LEWIS Global Communications Reviews | Glassdoor

LEWIS Global Communications Reviews

Updated Aug 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 163 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
LEWIS Global Communications CEO Chris Lewis
Chris Lewis
98 Ratings
Pros
  • "Work/life balance is good for an agency(in 14 reviews)

  • "I've had a chance to try new things like social media and digital marketing skills(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "As with any agency, work-life balance can be a bit of a struggle, especially for senior leadership(in 11 reviews)

  • "Occasional long hours but nothing outside of the norm(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work At"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LEWIS Global Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Great Benefits - Amazing Managers - Growth Opportunities - Good Clients

    Cons

    - HR is a bit of a mess

    LEWIS Global Communications2019-05-14
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LEWIS Global Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    LEWIS is great- you're surrounded by incredibly smart people and big ideas. Work/life balance is good for an agency.

    Cons

    Process is a bit lacking, but that is normal when things are so fast paced.

    Advice to Management

    Give smart and capable employees more ownership over what they're working on, don't hold things too close to your chest-- this will result in more progress at more levels.

    LEWIS Global Communications2019-04-16
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Beware of Executive Leadership Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LEWIS Global Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent clients and good comrade with staff, remote offices workers and account teams. Perhaps a good place to start your career - but recommend moving on quickly afterward after you've garnered some solid experience. Smart and good people are leaving. They talk about culture, but the executive team truly doesn't care or support staff.

    Cons

    Burnout Burnout. Executive leadership team would rather see team members burn out than find a way to support team members who are overworked. They keep opening new offices to make it look like they are growing, but they can't find a way to support the overworked and understaffed offices now. The agency life is fast paced and can be demanding, which can be fun, exciting and present new opportunities. The Exec team...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Release you are in the people business and start giving a crap about your jr staff and those trying to make it a better place. Support better training and fix the recruitment process.

    LEWIS Global Communications2019-03-25
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Like every other agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at LEWIS Global Communications full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Many chances to learn and grow your career.

    Cons

    They need to hire more experienced people.

    LEWIS Global Communications2019-02-13
  5. Helpful (6)

    "Great for entry level but not much further"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at LEWIS Global Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lewis is a great place to learn right out of school. You work hard and with challenging clients, however, I wasn't satisfied with my career trajectory after a year in.

    Cons

    Boring clients, catty coworkers, no bonuses and low salaries

    LEWIS Global Communications2019-01-15
  6. "Awesome place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - PR Associate in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LEWIS Global Communications for less than a year

    Pros

    - working at LEWIS was one of the best exepriences I have had thus far. Everyone in the office is extremely helpful, kind and intelligent. - You get vast experience with different types and sizes of companies of clientele. - You can transition into other roles if you are curious, can wear many hats if you want to - Snacks!

    Cons

    I dont have any cons, it was great

    Advice to Management

    keep being helpful and honest with your staff it means the world

    LEWIS Global Communications2018-12-18
  7. "Happy I joined LEWIS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LEWIS Global Communications full-time

    Pros

    LEWIS by far has the nicest group of people than any other place I’ve worked at. Everyone is supportive and fun to be around. I feel like my line manager and office head really care about me and want me to succeed. I’m working on some interesting clients and the kinds of clients we are pitching and winning show me that the agency is going in the right direction. Work life balance is great and they have been very flexible...

    Show More

    Cons

    While everyone is nice, it seems that we have a few people that don’t always pull their weight or work on the same level as the rest of the team. Sometimes that leads me to pick up their slack. Also I work in a smaller growing office so we don’t get things like weekly breakfasts that other offices get but I hope that changes when we get bigger.

    Advice to Management

    Look at the few who are not performing and call them out, help them improve or get rid of them. Other than that, continue to inspire people to do their best and keep up your focus on growing the business and bringing in more great people.

    LEWIS Global Communications2018-12-15
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Digital Marketing Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Specialist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LEWIS Global Communications full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    People care about their work Smart people Believe in hearing what lower-level employees have to see Motivated people

    Cons

    Work can be a bit monotonous with only primarily tech clients

    LEWIS Global Communications2018-12-06
  9. Helpful (11)

    "Steer clear and go to a quality agency"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at LEWIS Global Communications for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Office locations - "Good" benefits although they announced rollbacks with no notice.

    Cons

    - Leadership is a self-satisfied group of company men - Employee concerns are not addressed. There are people in leadership on both coasts that employees have repeatedly expressed concerns about, whether it be for lack of presence, lack of competence or unfair policies and it's never addressed or taken seriously - The disparity between offices is painfully evident. While some offices have flexible policies, others...

    Show More
    LEWIS Global Communications2018-11-24
  10. Helpful (14)

    "One star because zero isn’t an option"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LEWIS Global Communications full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hands down the only good thing about Lewis is the employees on the client services side of the agency - smart, hardworking, and somehow unwaveringly motivated to do a great job despite lack of support from agency leadership.

    Cons

    Leadership seems clueless on how to run a successful agency that celebrates and benefits its clients as well as its employees. To work there feels like you are part of some sociology experiment where they are testing how much individuals will put up with before they break. The better you do the harder they will try to break you. It’s bizarre. Unless you have no other employment options, I would strongly recommend avoiding...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Rebuild your leadership team and HR department and show some appreciation for the talented, creative people struggling to keep your business above water.

    LEWIS Global Communications2018-12-11
Found 163 reviews