonable) - Communication in regard to the merger with L3 has been on point and the speed with which the company rebranded itself on DAY 1 was truly astonishing. - Medical benefits are OK -- I think the plan and costs could use some improvement -The variety of benefits is really good. -There are several Employee Resource Groups (ERGs) for various interests - Women's Interactive Network (WIN), Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Allies (PRIDE), and Harris Young Professionals (HYP) to name a few.

    Show More

    Cons

    - The Corporate Headquarters segment (and managers+) do not follow a 9/80 schedule unlike most of the rest of the company. - Although working on its cultural diversity, I think the company still has a ways to go, specifically in hiring more women - and more women in leadership roles. There are currently only two women (out of ten members) in the Board of Directors and only ONE woman (out of 15 members) on the... Executive Management team. -The ERGs could use more support from management, and presence throughout L3Harris (they're only mentioned briefly during a 4 hour orientation on your hire date)

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    - Support and encourage more diversity - example: Increase conference presence (sending other people beyond recruiters and hiring managers, attending SWE conferences among other Women in STEM conferences) -Orientations should include leaders from each ERG to talk more in-depth about their respective groups -Get everyone on the 9/80 schedule

    L3Harris2019-07-08
Found 11 reviews