LSE Reviews | Glassdoor

LSE Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 214 reviews

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
80%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Judith Rees
45 Ratings
Pros
  • "relaxed atmosphere- good work life balance(in 16 reviews)

  • "Very flexible working, management are very understanding and great people to be around(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "Lack of career development, regular high turnover of staff, lack of vision from senior management(in 5 reviews)

  • "Academic staff get priority ( a plus if you are an academic though(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Amazing!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at LSE full-time

      Pros

      Great people, great people, so much fun

      Cons

      I can’t think of any

      LSE2019-05-04
    • "Research Assistant"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at LSE part-time

      Pros

      Flexible Worktime is possible at LSE.

      Cons

      I have no specific cons.

      Advice to Management

      I have no specific advice.

      LSE2017-05-13
    • "Amazing research experience"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Recommends
        Positive Outlook
        Approves of CEO

        I worked at LSE

        Pros

        I had an amazing time learning from some of the best social science researchers in the world. I learned a tremendous amount about how to produce and critically assess high quality research.

        Cons

        I had a great experience at LSE Health, but a lot probably depends on the research center that you are affiliated with. LSE Health was efficient, open, and an overall great place to work. However, I can't speak for other LSE research centers.

        Advice to Management

        I think more could be done to create a more cohesive community. As a low level researcher working primarily on my own, I didn't get to know a lot of my colleagues.

        LSE2015-10-06
      • "Great Place to Work"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at LSE for less than a year

          Pros

          Competitive salary, and a great chance to work with brilliant minds.

          Cons

          Work terms are shorter than desired.

          LSE2015-09-14
        • "Research Centre"

          StarStarStarStarStar
            Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

            I worked at LSE part-time

            Pros

            I worked in a research centre at LSE and greatly enjoyed my time there. The staff is passionate and dedicated about their research. The schools is in a beautiful location and the centre is always up to date with the best technology.

            Cons

            Being in the centre of the city of London, transportation can get expensive. Additionally, pubs and restaurants surrounding the area are also very pricey.

            LSE2014-10-29
          • "Excellent"

            StarStarStarStarStar
              Former Employee - Research Officer 

              I worked at LSE full-time

              Pros

              Friendly, supportive, realistic, diversity, inclusive

              Cons

              no cons, perhaps more advice for early career researchers will be helpful

              LSE2019-07-06
            • "Very good"

              StarStarStarStarStar
                Former Employee - Project Support Assistant 

                I worked at LSE part-time for more than a year

                Pros

                Great flexible working, good pay, exciting things to work on, and encouraging professors.

                Cons

                Can be very on-and-off in terms of the workload when it is part time.

                LSE2019-07-03
              • "Great but Chaotic"

                StarStarStarStarStar
                • Work/Life Balance
                • Culture & Values
                • Career Opportunities
                • Compensation and Benefits
                • Senior Management
                Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
                Recommends
                Positive Outlook
                No opinion of CEO

                I have been working at LSE full-time for more than 3 years

                Pros

                1. Great work life balance 2. Great people-nice and friendly 3. Freedom to try new things

                Cons

                1. Poor management and management structures 2. Very political environment 3. Averse to change or improvement

                Advice to Management

                Management leadership style needs to change so that talented people want to stay. Also poor career progression.

                LSE2019-07-14
              • "Excellent"

                StarStarStarStarStar
                • Work/Life Balance
                • Culture & Values
                • Career Opportunities
                • Compensation and Benefits
                • Senior Management
                Current Employee - Student in London, England
                Recommends
                Positive Outlook
                Approves of CEO

                I have been working at LSE full-time for more than a year

                Pros

                Academically stimulating environment , multicultural and analytical thinking

                Cons

                Challenging and stressful environment . High standards

                Advice to Management

                Be more concerned about student satisfaction not just your university rankings

                LSE2019-06-24
              • "Great Research Enironment"

                StarStarStarStarStar
                • Work/Life Balance
                • Culture & Values
                • Career Opportunities
                • Compensation and Benefits
                • Senior Management
                Current Employee - PhD Student 
                Recommends

                I have been working at LSE full-time for more than 3 years

                Pros

                - Great Supervision (around one meeting per week) - Strong Research group

                Cons

                - Very central location, therefore limited space

                LSE2019-06-08
              Found 214 reviews