KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

LEWIS Global Communications

Is this your company?

LEWIS Global Communications

Add a Review

LEWIS Global Communications Reviews

Updated Jul 23, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 170 of over 204 reviews

3.1
56%
Recommend to a Friend
72%
Approve of CEO
LEWIS Global Communications CEO and Founder Chris Lewis
Chris Lewis
111 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is good for an agency(in 15 reviews)

  • "Great People, everyone cares for each other(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Work/life balance can be tricky (as with any agency in the industry), however the company is making improvements in this area(in 12 reviews)

  • "The average team members are spread very thin and forced to work extremely hard and long hours - more so than your typical agency(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Overall wonderful place to work :)

      Jun 22, 2021 - Designer in San Diego, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - My boss and fellow colleagues are encouraging and supportive! - Project management is solid. Someone is always aware of my time constraints so I don't get overwhelmed with work - I feel like I'm always learning and growing in my role with good constructive feedback and exposure to a variety of projects - Many different clients and industries to gain experience in - Charity opportunities/Global travel perks Overall I've had a very positive experience and would highly recommend :)

      Cons

      Sometimes communication can be difficult across teams but we always manage to get it sorted out.

      6 people found this review helpful
    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Burn out

      Jul 19, 2021 - DMM 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The coworkers are great- some really fun people at times. Offices are very nice with lots of cold brew and snacks. Very good benefits - especially the generous time off.

      Cons

      If you are good at your job, you will get burned out. If you’re good at what you do, you’ll get more and more responsibilities regardless of what time or energy you actually have available. Very to little management/path to growth. Even if you are getting promoted, there’s no plan for how you can grow in the role and no plan to delegate work as you take on more responsibilities. Death by meetings- never before have I had more meetings than when I worked here. You’re in meetings all day and then have to work in the evenings/night to catch up on all the work that was assigned in said meetings. Very caddy management/leadership team. If you’re not good at politics and keeping up with the mean girl VPs you will not survive here. One to two people in digital senior leadership actually know anything about digital. The agency should just give up on digital and focus on PR where it actually excels. Overall the company was fine until the pandemic. During the pandemic, huge amounts of people were laid off while the amount of work increased. People took on more work out of fear of losing their jobs and were not able to keep up. The CEO was completely silent during the first 6 months of the pandemic. Couple that with a poor handling of the BLM movement and you have massive turnover. The majority of employees have been there less than a year and I think that speaks volumes.

      3 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Respected B2B Agency with Growing B2C Roster

      Jun 2, 2021 - Managing Director in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Competitive salary ranges with great upward mobility opportunities for strong performers; if you're driven to be successful at an agency, you will be supported and rewarded here - Very understanding response during COVID-19 in terms of remote work flexibility and support for parents; the agency came out of the pandemic with an upward growth trajectory, which is a testament to the service it provided its clients during a trying year - Investment and engagement in DEI initiatives and conversations across the global - Impressive monetary and pro bono investment in global nonprofits and causes - Respected PR and marketing expertise in B2B tech with a growing B2C client roster - Great place to learn how to bring creativity to technical campaigns that seem dry at first glance; there is a daily "task force" that has the sole purpose of thinking outside the box to amplify creativity for clients

      Cons

      - As with any work in client services, you need self-discipline to manage your time effectively and set effective work/life boundaries - B2B tech can be a technical industry, so it requires creativity and effort to build accessible, engaging campaigns

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great agency!

      Jun 9, 2021 - Senior Digital Marketing Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of learning opportunities, especially in the tech space. - People are very willing and excited to help you expand your skillset. Trainings are hosted regularly across all areas of marketing - Supportive senior leadership that encourage growth - Really good agency to expand marketing, content and social skills. Agency is growing and is invested in their employees. - Great culture, even while remote! Plus, summer Fridays :)

      Cons

      - As is true for any agency, work/life balance is sometimes a challenge. Generally, teams are very accommodating!

      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Good company

      Jul 23, 2021 - Digital Marketing Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great team and overall work environment

      Cons

      Upper management doesn't always clearly communicate

      7 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      A lot of talk, little action.

      Jul 21, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - great benefits package - intelligent colleagues - robust client list for individuals interested in B2B - great place to learn and hone your expertise

      Cons

      - work-life balance is non-existent - poor communications from leadership team - employees can express burnout and they pacify the situation by saying help is on the way but help is often not on the way - pay is not competitive

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Unpleasant, dysfunctional workplace

      Jul 23, 2021 - Manager in New York, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Select senior leaders Generous (for the states) maternity leave

      Cons

      Megalomaniac CEO Dysfunctional senior management No agency strategy No learning & development or growth opportunities Reporting concerns to HR goes nowhere

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great place to start your career & learn!

      Mar 30, 2021 - Digital Marketing Specialist in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Lots of opportunities to grow & learn, especially in the B2B tech space - The company is really growing!! - Supportive colleagues - Fun company culture: tons of Happy Hours, celebration calls even during the pandemic - Strong focus on social impact and DE&I - Generous PTO and benefits

      Cons

      - Pay is not the greatest

      16 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Agency Life Forever

      Mar 4, 2021 - Executive Director in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team is fantastic. I truly enjoy coming to work every day (even when remote!). The digital team across the US (shout out to West Coast - San Fran and San Diego!) is especially fun: we're constantly learning, being challenged and sharing information across our 100 person zoom chat. Client diversity. Currently, I sit across a variety of different clients across industries and verticals, ranging from lifestyle, networking, big data, cybersecurity, fintech, consumer tech, and more. Each client comes with their own challenges, but it's been incredibly rewarding to experience how our efforts directly affect our client's overall success. Integration. Working on integrated accounts has been eye-opening and has forced teams to zoom out and think big. Multiple service lines can, at times, be difficult to navigate, especially with so many different stakeholders, but it is imperative to our growth as marketers and to our client's that we're successful problem solvers. Emphasis on charity: Recently, LEWIS has doubled down on charitable efforts, supporting the Elton John AIDS Foundation and HeForShe. Additionally, the CEO has invested in each of us, donating thousands of dollars to charities of our choice, while giving us the tools to also help our charities with our marketing expertise.

      Cons

      Process varies across accounts and offices, which can be confusing if you're someone who likes to follow rules (or you expect others to). People are busy! There is never a dull moment, and clients can be demanding. There can sometimes feel as if there are not enough hours in a day. Remote work has forced everyone to figure out how to communicate better, but it is an ongoing process and opportunity for improvement.

      Continue reading
      13 people found this review helpful
    10. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Run...

      Feb 18, 2021 - Account Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Meet and work with great people that are hardworking (but only if you're in junior staff) - Strong PR accounts that basically pave the way for the digital team to ride on their coattails. - Somewhat good office leadership especially in San Diego - Bagel Fridays and Year End party when we were in the office

      Cons

      Where do I begin... - Upper management/leadership are out of touch when it comes to how to effectively manage a team - they promote each other, while the junior team members are promised "growth and great opportunities" but in reality, it's just the chance to be on "weekly calls" with the CEO to brownnose his amazing brainstorming sessions. - Employee turnover - At my time, I saw entire teams resign, be furloughed, or completely let go - what does that say about leadership? is leadership really setting up their teams for success? Clients have even commented on the agency's high team turnover. - Horrible work-life balance - VPs and Directors promise unrealistic deadlines and leave it to junior strategists to figure things out - Cheap Tools - Teams are left with almost no marketing tools to make meaningful research and insights for "data-driven" digital strategies and when asked for better tools, we're given a "try getting the free trial version first!" or "it's just too expensive and too much of a lift to re-train teams to use a new tool." - Talk about innovation... - ZERO diversity especially in upper management... just look at their website

      Continue reading
      10 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 170 Reviews

    Popular Careers with LEWIS Global Communications Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at LEWIS Global Communications? Share Your Experiences

    LEWIS Global Communications logo
    or