LMS Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

LMS Reviews

Updated Dec 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
LMS CEO Steve Cohen (no image)
Steve Cohen
11 Ratings
  1. "A great place for people who take initiative and enjoy a challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LMS full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Thinking for yourself and asking questions is encouraged here, so if you like being told what to do and how to do it, you will not enjoy working here. Our employees like to challenge themselves to take on new things and encourage each other to grow. There is a high level of collaboration and people aren't afraid to make suggestions to solve problems. The company is growing within the experience industry, which means there is a lot of room for career growth. Employees are acknowledged for their work, giving opportunities to learn and lean on each other to get things done. They also offer little perks like catered Friday lunches, good coffee/espresso, snacks, laptops so people can work remotely when necessary, team building events, and company parties to celebrate wins and get to know each other on a more personal level. The environment is casual and overall people really seem to get along and many hang out with each other beyond work hours. Overall is a caring place that expects people to take initiative to move the company forward, but also encourages a work-life balance and friendship among co-workers. Health benefits and retirement plan matching perks have really improved as the company has grown.

    Cons

    PTO for long-term employees could be a little more generous and it would be nice if there could be more cohesion between our team in Doral and Orlando. These teams often seem very disconnected, and I think this is one thing that really needs improvement.

    Continue reading
    LMS2019-10-25
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't expect to build a career here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LMS full-time

    Pros

    -Free food (if you're motivated by that). -Most people were cool (excluding leadership). -Moderately easy job, could be good opportunity for people fresh out of college or in the beginning of their professional career. -Learned how to deal with difficult people and situations.

    Cons

    -First things first, take note that the majority of positive reviews are from current employees. Requests for reviews were made multiple times by CEO after some bad reviews were posted. -Free food used to appease people into thinking the company cares. This type of bribery (along with other 'company perks') was used to make people feel guilty about wanting more compensation. -Healthcare expensive. -Non-competitive wages and no bonus/promotion structure. -No matter what you're hired to do, you will end up doing a lot of extra stuff that has nothing to do with your job. This was often sold as being a good 'team player' but can lead to little to no actual job development. -No real direction with tasks, you're just expected to figure it out. They like to mask this as being a 'self-starter' or being 'proactive' but often led to a lot of confusion and time wasted. -Leadership doesn't care about your growth and development. Feedback you provide is often ignored, little to no accountability. -No real planning goes into jobs. A lot of work is done haphazardly and without much help/guidance. -Leadership not good at communicating. -Not much hierarchical structure. -CEO likes to surround himself with 'yes men'. Anyone who doesn't care for that have 'weeded themselves out' and left the company. -High turnover rate due to all aforementioned reasons.

    Continue reading
    LMS2018-07-27

    LMS Response

    August 2, 2018Owner

    Thanks for taking the time to provide feedback. As our organization has experienced rapid growth over the last year, we’ve worked hard to maintain an environment that is transparent and collaborative for all our team members. I’m always disappointed to learn when someone parts ways with us and feels like they had a bad experience or could not continue to find opportunities to grow with us. We’ve also recently expanded our HR department to ensure we hire and retain team members who are committed to maintaining a positive work environment and culture. With that said, there are a few points in this feedback that I feel the need to address: Compensation: We provide all job candidates the range of salary that is appropriate for the position at the time of hire, along with the opportunity for candidates to negotiate. Every team member is welcome to voice concerns regarding any aspect of compensation, and we’ll always work to make things right immediately. We also consistently provide bonuses for top performers who strive for excellence, and unlike larger organizations, don’t necessarily wait for an annual review or milestones to immediately recognize team members in a manner they deserve. Food and corporate events: LMS proudly sponsors company lunches every Friday, in addition to providing beverages and a wide variety of snacks throughout each day. We understand that many of our team members work on projects that sometimes require long hours or deadlines, and these options fit the needs of those who don’t always have the time or luxury to leave the office. We also sponsor a Summer Bash and have taken our team on a cruise 5 out of the last 7 years to share in our success and enjoy a well-earned break. LMS leadership never uses events or perks to bribe, coerce, or control employees. We form relationships with our team members based on trust and respect and openly communicate expectations and concerns. Job direction and feedback: One of the things that sets us apart from other companies is that we have a team of entrepreneurial-minded individuals who are not only willing to invest in their own success but also the success of the company; it shows through the initiative of taking on challenges that enable individuals and the company alike to thrive and grow. Our culture is not for the faint of heart – we are not a good fit for those who are looking for a “comfortable” job where they have a single set of responsibilities that allow them to “clock in” and “clock out.” Our team is comprised of people who are competitively minded and like to win. Again, we thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and wish you nothing but the best in all of your future endeavors. Steve Cohen President/CEO

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "On the Precipice of Greatness"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at LMS full-time

    Pros

    Pros: free food in the form of a well-stocked snack bar, free meals on the house from the CEO often.

    Cons

    Upper management slightly too hesitant at times.

    Continue reading
    LMS2018-07-10

    LMS Response

    August 6, 2018Owner

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We’re happy to hear that you enjoyed some of the benefits to our team members that allows for a comfortable work environment. We strive to hire and retain team members who are committed to a positive and transparent work environment, and have expanded our HR department to help us with that endeavor and assist with our internal communication structure with our rapid growth. We also understand that our work environment is not for everyone – while we are working on improvements internally, we will continue to operate in an entrepreneurial fashion that encourages like-minded individuals to grow with us as we continue to expand. Again, we wish you all the best and thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. Steve Cohen President/CEO

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Mixed Bag, Mostly Bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at LMS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Most of the staff were nice -They feed you (Almost all of perks have to do with food...) -If you like being given zero direction and working with people who are figuring things out as they go then, sure, that's a pro.

    Cons

    -Most positive reviews are a result of astroturfing requested by management -Zero room for growth -No official review standards or goal setting. Often left feeling in the dark on ways to improve. -Lack of HR department (I believe this has changed recently but have no way of knowing) -Poor leadership qualities in some C-Level staff -Low wages -No work/life balance, you are expected to be available at all hours -High turnover rate

    Continue reading
    LMS2018-06-20

    LMS Response

    August 6, 2018Owner

    Thank you for taking time to give us your feedback. I’m disappointed to hear that you had a negative experience while working with us and that your expectations did not align with ours. Even though we are a 20-year-old brand, we have gone through changes that afforded us the opportunity to evolve and recruit those who we believe are also entrepreneurs at heart who can take challenges (with limited direction) and achieve success for both themselves as well as the company. We also invite you to read our response to the review posted on July 27 to gain some insight from our perspective and what expectations we have of the type of team member who we believe contributes to our success and growth. Thank you again for providing us your feedback and we wish you the very best in the future. Steve Cohen President/CEO

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Program Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at LMS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Technology and new office 2) True effort to change the culture 3) Funding for corporate events 4) People truly care about their job, the mission and working as a team

    Cons

    1) Career growth is not existent, there is high turnover. 2) Compensation is not competitive and healthcare benefits are expensive.

    LMS2018-05-21

    LMS Response

    August 6, 2018Owner

    Thanks for providing your feedback. We are glad to hear you were happy with the work environment here and had a great relationship with the people who are the heart of success at LMS. Leadership maintains an open door policy that allows everyone to voice concerns about their growth with the company and we make every effort to provide team members with opportunities to help them advance with us. However, we also maintain the expectation that our team members are self-sufficient and can identify opportunities to advance career growth while also taking ownership in the growth of the company. We consistently search for the best benefits to offer our employees that the market will allow and we continue to investigate options that are affordable for both LMS and our team members. LMS proudly offers up to 3% match on retirement IRAs, a competitive retirement package offered to employees who complete 90 days with us. Again, thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. Steve Cohen President/CEO

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Employees are appreciated"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Consultant in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LMS full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Since I have been employed at LMS Inc, the culture has changed for the better. Those who could not keep up with our rapid growth or those whose personalities did not mesh with the changing environment have weeded themselves out. Now we have a great group of hard-working, ambitious people dedicated to helping LMS achieve success. Other Pros: Wonderful people with great personalities and incredible skills. Management appreciates their employees and expresses it frequently. Snacks/coffee/teas provided for all employees. Friday lunches are catered with a variety of options. Ability to work remotely if needed.

    Cons

    Open area can be a little loud at times (easily countered by noise-canceling headphones).

    Continue reading
    LMS2017-12-20

    LMS Response

    August 6, 2018Owner

    Thank you very much for providing your feedback. We are really happy to hear that you have seen the improvements we have made in our culture and understand what it takes to be a successful team member at LMS. We continue to hire individuals who are committed to hard work and maintain a positive working environment. We thank you again for your feedback and for remaining committed to our collective success. Steve Cohen President/CEO

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great atmosphere, even GREATER team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Graphic Designer in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LMS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work culture. Ability to work remote "if needed". No micromanaging. Friendly co-workers. Great office work environment. "Tools are up to date". Lots of cake!

    Cons

    Slow internet. "Getting fixed"

    Continue reading
    LMS2017-07-19
  8. "LMS - Wouldn't want to be working anywhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LMS full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Exemplary leadership and management along with motivating individuals and the drive for teamwork create a (fun) work environment unlike any other. Everyone is always willing to help and most importantly, willing to do their best going in to whatever it may be. Coffee, snacks, etc. are also provided. All in all, an amazing work culture to be apart of.

    Cons

    Work can be challenging at times but it is up to the individual to face those challenges and come up with a solution using resources available, which may be limited at times - innovation and creativity are a must!

    Continue reading
    LMS2017-07-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "LMS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at LMS full-time

    Pros

    Good place to work. Good opportunities

    Cons

    none. Still a nice place to work

    LMS2017-04-11

    LMS Response

    April 13, 2017Corporate Communications Director

    Thank you for taking the time and providing input concerning your experience as a Team Member here at LMS. If you have any additional comments or recommendations you may have on areas we can improve as we continue to build LMS, feel free to reach out to me directly at jvargas@lmsonline.com. We wish you the best in your new endeavors. With Gratitude, Jesenia Vargas Corporate Communications Director

    Continue reading
  10. "A place where hard work is rewarded and your growth is only limited by how much effort you make"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at LMS full-time

    Pros

    This is a company where you are able to truly impact the company. You have a unique opporunity in being able to really define your position and find your niche on the team. Hard effort is truly rewarded and efforts are made to provide a great working environment where you can work comfortable. While the company culture may feel like that of a start-up, you have the benefit of working for an established company. As a result, you are able to have a direct impact on the company's success, without the month-to-month payment risk. There is a strong emphasis on teamwork and cross-collaboration, and employees are always encouraged to be innovators in their roles- whether it's handling a client project or thinking up new ways to improve the company's existing business model. There are always improvements to be made and the team culture is supportive and motivating. They are always looking to help each other no matter the task. Having practical Work-Life flexibility is a wonderful benefit and as long as you are ok with understanding that with "great flexibility comes great responsibility" and willing to work on emergency tasks that may fall outside of typical business hours, it makes balancing family and work life much easier.

    Cons

    This environment is not for those who may need a lot of hand-holding or in need of a lot of direction and guidance. It is fast-paced and often requires individuals to take full ownership of their tasks, adapt, act, and learn quickly. On-board Training is hands-on and sometimes learn-as-you-go depending on whether the position has already been established or entirely new. Leadership is often unavailable or unable to communicate, so you need to be proactive in finding resources and solutions for tasks that can be assigned to the team at the last minute. Sometimes those resources are non-existent, so you would need to begin from scratch (which can be challenging). You also need to be willing to accept tasks that may fall outside of your job description as the team is still small.

    Continue reading
    LMS2017-02-20

    LMS Response

    March 24, 2017Corporate Communications Director

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your comments as we are committed to creating a comfortable, transparent, and collaborative environment for everyone here at LMS, Inc.. As we continue to expand and grow, we continue to look into ways to improve all areas of communication, both internally as a team and with our partnering clients. We are currently involved in the building of new processes that will enhance internal and external communications and look forward to announcing our new processes within the next few weeks to each of the affected departments. We thank you for your feedback. Any recommendations you may have, feel free to reach out to me directly at jvargas@lmsonline.com. You can also speak with your direct supervisor or anyone on the Executive Leadership team and maintain an open door policy on ideas for improvements from everyone on the LMS team. With Gratitude, Jesenia Vargas Corporate Communications Director

    Continue reading
Found 19 reviews
</>Embed