LA Fitness Reviews

Updated May 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
45%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
LA Fitness CEO Louis Welch (no image)
Louis Welch
986 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free gym membership also able to get commissions on the side(in 450 reviews)

  • "the complimentary gym membership was the only good thing(in 434 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay compared to the cost of package(in 169 reviews)

  • "too comfy, minimum wage surfiung(in 167 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of LA Fitness and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good

      May 3, 2021 - Assistant General Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good work atmosphere and decent pay

      Cons

      Very long hours hard with school

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Lacks respect for employees

      May 6, 2021 - Operations 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Free gym membership -casual work attire

      Cons

      Pay less than the minimum wage (they can get away with this by saying you can make commissions). This is technically true, but you are expected to make 100+ phone calls per shift to members that have had their credit card declined. They have their front desk staff call these numbers three times a day from all over the country. Working here I feel like a pawn for managers to make half (yes, half) of mine and all my coworkers commissions. No benefits (other than gym) Unsanitary Management is unorganized They offer promotions that flaunt one week free but they are all ploys to get people to sign up (have to sit with a sales counselor).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It's Okay For A Part-Time

      Mar 28, 2021 - Kids Club Associate in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Easy! (Provided you enjoy working with children and have a knack for it) -Fun! (Same as above) -Regular hours that aren't too crazy. I think they depend on what location you work at but they are usually morning and evening, nothing too early or too late. -Sometimes when there were no kids, I could study in the room or go up to the front desk and call people whose credit cards declined for the opportunity to make some extra money.

      Cons

      - The pay isn't great. I think I was making a dollar an hour more than some of the other kids club associates for some reason? I made $9/hr. I'm a full time student so the job worked for my schedule and it was fun to be with the kids. -Some of my co-workers (mostly the trainers) were mad creepy and tried to get me to pay for personal training. -Sometimes the kids aren't so great, and there isn't a whole lot you can do if you don't receive support from the kids parents / your manager. A good manager really makes or breaks this job.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Not the best of jobs

      Mar 3, 2021 - Sales Associate in Alexandria, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Isn’t a hard job physically, does not require high level of intelligence. Co workers are as friendly as you would expect. You get to work out at the gym for free of course. You interact with many people for the job and learn about them. Can be fun when potential new members talk about themselves.

      Cons

      Terrible work life balance. You work every day in the week but 1 day. They tell you that your have a 1 day off and the next day is a half day. A half day at LA FITNESS isn’t actually a half day. It’s you working 2 less hours or so. Generally the work shift is 8am-6pm. And if your night shift is 11 am-9pm. That’s pretty insane. The job is all about numbers. They want you to bring in roughly 4 people a day to join the gym. This can be different depending on the gym and the season. At one point we were supposed sight 7 people up a day to make numbers. That’s insane, you would run out of people to sign up in fairfax county after a month. The pay isn’t great earlier. Your being in 5-6 dollars a hour and 20 dollars per a person you sign up on a average. There is no employee break room or microwave. If you want to eat a warm meal you’ve got to go out and buy it. Cold leftovers suck. Spending money on eating out sucks.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great way to make extra cash and have a free gym membership. Napervilel RT 59 location

      Feb 9, 2021 - Cycling Instructor in Naperville, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pros are that if you work in a new signature facility, you get to work out there too whenever you want. You can also bring a guest in at any time. You can structure your classes however you want. They might tell you at the beginning that there's a certain way to do it, but no one checks in on you, and they pretty much just give you an hour to teach how you want to teach. This is a big plus. I taught once a week for months before they moved it two because I just wanted the free gym membership :)

      Cons

      It's a big company and communication is very low. I once didn't even know my boss was fired and had to find out later through a co-worker. Half the time you don't know who you're supposed to be in contact with. If you teach at an old LA fitness, it's not the best facility. I would say this is midtier gym group coaching. As opposed to high tier such as equinox. Overall not a bad experience and a great way to get some extra cash and a free gym membership.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      working ta LA

      May 4, 2021 - Front Desk in Houston, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      laid back and friendly environment

      Cons

      hard to find time off. if you dont have a good OM it wont be enjoyable

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good place to start out

      Feb 15, 2021 - Group Fitness Instructor in Rochester, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule of classes, different types of classes, keiser bikes were great, co-workers were nice, most of the members were great people.

      Cons

      Per class rate was terrible, the music you were supposed to use was on a limited number of CDs. There were never any staff meetings for aerobics, no communication between staff other than giant group texts to try to cover shifts. The turn over was crazy and no one took pride or care of equipment. The headset was broken a lot, and the stereos. Took forever to get anything replaced and fixed. Gym was dirty and kids Klub care was like lord of the flies at many occasions due to lack of staff. I was furloughed due to COVID-19 and didn’t go back as it simply wasn’t worth it to me and family. If they were filthy before the pandemic I cannot even imagine what it looks like now. Yuck! Corporate doesn’t allow the management enough payroll hours to really run the clubs well. I had to fight with corporate payroll in CA because they messed up my w-2 for 2020. They put my wages earned for a training session in OH, when I only went to Buffalo,NY. They tried to say I was lying. I asked them what would I have to gain by lying? Why would anyone go out of state for a CE class...It was so terrible it wasn’t even comical. I had to threaten to go to the BBB unless they sent me a w-2c.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      GM @LA Fitness

      May 1, 2021 - General Manager in Tampa, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Meet great people every day. Competitive and fun sales job. Bonus plans can be lucrative.

      Cons

      Bonus structure changes regularly. Owner constantly changes the pay structure.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Has its ups and downs

      May 4, 2021 - Trainer in Philadelphia, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great place to work overall

      Cons

      lots of gym politics throughout

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Operations

      May 4, 2021 - Operation Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      schedule, work load, resources, free membership

      Cons

      low pay, low bonuses and not many vacation days

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 3,189 Reviews

    Popular Careers with LA Fitness Job Seekers

    Kids Club
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at LA Fitness? Share Your Experiences

    or