LIFESTYLEDESIGN Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

LIFESTYLEDESIGN Reviews

Updated 5 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
70%
Recommend to a Friend
LIFESTYLEDESIGN CEO  (no image)
0 Ratings
  1. "Santa Barbara Design Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at LIFESTYLEDESIGN

    Pros

    Good group of very intelligent designers

    Cons

    None at the moment that I can think of.

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2019-11-05
  2. Helpful (2)

    "good projects, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Industrial Design Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at LIFESTYLEDESIGN for less than a year

    Pros

    You'll be working on some really interesting projects. Great team camaraderie. Very talented designers.

    Cons

    The owner is very poor at articulating what he wants or what he is looking for in a design. This makes work stressful. He also is just generally unreasonable. The designs that come out of this studio sometimes seems a little bit derivative of existing designs. They feel a little bit dated, too.

    Advice to Management

    Don't let your ego get in the way of the talented designers you've hired.

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2019-09-09
  3. "Fun place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at LIFESTYLEDESIGN for less than a year

    Pros

    I am a UCSB engineering student and recently worked here. Its a great group of people. All very talented and they really taught me a lot. Would highly recommend Life Style Designs both as a place to intern and as a place to work once the opportunity exist.

    Cons

    There is a gym next door and sometimes you can hear the music.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the opportunity to intern for the year, its been a pleasure.

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2019-05-10
  4. "Consultant to LSD on DFM and Sustainability for over 15 years."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Consultant in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LIFESTYLEDESIGN for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Marc is a friend of mine - but that would not stop me from giving my honest view of whether you have the right skills and motivations to work at LSD. It's a fast paced, high energy environment that promotes independent, intelligent, quality thinking that drives innovation and results. If you have high expectations of yourself and your work product, you will thrive working with Marc and gaining exposure to the global... client base he has created with LSD over time. Marc is a very hard worker, and expects commitment, talent and creativity in every aspect of the business - and I find that to be a benefit.

    Show More

    Cons

    No daily catered lunches or napping pods, maybe try up north if that's your thing.

    Advice to Management

    Keep your standards high - the team and clients will benefit!

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2019-03-03
  5. "My experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at LIFESTYLEDESIGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I got to work with talented people on cool projects. I was constantly challenged and took the opportunity to learn from experienced designers.

    Cons

    High performance expectations and tight deadlines was stressful at times. But that ended up being the same thing when I started my new job.

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2019-02-26
  6. "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Design Engineer in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LIFESTYLEDESIGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The management team has made great strides to bring some fun projects into the fold. They've created a wonderful working environment and built a good team. I really enjoy working here.

    Cons

    None to speak of at the moment.

    Advice to Management

    Thanks for the constant flow of exciting projects.

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2019-02-22
  7. "Positive Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Industrial Designer in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LIFESTYLEDESIGN full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have had a very positive experience working with Lifestyledesign, For me it has been very enriching to work with such a talented team on very rewarding projects. I enjoyed the variety and diversity as well as the atmosphere.

    Cons

    Nothing negative to report about my experience.

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2019-02-22
  8. Helpful (6)

    "An honest review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Industrial Designer in Santa Barbara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at LIFESTYLEDESIGN full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It’s in Santa Barbara (pro and con), it’s experience, the team can be nice, but everchanging

    Cons

    All good reviews for this company were written by the owner. If you want to know how it is to work here, just email a current or past employee. Disrespectful owner, you can be the nicest person and still be treated like you are worthless. Promise of projects that never come, disorganized, you never know what is expected because the owner has no idea what he actually wants and no matter how hard you try, your... effort will never be recognized or appreciated.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make a decision, stick with it

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2019-02-15
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern in Santa Barbara, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at LIFESTYLEDESIGN for more than a year

    Pros

    Worked on cutting edge designs, worked with extremely talented people, learned a lot, interesting and challenging projects

    Cons

    Can sometimes be stressful due to deadlines and requirement of perfection (which is great for clients but exacting on employees at times)

    Advice to Management

    Company is pretty much run by the owner who is himself a great designer but, as a cutting edge design company with novel and difficult projects, it may be too much for one person to manage at times. Consider delegating more responsibilities to key employees.

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2016-06-01
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at LIFESTYLEDESIGN

    Pros

    Opportunity to work with experienced designers who know the industry and design very well. Great office, good insurance benefits, great clients

    Cons

    Many different types of projects so must be able to adjust to different areas of expertise that are needed.

    Advice to Management

    Keep on bringing in these great, exciting clients.

    LIFESTYLEDESIGN2016-06-01
Found 14 reviews